Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Montclair State University banner image

New Arrivals

This guide includes selected new books and streaming videos added to the Library's collection

University Authors 2023 Titles as of Today

Places and Purposes of Popular Music Education : Perspectives from the Field

An array of diverse perspectives regarding the what and the why of popular music education. This book provides a variety of perspectives on popular music education. With a mixture of rants, manifestos, and punchy position pieces, the volume moves from scholarly essays replete with citations and references to descriptions of practice and straight-talking polemics. The writing is approachable in tone, and the chapters are intended to whet appetites, prime pumps, open eyes, and keep cogs turning for academics of all ages and stages. The book will appeal to those working in popular music studies, communication studies, and education research. It also holds relevance for researchers of the music industry and music ecosystems around the world. International in reach and scope and edited by recognized voices at the vanguard of progressive music education, this is an eye-opening exploration of education in and through the widespread cultural phenomenon of popular music.

Mapping Global Justice (eBook)

Persistent international conflicts, increasing inequality in many regions or the world, and acute environmental and climate-related threats to humanity call for a better understanding of the processes, actors and tools available to face the challenges of achieving global justice. This book offers a broad and multidisciplinary survey of global justice, bridging the gap between theory and practice by connecting conceptual frameworks with a panoply of case studies and an in-depth discussion of practical challenges. Connecting these critical aspects to larger moral and ethical debates is essential for thinking about large, abstract ideas and applying them directly to specific contexts. Core content includes: Key debates in global justice from across philosophy, postcolonial studies, political science, sociology and criminology The origins of global justice and the development of the human rights agenda; peacekeeping and post-conflict studies Global poverty and sustainable development Global security and transnational crime Environmental justice, public health and well-being Rather than providing a blueprint for the practice of global justice, this text problematizes efforts to cope with many justice related issues. The pedagogical approach is designed to map the difficulties that exist between theory and praxis, encourage critical thinking and fuel debates to help seek alternative solutions. Bringing together perspectives from a wealth of disciplines, this book is essential reading for courses on global justice across criminology, sociology, political science, anthropology, philosophy and law.

International Justice : A Critical and Comprehensive Introduction

This textbook introduces students to think and write critically against the backdrop of a broad theoretical and empirical foundation of the concept of international justice. It brings together several global and transnational issues from an interdisciplinary perspective. It exposes students to a wide range of political, economic, social and cultural problems across different world regions, including migration, climate change, mass violence, and pandemics. Thanks to this book, students learn to apply different theoretical frameworks, such as environmentalism or feminism, to analyze and better understand the interconnectedness and the transnational character of these global justice-related problems across societies and cultures.

Philosophy of Education : Modern and Contemporary Ideas at Play

"Philosophy of Education: Modern and Contemporary Ideas at Play offers a space of questioning and imagination where students are asked to suspend what they think they have come to know and think critically, imaginatively, and playfully about the status quo. Future teachers are given an opportunity to analyze assumptions, speculate as to alternatives, and cultivate a comprehensive sense of the relationships between all aspects of schooling. Educational philosophy provides the skills needed to play with ideas. "-- provided by publisher

Democracy and Deliberation : The Law and Politics of Sex Offender Legislation

Sex offender laws include residency restrictions, registration and notification requirements, and post-conviction civil commitment. These laws and regulations impose serious restrictions on the movements of convicted sex offenders. This is controversial because these laws and regulations occur after the sex offender has completed his time in prison. These laws and regulations are intended to have both a deterrent and therapeutic effect. Residency restrictions seek to prevent sex offenders from re-committing their crimes and civil commitment provides psychological services while incarcerated in a forensic facility. Most works on this subject are deeply critical of these laws. Cary Federman takes a more sympathetic approach to sex offender legislation. He focuses on the deliberative intentions of legislators, exploring the limits of judicial review and the rights of interested parties to influence lawmaking. Leaders of these interested parties are usually the parents of children who have been sexually violated and murdered. Critics of sex offender legislation tend to focus on the convicted parties, arguing that their rights have been violated. The Law and Politics of Sex Offender Legislation asserts that these laws are expressions of the deliberative intentions of lawmakers concerned about public safety-they are thus constitutional, if not always wise.

