Research Guides: EAES 496/592 Paleoclimatology: Articles

Suggested Databases

Sprague Library Databases

If you are off-campus, you will be prompted to log in with your NetID and password when you click on the link to each database.

Environmental Science Database
Full text database covering a range of disciplines related to environmental science. Selected content derived from subject areas such as engineering, biotechnology, bacteriology, atmospheric science, ecology, and biology.
Environment Complete
Full-text articles on topics such as agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, natural resources, marine and freshwater science, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning & more.
Science Database
Full text and images for the leading periodicals in science and technology. Subject coverage includes computers, engineering, physics, telecommunications, and transportation.
ScienceDirect
Database of more than 1400 scientific journals. Recent years of about half of the journals are available in full text.
Scopus
Scopus indexes content from 24,600 active journal titles and 5,000 publishers and generates precise citation results, detailed researcher profiles, and other useful data. Includes peer-reviewed literature from scientific, technical, medical, and social science (including arts and humanities) journals, books and conference proceedings.
Web of Science
Contains the three citation indexes that have existed since the early 1960s: Arts & Humanities, Science and Social Science Citation Index. Web of Science also tracks citations in Medline, newer sources and publications in Korea and Russia.

Pre-Print Servers and Institutional Repositories

The following databases contain preprints, which are final versions of manuscripts before they undergo publication by a journal. Preprints may differ slightly from the final version of an article (also called the version of record), and should not be used in your final research paper if the version of record can be obtained from a library database, or through interlibrary loan. They are open access, meaning they are available for free online and do not need a subscription in order to access them.

Digital Commons Network
- This link opens in a new window
Digital Commons Network includes free scholarly articles from the hundreds of colleges and universities using Digital Commons throughout the world.

EarthArXiv
- This link opens in a new window
Preprint server for the Earth Sciences
ESSOAr: Earth and Space Open Archive
- This link opens in a new window
Archive from the American Geophysical Union for Earth and Space Sciences

Other Databases

The Sprague Library does not subscribe to all of the content found in these databases, but you can request articles through Interlibrary Loan.

GeoRef
GeoRef indexes publications from publishers who are members of GeoScienceWorld. While the Sprague Library does not subscribe to GeoScienceWorld, you can find full text by clicking on "Content I Have Access To" on the search page.

Google Scholar
Scholarly results from Google, including citation counts and journal metrics. Link is proxy-enabled to allow access to articles in the library collection from off campus.
FAQ: Google Scholar Errors.

Interlibrary Loan

Need a book or article that isn't available in the Sprague Library? Request it via Interlibrary Loan. Interlibrary loan will take about 24-48 hours for journal articles or book chapters, and 4-10 business days for print books, so be sure to submit your requests early.

Interlibrary Services
Request books, articles, or book chapters from other libraries.

How to Find a Specific Journal

Journals A-Z List
Search for a particular journal, magazine or newspaper title in our A-Z list.