College of Education and Human Services Titles (2021)
The Co-Teacher's Guide (eBook) by Jennifer L. GoekeThis pragmatic guide provides concrete, detailed strategies for co-teachers looking to expand their instructional methods and involvement beyond the One Teach, One Support model. Including step-by-step examples, practical scenarios, and visuals of successful implementations to help you quickly and effectively put these tools into practice, each chapter also highlights specific tensions that can arise in your co-teaching partnership and frames effective solutions to move beyond them efficiently and effectively. While designed for both teachers in a co-teaching pair, the book's tools can easily be applied on your own, making this an ideal resource for co-teachers with limited common planning time.
Publication Date: 2020-10-05 Professor Goeke is in the Department of Teaching and Learning
Conversations with Families of Children with Disabilities (eBook) by Susan L. Recchia; Victoria I. PuigConversations with Families of Children with Disabilities creates a space for diverse families of children with disabilities to share their stories with pre-service and in-service teachers. Specifically designed for professionals preparing to work with families of children with disabilities, this text invites the reader to listen in as families reflect on their personal journeys in conversation with the authors. This powerful book helps educators develop a deeper understanding of families and enhance their capacity for authentic partnerships.
Publication Date: 2020-06-03 Professor Puig is in the Department of Teaching and Learning
Data Analysis, Interpretation, and Theory in Literacy Studies Research (eBook) by Michele Knobel (Editor); Judy Kalman (Editor); Colin Lankshear (Editor)Novice and early career researchers often have difficulty withunderstanding how theory, data analysis and interpretation of findings "hangtogether" in a well-designed and theorized qualitative research investigationand with learning how to draw on such understanding to conduct rigorous dataanalysis and interpretation of their analytic results. Data Analysis,Interpretation, and Theory in Literacy Studies Researchdemonstrates how todesign, conduct and analyze a well put together qualitative research project.Using their own successful studies, chapter authors spell out a problem area,research question, and theoretical framing, carefully explaining their choicesand decisions. They then show in detail how they analyzed their data, and whythey took this approach. Finally, they demonstrate how they interpreted theresults of their analysis, to make them meaningful in research terms. Approaches include interactional sociolinguistics,microethnographic discourse analysis, multimodal analysis, iterative coding,conversation analysis, and multimediated discourse analysis, among others. Thisbook will appeal to beginning researchers and to literacy researchersresponsible for teaching qualitative literacy studies research design atundergraduate and graduate levels. Perfect for courses such as: Literacy Research Seminar | Introduction to Qualitative Research | Advanced Research Methods | Studying New Literacies and Media | Research Perspectives in Literacy | Discourse Analysis | Advanced Qualitative Data Analysis | Sociolinguistic Analysis | Classroom Language Research
Publication Date: 2020-03-18 Professor Knobel is in the Department of Teaching and Learning
Handbook of Research on Equity in Computer Science in P-16 Education (eBook) by Jared Keengwe (Editor); Yune Tran (Editor)The growing trend for high-quality computer science in school curricula has drawn recent attention in classrooms. With an increasingly information-based and global society, computer science education coupled with computational thinking has become an integral part of an experience for all students, given that these foundational concepts and skills intersect cross-disciplinarily with a set of mental competencies that are relevant in their daily lives and work. While many agree that these concepts should be taught in schools, there are systematic inequities that exist to prevent students from accessing related computer science skills. The Handbook of Research on Equity in Computer Science in P-16 Education is a comprehensive reference book that highlights relevant issues, perspectives, and challenges in P-16 environments that relate to the inequities that students face in accessing computer science or computational thinking and examines methods for challenging these inequities in hopes of allowing all students equal opportunities for learning these skills. Additionally, it explores the challenges and policies that are created to limit access and thus reinforce systems of power and privilege. The chapters highlight issues, perspectives, and challenges faced in P-16 environments that include gender and racial imbalances, population of growing computer science teachers who are predominantly white and male, teacher preparation or lack of faculty expertise, professional development programs, and more. It is intended for teacher educators, K-12 teachers, high school counselors, college faculty in the computer science department, school administrators, curriculum and instructional designers, directors of teaching and learning centers, policymakers, researchers, and students.