Milestones in Dance in the USA

"Embracing dramatic similarities, glaring disjunctions, and striking innovations, this book explores the history and context of dance on the land we know today as the United States of America. Designed for weekly use on dance history courses, it traces dance in the USA as it broke traditional forms, crossed genres, provoked social and political change, and drove cultural exchange and collision. The authors put a particular focus on those whose voices have been silenced, unacknowledged, and/or uncredited - exploring racial prejudice and injustice, intersectional feminism, protest movements, and economic conditions, as well as demonstrating how socio-political issues and movements affect and are affected by dance. In looking at concert dance, vernacular dance, ritual dance, and the convergence of these forms, the chapters acknowledge the richness of dance in today's USA and the strong foundations on which it stands. Milestones are a range of accessible textbooks, breaking down the need-to-know moments in the social, cultural, political and artistic development of foundational subject areas. This book is ideal for undergraduate courses that embrace culturally responsive pedagogy and seek to shift the direction of the lens from western theatrical dance to towards the wealth of dance forms in the United States"-- Provided by publisher

Artificial Intelligence of Things for Weather Forecasting and Climatic Behavioral Analysis

Weather forecasting and climate behavioral analysis have traditionally been done using complicated physics models and accompanying atmospheric variables. However, the traditional approaches lack common tools, which can lead to incomplete information about the weather and climate conditions, in turn affecting the prediction accuracy rate. To address these problems, the advanced technological aspects through the spectrum of artificial intelligence of things (AIoT) models serve as a budding solution. Further study on artificial intelligence of things and how it can be utilized to improve weather forecasting and climatic behavioral analysis is crucial to appropriately employ the technology. Artificial Intelligence of Things for Weather Forecasting and Climatic Behavioral Analysis discusses practical applications of artificial intelligence of things for interpretation of weather patterns and how weather information can be used to make critical decisions about harvesting, aviation, etc. This book also considers artificial intelligence of things issues such as managing natural disasters that impact the lives of millions. Covering topics such as deep learning, remote sensing, and meteorological applications, this reference work is ideal for data scientists, industry professionals, researchers, academicians, scholars, practitioners, instructors, and students.

Treating Contemporary Families

Linking research with clinical practice, this text shows therapists how to do evidence-based practice when treating contemporary families. Today's families are diverse and complex, and their problems do not always improve when treatment focuses on addressing a diagnosis. To achieve successful, lasting change, therapists must help families change their patterns of interaction. This book examines several common interactional challenges that contemporary families face, such as co-parenting, divorce, intimate partner violence, blending families, and loss and bereavement. Contributors examine research on each challenge alongside research on various diverse family types, and offer targeted interventions for each family type. With its strong emphasis on inclusion, social justice, and evidence-based practice, this book will help clinicians work with today's diverse families in effective, empathic, and culturally responsive ways.

Pop Culture, Politics, and the News

In Pop Culture, Politics, and the News, Joel Penney explores how pop culture news has taken on an important role in contemporary political discourse. Through coverage of topics like Hollywood diversity, celebrity controversy, and "cancel culture" backlash, entertainment journalism has emerged as a key source of political information and commentary, providing audiences with an accessible lens into some of the most hot-button issues of our time. Yet due to the "clickbait" economics of the polarized digital news business, the quality of entertainment journalism is often compromised, and consequently, people view pop culture coverage as "soft news" with little substance or public value. Very little is known about how this journalism is produced and consumed as a component of the digital news ecosystem. Moreover, we lack a measured sense of its potential impact on the political interests and knowledge of its audiences, the politics of the entertainment industry it covers, and the shape of public debate more broadly. Drawing on interviews with entertainment journalists and testimonials from news audiences who share these stories on social media, Joel Penney argues for the importance of reframing our understanding of impactful journalism and persuasive political communication when culture and identity have moved thoroughly to the center of U.S. public discourse. Moreover, Penney examines how audiences engage with this highly accessible and emotionally resonant form of journalism and use it as a resource for political expression and discussion, raising important questions about how it can serve as a bridge to public issue engagement as well as a potential distraction from on-the-ground political concerns. As a cutting-edge, data-rich analysis of the blurring boundaries between entertainment, politics, social media activism, and partisan journalism, Pop Culture, Politics, and the News makes a major contribution to public scholarship on the shifting digital information landscape.

