Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Montclair State University banner image

University Authors

The University Authors Recognition Program honors academic and creative works published by Montclair State University faculty, staff, and administrators.

University Authors 2023 Titles as of Today

Interpreting Religion

This edited collection harnesses a diversity of interpretivist perspectives to provide a panoramic view of the production, experiences, contexts, and meanings of religion. Scholars from the US, South Asia and Europe explore religious phenomena using ethnographic, comparative historical, psychosocial, and critical theoretical approaches. Each chapter addresses foundational themes in the study of religion - from identity, discourse and power to ritual, emotion, and embodiment. Authors examine dynamic intersections of race, gender, history, and the present within the religious traditions of Christianity, Islam, Judaism and Buddhism, as well as among the non-religious.Cutting boldly across religious traditions and paradigms, the book investigates areas of harmony and contradiction across different interpretive lenses to achieve a richer understanding of the meanings of religion.

Islands in the Lake : Environment and Ethnohistory in Xochimilco, New Spain

Now notorious for its aridity and air pollution, Mexico City was once part of a flourishing lake environment. In nearby Xochimilco, Native Americans modified the lakes to fashion a distinctive and remarkably abundant aquatic society, one that provided a degree of ecological autonomy for local residents, enabling them to protect their communities' integrity, maintain their way of life, and preserve many aspects of their cultural heritage. While the area's ecology allowed for a wide array of socioeconomic and cultural continuities during colonial rule, demographic change came to affect the ecological basis of the lakes; pastoralism and new ways of using and modifying the lakes began to make a mark on the watery landscape and on the surrounding communities. In this fascinating study, Conway explores Xochimilco using native-language documents, which serve as a hallmark of this continuity and a means to trace patterns of change.

Educational Psychology and Transformational Classrooms

"Educational Psychology and Transformational Classrooms uniquely positions teachers transformational experiences as central to understanding and implementing educational psychology research. Across three well-developed case studies using narrative inquiry methods, this volume explores moments of significant change, learning, and evolution in teaching and learning. Each case is followed by analyses from educational psychologists focusing on the three central actors in the learning experience-students, teacher, and context-and is then concluded with case authors responses to the analyses provided. Showcasing the holistic experience of teaching before unpacking it with theory and research, this book centers classroom life and posits educational psychology as an ideal and accessible lens for its examination"-- Provided by publisher

Motherless Creations (eBook)

This book explains the elimination of maternal characters in American, British, French, and German literature before 1890 by examining motherless creations: Pygmalion's statue, Frankenstein's creature, homunculi, automata, androids, golems, and steam men. These beings typify what is now called artificial life, living systems made through manufactured means. Fantasies about creating life ex-utero were built upon misconceptions about how life began, sustaining pseudoscientific beliefs about the birthing body. Physicians, inventors, and authors of literature imagined generating life without women to control the process of reproduction and generate perfect progeny. Thus, some speculative fiction before 1890 belongs to the literary genealogy of transhumanism, the belief that technology will someday transform some humans into superior, immortal beings. Female motherless creations tend to operate as sexual companions. Male ones often emerge as subaltern figures analogous to enslaved beings, illustrating that reproductive rights inform readers' sense of who counts as human in fictions of artificial life.

The Fraud of the "Testament Of Lenin" : Based on the Research of Valentin A. Sakharov, with Chapters on Moshe Lewin's Falsifications and Leon Trotsky's Lies

"The canonical accounts of Lenin’s last writings accept the version that Lenin left a “testament” that included a number of negative remarks about Joseph Stalin, and that Lenin wished to remove Stalin from the position of General Secretary of the All-Union Communist Party (bolshevik). This version stems partly from Trotsky, who embraced it eagerly in his campaign to replace Stalin as Party leader; partly from Lenin’s wife Nadezhda Konstantinovna Krupskaya; and partly from Nikita Khrushchev and the Khrushchev-era fifth and last edition of Lenin’s works, the Polnoe Sobranie Sochinenii (“Complete Collection of Writings”), or PSS.
The present book is largely based on the research of Professor Valentin A. Sakharov of Moscow State University. His 2003 book, Lenin’s “Political Testament”, published by Moscow State University Press, is the result of years of access to and study of many of the archival copies of Lenin’s works, drafts of those works, and originals of other important documents related to the question of Lenin’s “testament.”
The present study draws the same conclusion: Lenin’s so-called “Testament” is a fraud. The present book includes chapters that examine the role in these falsehoods of Leon Trotsky and the errors and falsehoods in the book Lenin’s Last Struggle by the late historian Moshe Lewin, as well as individual chapters on the role of Lenin’s wife Nadezhda Konstantinovna Krupskaya and that of Lenin’s sister Maria Il’inichna Ulyanova."

