Film Studies

The Routledge Encyclopedia of Films comprises 200 essays by leading film scholars analysing the most important, influential, innovative and interesting films of all time.

The Handbook of Film Studies maps the field internationally, drawing out regional differences in the way that systematic intellectual reflection on cinema and film has been translated into an academic discipline.

ebook. Comprehensive resource provides thorough coverage of films and filmmakers through the spring of 2000. Entrants include legendary films, actors and actresses, directors, writers and other production artists.

This provocative three-volume encyclopedia is a valuable resource for readers seeking an understanding of how movies have both reflected and helped engender America's political, economic, and social history.

This wide-ranging and thought-provoking collection of specially-commissioned essays provides a uniquely comprehensive overview of the many and various ways in which music functions in film soundtracks.

This Companion offers a multi-disciplinary approach to literature on film and television.

ebook. Written by experts in the field, covers all aspects of film studies, including terms, concepts, debates, and movements in film theory and criticism, national, international and transnational cinemas, film history, film movements and genres, film industry organizations and practices, and key technical terms and concepts in 500 detailed entries.

For more than a century, original music has been composed for the cinema. From the early days when live music accompanied silent films to the present in which a composer can draw upon a full orchestra or a lone synthesizer to embody a composition, music has been an integral element of most films.

Provides an overview of the beginnings of cinema through the first boom in the specialized moving-picture theaters known as nickelodeons, looking at the initial years of projected motion pictures and their aural accompaniment from 1895 to the fall of 1907. Early American cinema is examined as an industry and as an influential cultural practice in the context of a centuries-long history of projected images.

Chronicles the history of the American film business from the days of the little store-show nickelodeon to the premiere of D. W. Griffith's The Birth of A Nation, looking at the imbalance of the "Griffith did it all" cliché by discussing the efforts of countless lesser-known figures who also helped to create Hollywood and shape the growing American film industry.

Chonicles how theatrical feature films dominated newly developed movie palaces, how expressive film faces became household names, and how Hollywood became the center of film as a major growth industry.

Chronicles the film industry's transition from silent films to sound cinema as it takes a critical step on its way to becoming the modern business enterprise of the 1930s.

Studies the advent of color, big musicals, the studio system and the beginning of institutionalized censorship which made the thirties the defining decade for Hollywood, the decade that ended with "The Greatest Year in Motion Pictures" - the year of "Gone With the Wind", "The Wizard of Oz", "Mr Smith Goes to Washington" and other classics.

Covers the period of 1939-1949, when the film industry came to grips with the development of the documentary, a shift to independent production, renewed government antitrust activity, and the emergence of television as a competitor.

Explores the challenges American cinema faced in the 1950's from the divorce of production companies from theater chains forced by an anti- trust decision, to the growth of television.

Examines the issues of this period, including competition with other leisure activities, transformation of the theater, changes in production, and the arrival of conglomerates

This volume examines the development of film and the film industry during the 1970s and the political and economic background that influenced it.

This volume examines the development of film and the film industry during the 1980s and the political and economic background that influenced it.