Preventing Child Maltreatment in the U. S. : the Latinx Community Perspective

This book is part of a concentrated series of books that examines child maltreatment across cultural groups.  Specifically, this volume examines core concepts relevant to Latinx families (e.g., familismo, acculturation, spirituality, oppression) as they relate to child maltreatment in the United States. While there are vast differences across Latinx families, authors use critical race and feminist theories to explore the impact of differences based on gender, race, immigration status, and country of origin. The book begins by contextualizing child maltreatment in Latinx families within the pervasive structural racism and inequality in the United States and addressing unique traumas experienced by Latinx families resulting from that inequity. Subsequent chapters address prevention of child maltreatment, responses to maltreatment and healing from trauma with an emphasis on resilience within the Latinx community. Three case studies are used to illustrate and apply concepts from each chapter.     

Preventing Child Maltreatment in the U. S. : the Black Community Perspective

Child maltreatment occurs in the Black community at higher rates than any other racial group. Given the prevalence of child maltreatment risk factors in the Black community, such as being in a low-income family, single parent family, greater exposure to physical discipline, and less access to services and resources, it is not surprising but nonetheless concerning that Black children are at greater risk for abuse and/or neglect. Unearthing the cause and effect between the challenges faced by the Black community and the life outcomes for Black children is key to making positive changes happen. Through a feminist and womanist lens, the authors unpack the range of factors that intersect and impact the Black community that are necessary to address to effectively protect Black children. Understanding how to prevent maltreatment and promote health and wellness are essential to adequately address maltreatment so as to protect and empower Black children.

Preventing Child Maltreatment in the U. S. : American Indian and Alaska Native Perspectives

This book is part of a concentrated series of books that examines child maltreatment across minoritized, cultural groups. Specifically, this volume addresses American Indian and Alaska Native populations. However, in an effort to contextualize the experiences of 574 federally recognized tribes and 50+ state recognized tribes, as well as villages, the authors focus on populations within rural and remote regions and discuss the experiences of some tribal communities throughout US history. It should be noted that established research has primarily drawn attention to the pervasive problems impacting Indigenous individuals, families, and communities. Aligned with an attempt to adhere to a decolonizing praxis, the authors share information in a strength-based framework for the Indigenous communities discussed within the text. The authors review federally funded programs (prevention, intervention, and treatment) that have been adapted for tribal communities (e.g., Safecare) and include cultural teachings that address child maltreatment. The intention of this book is to inform researchers, practitioners, policy makers, and advocates about the current state of child maltreatment from an Indigenous perspective.

Preventing Child Maltreatment in the U. S. : Multicultural Considerations

Preventing Child Maltreatment: Multicultural Considerations in the United States is the first book in a concentrated series that examines child maltreatment across minoritized, cultural groups.  Specifically, this volume examines core multicultural concepts (e.g., intersectionality, acculturation, spirituality, oppression) as they relate to child maltreatment in the United States, while the other books take a closer look at particular ethnic or racial communities in this country. Additionally, this book examines child maltreatment through the intersection of feminist, multicultural, and prevention/wellness promotion lenses.  Recommendations for treatment in each book build on a foundation of prevention and wellness promotion, along with multicultural and feminist theories. Throughout this book, five case studies, which are introduced in Chapter One, are revisited to help the readers make important and meaningful connections between theory and practice.

The Sociology of Bullying

An important new collection on the nature and consequences of bullying School shootings and suicides by young victims of bullying have spurred a proliferation of anti-bullying programs, yet most of the research done on school bullying has been from psychologists. The Sociology of Bullying will be the first volume to present the leading ideas in sociology about bullying among adolescents that moves beyond an individualistic approach and instead offers ideas about how to address bullying as a byproduct of social systems, biases, and status hierarchies. Sociologists investigate the impact of social forces on bullying among adolescents, such as inequality, heteronormativity, militarized capitalism, racism, cancel culture, power, and competition. Contributors explore a wide range of key topics, such as how homophobia and gender normativity encourage bullying; how anti-bullying curricula can ultimately lead to more bullying; and how adolescents use bullying against their friends to improve their own social standing. By advancing sociological perspectives on bullying, this important volume aims to shift the national conversation from one that focuses on villainizing bullies to one that encourages an inward look at the aspects of our culture that foster bullying behavior among children.

