![Montclair State University banner image](http://www.montclair.edu/library/wp-content/uploads/sites/213/2023/09/university_libraries_horizontal.png")
Here are some Reference Department Resources:
All policies and procedures follow the general policies and procedures of Montclair State University.
MSU Library Strategic Plan 2009-2012
Reference Department
GOAL 1 – Provide resources and staff to promote excellence in teaching and learning at all levels of the University community.
ACTIVITY – Answer reference, research and information questions (in-person,
telephone, chat, E-mail) for all patrons, both members of the Montclair State
University community and local residents.
Tactic – Identify new ways to reach patrons such as chat and E-mail.
Tactic – Continue to explore new services such as “roving reference”
to reach patrons who do not come into the Library to do their research.
Tactic – Revise student handouts on APA and MLA Style to reflect
chages in the latest editions of the APA Publication Manual and the MLA
Handbook for Writers of Research Papers.
Tactic – Prepare or update a series of Research Guides on various topics
to be used with library instruction classes, Liaison Departments and
general reference assistance, using a product such as Dreamweaver or
LibGuides
ACTIVITY – Fill interlibrary loan requests for books and journal articles for our
faculty, students and staff and fill requests received from other libraries to
borrow our materials.
Tactic – Continue to keep abreast of the latest technology in the field and
to participate with other libraries in resource sharing partnerships such
as LVIS.
ACTIVITY – Provide individual reference and research sessions for our patrons.
Tactic – Continue to provide research assistance for graduate students.
Tactic – Plan a new research assistance service for faculty.
Tactic – Plan a new research assistance service for undergraduate
students.
ACTIVITY – Increase communication between the Library, the University and the
community.
Tactic – Serve as Library Liaisons to one or more teaching departments
and/or programs. Inform faculty of relevant library materials in their
disciplines and services such as reserves, interlibrary loan, library
instruction classes and ordering materials. Attend departmental
meetings, if appropriate. Assist departments in the preparation of the
Library section of self-study reports for accreditation and committee
visits. Meet with Accreditation teams during their Library visits. Other
services as requested.
Tactic – Develop a Library Public Relations Program to keep the campus
Informed of Library activities and services.
Tactic - Continue to develop the Sprague Library Home Page and the
Reference Department Home Page to keep them current, informative
and easy to navigate.
Tactic – Provide state-of-the art color printing equipment for use by
patrons, as well as assistance in using these printers, if needed.
Tactic – Continue to represent the Library at University programs such as
orientations for new faculty, orientations for new graduate students and
orientations for new freshmen and transfer students by speaking about
Library collections, services and activities.
Tactic – Continue to provide opportunities for library school students to
do internships or observe reference activities, as requested.
Tactic – Continue to provide opportunities for local high school students
to visit the Library and receive instruction on doing research at the
college level.
ACTIVITY – Continue to review the Library’s current customer service practices
to see how they can be changed and/or improved. (Customer Service
Committee.)
Tactic – Sponsor meetings, discussions, role-playing activities and
speakers for the entire Library staff on the topic of customer service.
GOAL 2 – Identify and fulfill student and faculty needs in pursuit of scholarship and the application of knowledge in various formats in accordance with information literacy standards appropriate to each discipline.
ACTIVITY – Provide library instruction to students, faculty and staff to ensure
that these groups meet University information literacy standards.
Tactic – Assign a reference librarian full responsibility to coordinate the
Library instruction Program, including information literacy and
assessment.
Tactic - Increase awareness among faculty about the Library Instruction
Program by sending E-mail announcements, by personal contact and by
contacts with faculty in individual departments by Library Liaisons.
Tactic – Provide class-specific library instruction classes, developed
collaboratively with faculty.
Tactic – Expand the number of library instruction classes and other out-
reach programs in the University’s Distance Education Program to
support online courses.
Tactic – Continue to assess library instruction, including New Student
Experience, College Writing, other undergraduate classes and all
graduate classes and, based on these assessments, make changes as
necessary.
Tactic – Encourage non-reference librarians and members of our support
staff to conduct tours and library introductions for students in the New
Student Experience classes.
Tactic – Continue to explore ways to make library instruction classes for
freshmen in the New Student Experience Program meaningful and
helpful in introducing them to the Library.
Tactic – Develop a plan to gradually integrate all non-reference librarians
into the Library Instruction Program by having them teach specialized
classes for their Liaison departments.
Tactic – Teach large classes and classes that meet early in the morning
before the Library is open in the students own classrooms.
Tactic – Offer a series of walk-in workshops each semester on various
topics, including using the Library databases, searching individual
databases and searching the Internet. Explore ways to collaborate with
Information Technology when offering these classes.
GOAL 3 – Facilitate the public engagement activities of the University community and provide resources for local, state and national consortial partnerships and participation in international activities.