Publication Date: 2020-11-13 Dr. Tran is the Associate Dean for Academic Affairs in the College of Education and Human Services
International Handbook of Self-Study of Teaching and Teacher Education Practices (eBook) by Julian Kitchen (Editor); Amanda Berry (Editor); Hafdís Guðjónsdóttir (Editor); Shawn Michel Bullock (Editor); Monica Taylor (Editor); Alicia R. Crowe (Editor); Lynn Thomas (Editor)This international handbook provides a sophisticated re-examination of self-study of teaching and teacher education practices research 16 years after the publication of the first edition by Springer (2004). Through six sections, it offers an extensive international review of research and practices by examining critical issues in the self-study field today. They are: (1) Foundations of Self-Study, (2) Self-Study Methods and Methodologies, (3) Self-Study and Teaching and Teacher Education for Social Justice, (4) Self-Study Across Subject Disciplines, (5) Self-Study in Teacher Education and Beyond, and (6) Self-Study across Cultures and Languages. Exemplars, including many recent studies, illustrate the impact of this well-established research movement in teacher education in the English-speaking world and internationally. Readers of the handbook will benefit from a comprehensive review of the field of self-study that is accessible to a range of readers; theoretically and methodologically rich; highly practical to both novices and experienced practitioners; and offers a vision for self-study internationally over the next two decades.
Publication Date: 2020-07-15 Professor Taylor is in the Department of Educational Foundations
Managing Classroom Assessment to Enhance Student Learning (eBook) by Nicole Barnes; Helenrose FivesAs teachers are required to integrate an increasing number of assessment practices into the classroom, it is crucial that they have effective routines for organizing and evaluating the generated data. Managing Classroom Assessment to Enhance Student Learning introduces pre- and in-service teachers to the major categories of assessment management and provides empirical and theoretical support for their effectiveness. In-depth chapters consider management in the context of assigning and collecting work, interpreting and organizing assessment results, and providing students with feedback.
Publication Date: 2020-04-23 Professor Barnes and Professor Fives are in the Department of Educational Foundations
The Power of Presence (eBook) by Elizabeth Joy ErwinThe Power of Presence: A Guide to Mindfulness Practices in Early Childhood is written for today's educators who feel pressured by unrealistic demands, are overwhelmed by the daily chaos of early childhood teaching, and seek to find peace in their classrooms. * Find and foster your own awareness * Cultivate and encourage mindfulness practices in your classroom * Nurture mindfulness, openness, curiosity, and calm throughout the day * Create an inclusive classroom that accepts and encourages all children A more peaceful, present learning environment will help children to reclaim their safe, joyful, confident, and competent approach to learning. The adults in the children's lives, whether families or educators, will also thrive in this mindful approach with more patience, focus, and confidence. Together, they'll be able to breathe in blue skies and reach new heights of learning.
Publication Date: 2020-10-01 Professor Erwin is in the Department of Teaching and Learning
Publication Date: 2019-12-31 Professor Ahluwalia is in the Department of Counseling
Women Philosophers. Volume I (eBook) by Dorothy G. RogersIlluminating a significant moment in the development of both American and feminist philosophical history, this book explores the pioneering thought of the women in the early American Idealist movement and outgrowths of it in the late-nineteenth century. Dorothy Rogers specifically examines the ideas of women who entered philosophical discourse through education and social activism. She begins by discussing innovative educators, some of whom were members of the influential Idealist movement in St. Louis, Missouri in the eighteen-sixties and seventies. She then looks at the ideas and impact of women who were independent scholars and social and political activists. Throughout the volume, Rogers explores how Idealist thought developed, matured, and was transformed over time o across lines of race, culture, and socio-economic class. Several of the women discussed were ardent feminists and activists- Mary Church Terrell, Anna C. Brackett, Grace C. Bibb, Ana Roqu , Ellen M. Mitchell, Lucia Ames Mead, Jane Addams, Ida B. Wells-Barnett, and Luisa Capetillo. By providing exciting new insights into the work of these early women philosophers and introducing the next generation of women who shared the same ideals and influences, Rogers deftly elucidates the genealogy of women's thought as it developed across North America.
Publication Date: 2020-02-06 Professor Rogers is in the Department of Educational Foundations