Skip to main content
Banner Image

Sprague Library Archives

University Facilities

University Facilities

TABLE OF CONTENTS


Overview of the Collection

Biographical Note

Scope and Contents

Arrangement

Restrictions

Index Terms

Detailed Description of the Collection

Series I: Campus Planning (1906, 1947-2011)

Series II: Business and Financial Management, 1969

Series III: Design and Construction, 1978

Series IV: Facilities Logistic Support , (1972, 2002-2003)

Inventory to the Records of University Facilities, Montclair State University



Overview of the Collection

Repository: Montclair State University - Harry A. Sprague Library Archives
Creator: University Facilities - Montclair State University
Finding Aid Created by: Anne Lonergan
Title: University Facilities
Dates: 1947-2011
Quantity: .8 cubic feet
Abstract: The collection from University Facilities contains architectural drawings and plans, newspaper clippings, publications and brochures.
Identification: UFNjUpM
Language: The records are in English.

Biographical Note

The Division of University Facilities develops and implements plans for the construction and operation of the university’s buildings, grounds and physical infrastructure. In addition to design and construction management, the Division is responsible for environmental safety and sustainability, facility maintenance and logistics, and fire safety.

Return to the Table of Contents


Scope and Contents

The Sprague Library Archives is not a formal institutional repository. This small collection consists of papers that pertain primarily to campus planning and design. Included in the collection is a copy of the 1906 architectural drawing for New Jersey State Normal School at Montclair and publications from 1947 through 1966 that promote the expansion of the institution. Among the items included in the collection is a Life magazine booklet, detailing the 1950 Life article that highlighted the poor state of the college’s facilities, and the improvements made after passage of an education bond referendum. The collection also includes a booklet detailing the New Jersey Education Association’s proposal for the creation of Woodrow Wilson State University in 1966, plans to make the campus accessible to the physically disabled, architectural drawings from 1960 for the Harry A. Sprague Library and plans for the library addition, completed in 1993.

Return to the Table of Contents


Name and Subject Tracings: Related material may be found under the following index terms used for people, organizations and subjects represented in these records.

Return to the Table of Contents


Arrangement

Return to the Table of Contents


Restrictions

Restrictions on Access

The collection is open for research use.

Restrictions on Use

Copyright restrictions may apply.

Return to the Table of Contents


Index Terms

This record series is indexed under the following controlled access subject terms.

Organizations:

Campus planning-New Jersey
College buildings-Barrier-free design
College buildings-New Jersey
Library--Planning
Montclair State College
Montclair State University
Montclair State University-Buildings
Montclair State University-Parking
New Jersey State Normal School at Montclair
New Jersey State Teachers College (Montclair, N.J.)
University and colleges-Planning

Return to the Table of Contents


Detailed Description of the Collection

Series I: Campus Planning (1906, 1947-2011)
1 1 Expansion publications, 1947-1966, 2011
2 Newspaper clippings, 1956-1963
3 Master Plan, 1989
4 Planning and design, 1906
5 Planning and design – College Hall, undated
6 Planning and design – Cyber CafĂ©, 2005
7 Planning and design – Expansion, 1990-1991, 2010
8 Planning and design – Library, 1960-1990
Series II: Business and Financial Management, 1969
1 1a Correspondence, 1969
Series III: Design and Construction, 1978
1 1b Accessibility, 1978
Series IV: Facilities Logistic Support , (1972, 2002-2003)
1 1c Parking, circa 1972, 2002-2003
Friend, follow and subscribe to Sprague library!