![Montclair State University banner image](http://www.montclair.edu/library/wp-content/uploads/sites/213/2023/09/university_libraries_horizontal.png")
The Acquisitions Department's role in the Library is to:
MSU Library Strategic Plan 2009-2012
Collection Management Department
Tactics & Activities
Goal 1: Provide resources and staff to promote excellence in teaching and learning at all levels of the University community.
Tactic: Promote excellence in teaching and recognize MSU faculty’s scholarly achievements
Activity: Participate in producing a booklet of faculty publications
Length of Pilot/Project: Every year or every other year
Procedures:
§ Develop a standard bibliographical format for the faculty publications
§ Purchase faculty publications and send for scanning and processing
§ Compile a bibliographical list of the faculty publications
Tactic: Provide a collection both onsite and accessed remotely to support teaching, learning, and research
Activity: Develop and manage the e-book collection
Length of Pilot/Project: Fall, 2009-
Procedures:
§ Explore, identify, and implement the best practices for e-book selection and acquisition
§ Seek out opportunities for institutional collaboration
§ Facilitate communication about the development and promotion of e-book collection between library and university community
§ Assess and evaluate the e-book collections
Goal 2: Identify and fulfill student and faculty needs in pursuit of scholarship and the application of knowledge in various formats and in accordance with information literacy standards appropriate to each discipline.
Tactic: Evaluate the collection to keep it updated and relevant to current needs and in good physical condition.
Activity 1: Institute a Weeding Program.
Length of Pilot/Project:
§ Phase A: September, 2009 – June 2010
§ Phase B: Begin in July, 2010
Procedures:
§ Phase A: Identify, review and weed the duplicates in LC Classification R-U.
§ Phase B: review the collection in subject areas of Education, Math, and Travel and appoint liaison librarians to perform the weeding under the coordination of the Collection Development librarian.
Activity 2: Run a ‘Heavily Used Books’ report annually, and purchase additional copies as required.
Length of Pilot/Project: Every year
Procedures:
§ Run a report annually on the Library’s database to identify books that have circulated more than 50 times (Collection Development librarian)
§ Review the results to determine the average number of circs/semester (Support staff).
§ Order replacement or second copies for items which have been used recently and circulated 3+ times/semester (Support staff).
Goal 3: Facilitate the public engagement activities of the University staff and provide resources for local, state and national consortial partnerships and participation in international initiatives.
Tactic: Collaborate with local and state institutions and provide resources for consortial partnerships
Activity 1: Participate in the Montclair Art Museum Library collection project
Length of Pilot/Project: Jan, 2009-
Procedures:
§ Process books for cataloging (Support staff).
§ Compile monthly statistics of books processed (Support staff).
§ Review and select books placed on the MAML Problem Shelf (Collection Development librarian)
Activity 2: Participate in the VALE Last Copy Cooperative (VLCC) program
Length of Pilot/Project: October, 2007-
Procedures:
§ Review books and verify the VLCC candidates
§ Eliminate reprints
§ Select for bindery/mending
§ Order reprint second copy if heavily circulated
Goal 4: Improve and modernize facilities and technology to accommodate future needs.
Tactic: Maintain awareness of new products that would aid in the collection development and acquisitions of materials.
Activities: Participate in the planning and implementation of the new University’s business system and next Integrated Library System
Length of Pilot/Project: Fall, 2009-
Procedures:
§ Attend demos and presentations
§ Learn the relevant features in their applications
§ Review and update departmental procedures to accommodate changes
Goal 5: Analyze accountability of Library expenditures in support of the University's mission.
Tactic: Monitor the material budget/expenditures closely.
Activity: Collect and analyze the statistical data on regular basis
Length of Pilot/Project: Fall, 2009-
Procedures:
§ Update vendors profile to include the information on shipping and handling charges
§ Compile and analyze monthly Materials Expenditures report
§ Compile and analyze monthly Acquisitions Department Budget & Expenditures report
§ Collect and analyze monthly and annual bookkeeping statistics
Goal 6: Expand formalized assessment programs to evaluate the Library’s organization, services and resources and their impact on the University community
Tactic: Assess the strengths and weaknesses of the collection.
Activity: Analyze and evaluate the Library Collection using SirsiDynix reports and vendor (publisher) supplied use statistics
Length of Pilot/Project: Fall, 2009-
Procedures: