Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Montclair State University banner image

Canvas and Library Integration

How to integrate library resources and services into Canvas using persistent links

Finding Persistent Links

Most databases make persistent links easy to find, but some require a little extra effort, and a select few don't generate persistent links for you at all. This table provides you with instructions for some of the popular databases that the library offers.

Instructions for finding persistent links in databases.
Database Instructions
  • The URL in your address bar IS a persistent link.
  • If you are looking at the image detail page, you can also click the "Link" button to make the persistent link display.

If you are ON CAMPUS, you will need to add the EZProxy Prepend at the beginning of the url so the link is accessible from OFF CAMPUS:  http://ezproxy.montclair.edu:2048/login?url=

Usually, the URL in your address bar will be a persistent link. This can vary by journal, however, so always check the article record for anything labeled persistent link, permalink, stable link, link to this article, etc. 

Connect to EBSCO
  • The URL in your address bar is NOT a persistent link.

Instead, look on the right side of the article's citation page for the chain icon labeled Permalink. Click it to make the persistent link appear.

  • In JSTOR, the URL in your address bar is a persistent link.

If you are ON CAMPUS, you will need to add the EZProxy Prepend at the beginning of the url so the link is accessible from OFF CAMPUS: http://ezproxy.montclair.edu:2048/login?url=

When you access an article from a search, your search terms are highlighted, and your URL contains a question mark followed by a long mess.

For example: http://www.jstor.org/stable/20543113?seq=2&Search=yes&list=hide&searchUri=3Bq6%3Bf4%3Dall%26amp%3Bla%3prevSearch=&resultsServiceName=null 

To remove the highlighting, copy the URL just up to the question mark (the part in bold here). Don't copy the question mark itself.

You can also click on Email Citation to email the link to yourself. The citation sent includes the persistent link, which is listed as the Stable URL.

  • The URL in your address bar is NOT a persistent link.
  • Click the "Actions" dropdown to the right of the document title to display a pop-up with the persistent link embedded in it.

If you are ON CAMPUS, you will need to add the EZProxy Prepend at the beginning of the url so the link is accessible from OFF CAMPUS:  http://ezproxy.montclair.edu:2048/login?url=

  • The URL in your address bar is NOT a persistent link.

  • To make persistent links appear, first click Show Static URL on the left side of the screen. Then copy the URL under the name of the track you want to link to.

If you are ON CAMPUS, you will need to add the EZProxy Prepend at the beginning of the url so the link is accessible from OFF CAMPUS: http://ezproxy.montclair.edu:2048/login?url=

  • The URL in your address bar will work as a persistent link.

If you are ON CAMPUS, you will need to add the EZProxy Prepend at the beginning of the url so the link is accessible from OFF CAMPUS: http://ezproxy.montclair.edu:2048/login?url=

  • The URL in your address bar is the persistent link.

If you are ON CAMPUS, you will need to add the EZProxy Prepend at the beginning of the url so the link is accessible from OFF CAMPUS: http://ezproxy.montclair.edu:2048/login?url=

Adapted from BGSU Libraries Libguide http://libguides.bgsu.edu/c.php?g=227271&p=1506400

Don't see your preferred database listed?

If you have questions about finding persistent links in any database, please contact us and we'll be happy to help assist:

Friend, follow and subscribe to Sprague library!