ACTIVITY – Actively participate in local, state, regional, national and international
organizations such as INFOLINK, New Jersey Library Association, VALE,
Lyrasis, American Library Association and IFLA by membership in these
organizations, attendance at meetings, seminars and workshops and
involvement on committees, task forces and other activities. Participate in
University and Library activities. Serve on University and Library committees.
GOAL 4 – Improve and modernize facilities and technology to accommodate future needs.
ACTIVITY – Maximize the usefulness and integration of various software and
hardware in the Library.
Tactic – Continue to customize the interface of the current online catalog
to improve searching and retrieval capabilities within the Library’s
collection.
Tactic – Continue to investigate the possibility of switching to an open-
Source catalog.
Tactic – Keep abreast of the literature on the topic of open source
catalogs through professional reading.
Tactic – Participate in user group activities and attend (either in person or
online) professional meetings in order to maintain currency in best
practices.
ACTIVITY – Using Content DM, plan and implement digital Library projects such
as the digitization of the Montclarion, MSU student newspaper, La Campana,
student yearbook, Alumni Life, MSU Photography Archives, MSU doctoral
dissertations and masters theses and other material from the Sprague Library
Archives, as appropriate. (Digitization Committee)
ACTIVITY – Identify areas for improvement and develop pilot projects to test
emerging technologies and facilitate the improvements and project.
Tactic – Revise the “Ask A Librarian” E-mail reference service so it can be
handled at the reference desk by all reference librarians.
Tactic – Revise and further develop Reference Department services such
as FAQs, online tutorials and the “Library Virtual Tour.”
Tactic – Add a “chat online” service such as MEEBO that would be
handled at the reference desk by all reference librarians.
ACTIVITY – Collaborate with Information Technology and other campus groups
to continuously upgrade all computers and equipment in the reference area
and continue to develop and plan new technology projects.
Tactic – Continuously upgrade all computers, printers and other
equipment in the reference area with the latest and best equipment
to meet our needs.
Tactic – Continuously upgrade the electronic classrooms (Rooms 110 and
203) with the latest and best equipment for our needs.
Tactic – Continue to integrate Library resources such as E-Reserves into
the Campus Course Management system (Blackboard) and add
bibliographies prepared for Library Instruction classes.
ACTIVITY – Increase connectivity for patrons and staff in order to access Library,
campus and Internet resources.
Tactic – Evaluate the number of workstations in the public areas.
Tactic – Configure most workstations in the public areas so patrons can
use and print from the Internet, Blackboard and personal documents,
as well as from the electronic databases.
Tactic – Provide a top of the line color printer for patron use.
ACTIVITY - Renovate the physical space in the reference area.
Tactic – Bring the HVAC up to comfortable and acceptable standards
throughout the entire building.
Tactic – Replace low-standing index/abstract shelves with additional
computers and comfortable seating to provide to encourage patron
use a and group study.
GOAL 5 – Ensure affordability and accountability of Library expenditures in support of the University’s Mission.
ACTIVITY – Establish a Library budget that is appropriate to the Library’s
Mission.
Tactic – Recommend budgets that provide for sufficient personnel, both
full-time and part-time, to carry out the Reference Department’s
Mission.
Tactic – Recommend budgets that provide for the expansion of electronic
resources, as well as continuing to provide for the acquisition of
relevant materials in traditional formats for the reference collection.
ACTIVITY – Seek funding from external sources to supplement the University’s
budget allocation.
Tactic – Work with the staff of the Grants Office to identify and apply for
appropriate grants for professional travel and special projects.
Tactic – Take advantage of gifts and offers for free materials to support
the Reference Department’s Collection Development Policy.
ACTIVITY – Participate in cooperative projects such as VALE, LYRASIS and
VALE to realize cost savings on various projects, including group discounts,
on database subscriptions. Take advantage of offerings from the State Library
such as the NJKI – New Jersey Knowledge Initiative. Take advantage of
opportunities offered by these organizations such as meetings, workshops,
training and product demonstrations.
GOAL 6 – Expand formalized assessment programs to evaluate the Library’s organization, services and resources and their impact on the University community.
ACTIVITY – Analyze the organizational structure of the Public Services Division
and the Reference Department to determine if they meet current and future
Library service needs.
Tactic – Replace the long-vacant position of Associate Dean for Public
Services and reorganize the entire Public Services Division and the
responsibilities of each person within the Division.
Tactic – Replace the head of the Reference Department (vacant in June,
2009) and completely reorganize the Reference Department and the job
responsibilities of each person within the Department.
Tactic – Assign a reference librarian full responsibility to coordinate the Library Instruction Program, including information literacy and
assessment.
Tactic – Fill the position of Evening Reference Librarian for 2009/2010
while the current Evening Reference Librarian is on leave.
ACTIVITY – Evaluate the cost effectiveness of Library resources.
Tactic – Compare price structures for reference materials in both print and
MSU Strategic Plan Resources