Skip to Main Content
Psychology Journals (Selective List)
Check the Library's Periodicals A-Z List for holdings information and additional titles in psychology. Below is a very selective list of titles we subscribe to.
Focuses on empirical studies and review articles in the area of experimental psychology.
American Journal of Psychology
Since 1887 this journal publishes scientific, theoretical, empirical and experimental research articles in all areas of psychology.
Official journal of the American Psychological Association contains articles covering all areas in psychology.
Annual Review of Psychology
One of the most highly-cited journals in the field of psychology.
Another highly-cited journal, presents integrative reviews of substantive and methodological issues in scientific psychology for a broad range of psychologists and allied behavioral scientists.
Psychological Review publishes articles that make important theoretical contributions to any area of scientific psychology, including systematic evaluation of alternative theories.
American Journal of Community Psychology
The American Journal of Community Psychology publishes research, theory, and descriptions of innovative interventions on a wide range of topics in community psychology.
Journal of Community Psychology
The Journal of Community Psychology (JCOP) is a peer-reviewed journal devoted to research, evaluation, assessment, and intervention.
The Global Journal of Community Psychology Practice
The Global Journal of Community Psychology Practice (GJCCP) is an online journal for practitioners of community psychology and community improvement.
Journal of Community & Applied Social Psychology
The Journal of Community & Applied Social Psychology advances the contribution of psychology to understanding and addressing community and social issues.
Frontiers in Psychology
Frontiers is the 3rd most-cited and 6th largest research publisher and open science platform.
Suggested Databases to Find Articles
Primary database devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Produced by the American Psychological Association.
Includes articles in the 35 journals published by the American Psychological Association, as well as 84 more from associated publications. List of journals.
Collection of multidisciplinary academic journals, books and primary sources. Recent issues not always available. Full text.
Freely accessible search engine that lets users search for both physical and digital copies of articles. It searches a wide variety of sources, including academic publishers and universities.
PubMed® comprises more than 32 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
Created by the National Center for Biotechnology Information, PubMed is a database which focuses broadly on life sciences. This database contains all MEDLINE citations as well as out-of-scope records, author manuscripts, records not indexed in MEDLINE, and more. This database is freely accessible to the public.
Full-text database with coverage of top psychology journals.
Peer-reviewed full-text journals with content extending back to 1999. Covers a variety of subject areas including social sciences, science, technology, medicine, etc.
Database of more than 1400 scientific journals. Recent years of about half of the journals are available in full text.
Full-text coverage of psychology and related disciplines.
Scopus indexes content from 24,600 active journal titles and 5,000 publishers and generates precise citation results, detailed researcher profiles, and other useful data. Includes peer-reviewed literature from scientific, technical, medical, and social science (including arts and humanities) journals, books and conference proceedings.
Wiley Online Library
One of the largest and most authoritative collections of online journals including over 1,400 journal titles covering life, health, social, and physical sciences.
Journal Rankings - Identify Top Journals in Psychology
Journal Citation Reports
Offers a systematic, objective means to critically evaluate the world's leading journals, with quantifiable, statistical information based on citation data. By compiling articles' cited references, JCR helps to measure research influence and impact at the journal and category levels, and shows the relationship between citing and cited journals.
Scimago Journal Rank (Psychology)
Scimago measures the scientific influence of scholarly journals that accounts for both the number of citations received by a journal and the importance or prestige of the journals where such citations come from.
Friend, follow and subscribe to Sprague library!