SSD for R

Single-subject research designs have been used to build evidence to the effective treatment of problems across various disciplines including social work, psychology, psychiatry, medicine, allied health fields, juvenile justice, and special education. SSD for R serves as a guide for thosedesiring to conduct single-subject data analysis and introduces readers to the various functions available in SSD for R, a new, free, and innovative software package written in R--the open-source statistical programming language that was written by the book's authors.This second edition of SSD for R is the most comprehensive guide to the numerous graphing and charting functions for conducting robust visual analysis including line graphs and more complex standard deviation lines. This book also contains numerous tests of statistical significance, such as t-tests,chi-squares, and the conservative dual criteria. Auerbach and Zeitlin guide readers through the analytical process based on the characteristics of their data. In addition to presentations and assignments, this new edition contains more examples and illustrations to help readers understand the widerange of functions available in SSD for R and their application to data analysis and interpretation.SSD for R is the only book of its kind to describe single-subject data analysis while providing free statistical software to do so. For more instructional videos, blogs, and a growing community of researchers interested in single-subject designs, visit the authors' website:http://ssdanalysis.com.

Music Lesson Plans for Social Justice

Teaching Music for Social Justice offers a fresh, innovative approach to teaching general music. This book is a timely collection of lesson plans and units that artfully blend music making with relevant issues of social justice. Particularly accessible to middle and high school classroom musicteachers, it includes a companion website with links to all of the music listening and videos. Authors Lisa C. DeLorenzo and Marissa Silverman, accomplished music educators with extensive careers thinking about the relationship between music education and social justice, have composedstudent-centered lessons with thoughtful discussion prompts, experiences with diverse genres and styles of music, and technology-integrated music making projects that will activate students' creativity and empathy. Unit topics-ranging from "War" to "Climate Change"-include cross-disciplinary lessonswith the arts playing a central role in developing understanding. Well-researched introductory materials as well as "how-to" guides for topics, such as "composing in the classroom," make the text especially practical and approachable. This book is an essential resource, with ready-to-go lessons andclassroom materials. Music teachers will now have a unique, new lens for engaging students in purposeful music making toward social justice.

Emerging Realities and the Future of Technology in the Classroom

The COVID-19 pandemic has shed light on how much humans rely, more than ever before in our history, on technology. While technology in its simplest definition is the use of a tool for a practical purpose, in the last three decades, educators can confidently say it has revolutionized how information is communicated and accessed. Most importantly, educators who had to recently shift their classes online understood the important role of technology to stay connected and instruct students remotely. There are many different facets of technology in today's classrooms and ideas on where educators are headed in preparing their students for a technology-rich world. With new technologies being constantly developed and new scenarios rising to the surface in the educational environment, the future of technology in the classroom is widespread, consistently growing, and always advancing with more technological reliance. Emerging Realities and the Future of Technology in the Classroom provides an understanding on how technology is integrated into today's classroom and how institutions can be further informed of the importance of technology in today's world. This book examines a variety of pertinent topics that look at the present and future potential roles of technology in the classroom. While highlighting topics such as STEM in online education, leadership and technology, new instructional models in online learning, and gaming in education, this book is essential for teachers across all disciplines and in higher education and K-12, school administrators, principals, instructional designers, librarians, media specialists, educational software developers, educational technologists, IT specialists, practitioners, researchers, academicians, and students interested in the current status of technology in the classroom and its potential role in education for the years ahead.

Friend, follow and subscribe to Sprague library!