Architects of the Imaginary / Los arquitectos de lo imaginario

Translation of: Los arquitectos de lo imaginario

Black Fathering and Mental Health

This edited volume is the first work purposefully designed to amplify the voices of Black men in communicating their mental health needs and challenges while fathering in their families and communities. Dr. Michael Hannon has convened a group of Black fathers and aspiring fathers, who are also professional counselors, and they offer unique and untapped perspectives about the needs, challenges, and victories of Black fathering across the family life cycle in the context of an anti-Black world. In each chapter, the contributors offer counselors and other mental health professionals a resource to assist them in providing culturally relevant and responsive support to Black fathers at various points across the family life cycle and more comprehensively understand the circumstances that might prompt--and prevent--Black fathers to seek counseling support.

Leo Trotzkis Kollaboration mit Deutschland und Japan

Translation of: Leon Trotsky's collaboration with Germany and Japan, Trotsky's conspiracies, Volume Two

Interpreting Religion

This edited collection harnesses a diversity of interpretivist perspectives to provide a panoramic view of the production, experiences, contexts, and meanings of religion. Scholars from the US, South Asia and Europe explore religious phenomena using ethnographic, comparative historical, psychosocial, and critical theoretical approaches. Each chapter addresses foundational themes in the study of religion - from identity, discourse and power to ritual, emotion, and embodiment. Authors examine dynamic intersections of race, gender, history, and the present within the religious traditions of Christianity, Islam, Judaism and Buddhism, as well as among the non-religious.Cutting boldly across religious traditions and paradigms, the book investigates areas of harmony and contradiction across different interpretive lenses to achieve a richer understanding of the meanings of religion.

Islands in the Lake : Environment and Ethnohistory in Xochimilco, New Spain

Now notorious for its aridity and air pollution, Mexico City was once part of a flourishing lake environment. In nearby Xochimilco, Native Americans modified the lakes to fashion a distinctive and remarkably abundant aquatic society, one that provided a degree of ecological autonomy for local residents, enabling them to protect their communities' integrity, maintain their way of life, and preserve many aspects of their cultural heritage. While the area's ecology allowed for a wide array of socioeconomic and cultural continuities during colonial rule, demographic change came to affect the ecological basis of the lakes; pastoralism and new ways of using and modifying the lakes began to make a mark on the watery landscape and on the surrounding communities. In this fascinating study, Conway explores Xochimilco using native-language documents, which serve as a hallmark of this continuity and a means to trace patterns of change.

Educational Psychology and Transformational Classrooms

"Educational Psychology and Transformational Classrooms uniquely positions teachers transformational experiences as central to understanding and implementing educational psychology research. Across three well-developed case studies using narrative inquiry methods, this volume explores moments of significant change, learning, and evolution in teaching and learning. Each case is followed by analyses from educational psychologists focusing on the three central actors in the learning experience-students, teacher, and context-and is then concluded with case authors responses to the analyses provided. Showcasing the holistic experience of teaching before unpacking it with theory and research, this book centers classroom life and posits educational psychology as an ideal and accessible lens for its examination"-- Provided by publisher

Motherless Creations (eBook)

This book explains the elimination of maternal characters in American, British, French, and German literature before 1890 by examining motherless creations: Pygmalion's statue, Frankenstein's creature, homunculi, automata, androids, golems, and steam men. These beings typify what is now called artificial life, living systems made through manufactured means. Fantasies about creating life ex-utero were built upon misconceptions about how life began, sustaining pseudoscientific beliefs about the birthing body. Physicians, inventors, and authors of literature imagined generating life without women to control the process of reproduction and generate perfect progeny. Thus, some speculative fiction before 1890 belongs to the literary genealogy of transhumanism, the belief that technology will someday transform some humans into superior, immortal beings. Female motherless creations tend to operate as sexual companions. Male ones often emerge as subaltern figures analogous to enslaved beings, illustrating that reproductive rights inform readers' sense of who counts as human in fictions of artificial life.

