Research Guides: Environmental Studies: Atmospheric Science

Space Weather

Print Materials

Encyclopedia of Weather and Climate Change by Juliane L. Fry; Hans-F Graf; Richard Grotjahn; Marilyn Raphael; Clive Saunders
Call Number: QC854 .E5258 2010
Publication Date: 2010
Encyclopedia of World Climatology by John E. Oliver (Editor)
Call Number: QC854 .E526 2005
Publication Date: 2005

National Environmental Satellite, Data, and Information Service

National Environmental Satellite, Data, and Information Service
NESDIS is part of the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration. NESDIS operates a number of centers involved with weather or meteorological data:
National Centers for Environmental Information
The NCEI is responsible for data management activities in support of scientific and technical programs involving remotely sensed and in situ retrospective meteorological data and climatological information.
NOAA El Niño site
Includes explanations of El Niño weather patterns in English, Spanish, and Portuguese.

National Oceanic and Atmospheric Association

National Data: NOAA's National Weather Service
One screen provides nationwide weather information: satellite views of the United States, ocean temperatures, state weather warnings, and radar images of precipitation and clouds. Active warnings are given by category, with states listed under each category. Clicking on the state gives the actual NWS warning. The page reloads frequently for up-to-the-minute information.
National Weather Service
The NWS provides weather forecasts, long-range forecasts, and warnings for the protection of life and property in the United States and its territories, adjacent waters and ocean areas.
Office of Hydrologic Development
Offers river forecasts and flood warnings.
River Forecast Centers
Covers the contiguous United States
Land Surface Monitoring and Prediction CPC Leaky Bucket Model
Soil moisture monitoring (U.S. and worldwide.)
National Hurricane Center
This site provides latest forecasts, satellite imagery, aircraft reconnaisance, storm names, historical data and general information for cyclones and hurricanes.
Storm Prediction Center
This Center monitors and forecasts severe and non-severe thunderstorms, tornadoes, winter storms, extreme winds, heavy rains, and other hazardous weather.
National Severe Storms Laboratory
This site investigates all aspects of severe weather. It offers general, scientific, and educational information.
ESRL: Climate Analysis Branch
Identifies the nature and causes of climate variations, using time scales that range from a month to centuries, in order to be able to predict important climate variations.
Climate Prediction Center
The CPC monitors short-term climate fluctuations, in order to predict them. It features current weather anomalies, like the Southeastern drought and La Niña. The site includes color maps of sea temperature and forecast maps of temperature and precipitation for the continental United States.