The Fraud of the "Testament Of Lenin" : Based on the Research of Valentin A. Sakharov, with Chapters on Moshe Lewin's Falsifications and Leon Trotsky's Lies

"The canonical accounts of Lenin’s last writings accept the version that Lenin left a “testament” that included a number of negative remarks about Joseph Stalin, and that Lenin wished to remove Stalin from the position of General Secretary of the All-Union Communist Party (bolshevik). This version stems partly from Trotsky, who embraced it eagerly in his campaign to replace Stalin as Party leader; partly from Lenin’s wife Nadezhda Konstantinovna Krupskaya; and partly from Nikita Khrushchev and the Khrushchev-era fifth and last edition of Lenin’s works, the Polnoe Sobranie Sochinenii (“Complete Collection of Writings”), or PSS.
The present book is largely based on the research of Professor Valentin A. Sakharov of Moscow State University. His 2003 book, Lenin’s “Political Testament”, published by Moscow State University Press, is the result of years of access to and study of many of the archival copies of Lenin’s works, drafts of those works, and originals of other important documents related to the question of Lenin’s “testament.”
The present study draws the same conclusion: Lenin’s so-called “Testament” is a fraud. The present book includes chapters that examine the role in these falsehoods of Leon Trotsky and the errors and falsehoods in the book Lenin’s Last Struggle by the late historian Moshe Lewin, as well as individual chapters on the role of Lenin’s wife Nadezhda Konstantinovna Krupskaya and that of Lenin’s sister Maria Il’inichna Ulyanova."

SSD for R

Single-subject research designs have been used to build evidence to the effective treatment of problems across various disciplines including social work, psychology, psychiatry, medicine, allied health fields, juvenile justice, and special education. SSD for R serves as a guide for thosedesiring to conduct single-subject data analysis and introduces readers to the various functions available in SSD for R, a new, free, and innovative software package written in R--the open-source statistical programming language that was written by the book's authors.This second edition of SSD for R is the most comprehensive guide to the numerous graphing and charting functions for conducting robust visual analysis including line graphs and more complex standard deviation lines. This book also contains numerous tests of statistical significance, such as t-tests,chi-squares, and the conservative dual criteria. Auerbach and Zeitlin guide readers through the analytical process based on the characteristics of their data. In addition to presentations and assignments, this new edition contains more examples and illustrations to help readers understand the widerange of functions available in SSD for R and their application to data analysis and interpretation.SSD for R is the only book of its kind to describe single-subject data analysis while providing free statistical software to do so. For more instructional videos, blogs, and a growing community of researchers interested in single-subject designs, visit the authors' website:http://ssdanalysis.com.

Music Lesson Plans for Social Justice

Teaching Music for Social Justice offers a fresh, innovative approach to teaching general music. This book is a timely collection of lesson plans and units that artfully blend music making with relevant issues of social justice. Particularly accessible to middle and high school classroom musicteachers, it includes a companion website with links to all of the music listening and videos. Authors Lisa C. DeLorenzo and Marissa Silverman, accomplished music educators with extensive careers thinking about the relationship between music education and social justice, have composedstudent-centered lessons with thoughtful discussion prompts, experiences with diverse genres and styles of music, and technology-integrated music making projects that will activate students' creativity and empathy. Unit topics-ranging from "War" to "Climate Change"-include cross-disciplinary lessonswith the arts playing a central role in developing understanding. Well-researched introductory materials as well as "how-to" guides for topics, such as "composing in the classroom," make the text especially practical and approachable. This book is an essential resource, with ready-to-go lessons andclassroom materials. Music teachers will now have a unique, new lens for engaging students in purposeful music making toward social justice.

Emerging Realities and the Future of Technology in the Classroom

The COVID-19 pandemic has shed light on how much humans rely, more than ever before in our history, on technology. While technology in its simplest definition is the use of a tool for a practical purpose, in the last three decades, educators can confidently say it has revolutionized how information is communicated and accessed. Most importantly, educators who had to recently shift their classes online understood the important role of technology to stay connected and instruct students remotely. There are many different facets of technology in today's classrooms and ideas on where educators are headed in preparing their students for a technology-rich world. With new technologies being constantly developed and new scenarios rising to the surface in the educational environment, the future of technology in the classroom is widespread, consistently growing, and always advancing with more technological reliance. Emerging Realities and the Future of Technology in the Classroom provides an understanding on how technology is integrated into today's classroom and how institutions can be further informed of the importance of technology in today's world. This book examines a variety of pertinent topics that look at the present and future potential roles of technology in the classroom. While highlighting topics such as STEM in online education, leadership and technology, new instructional models in online learning, and gaming in education, this book is essential for teachers across all disciplines and in higher education and K-12, school administrators, principals, instructional designers, librarians, media specialists, educational software developers, educational technologists, IT specialists, practitioners, researchers, academicians, and students interested in the current status of technology in the classroom and its potential role in education for the years ahead.

Friend, follow and subscribe to Sprague library!