Panzer College ArchivesOffice of the PresidentAcademic AffairsCollege of Education and Human ServicesCollege of Humanities and Social SciencesCollege of Science and Mathematics
Scrapbooks
Print Newspapers
This is the "Home" page of the "Sprague Library Archives" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Sprague Library
Library Home | Articles & Databases | Books & Media | Guides & Resources | Services |

Sprague Library Archives   Tags: alumni, archives, montclair state university  

Last Updated: Dec 16, 2014 URL: http://montclair.libguides.com/archives Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Mission Statement

The Sprague Library Archives is a repository for many of the documents relating to the history of Montclair State College/University and is available for reference and research by administrators, faculty, students, alumni and other interested parties.

 

Donations

The Sprague Library Archives welcomes donations relating to the history of Montclair State College/University, College High School, or the Panzer College of Physical Education. Please see the policy for donation of materials below:


Donors must also complete a Deed of Gift form available below:


Before sending a donation, please contcact Paul Martinez at martinezp@mail.montclair.edu or (973) 655-3465

 

Location

The Archives are located in Room 029 in the Multimedia Department (lower level) of the Harry A. Sprague Library.

Access is by appointment. Please contact Paul Martinez: 973 655-3465 or the Reference Department: 973-655-4291

Yearbooks, Course Catalogs, Doctoral Dissertations, and Masters Theses are shelved in the Reference Department on the first floor.

Please see the Archives Use Policy.

Yearbooks and Course Catalogs from 2002-2012 are available online.

 

 

Archives

This is a postcard of College Hall which can be seen in the MSU Buildings Collection. The postcard is undated, but the School was renamed Montclair State Teachers College in 1927, so the postcard is probably from before that date.

 

Collection

The Library collects and maintains the following resources in the Sprague Library Archives:

  1. All documents related to the history of Sprague Library, including publications, annual reports, publicity releases, newspaper clippings and photographs
  2. Montclair State Catalogs – Undergraduate, Graduate and Summer Session (Also available in the Reference Dept.)
  3. Montclair State Masters Theses and Doctoral Dissertations (Shelved in the Reference Dept.)
  4. Board of Trustees Minutes
  5. University Senate Minutes
  6. Annual Reports of the President of Montclair State University
  7. Student newspapers, yearbook and literary publications
  8. Staff newsletters
  9. Alumni Magazine
  10. Commencement Programs
  11. Middle States reports, including Self-Study reports
  12. Selected documents that relate to the history of Montclair State University, including newspaper clippings, publicity releases and photographs


The following are not actively collected:

  1. Publications, including newsletters and annual reports, of individual Colleges, Schools, Departments and Administrative Units
  2. Publications of individual faculty members, staff or administrators, including journal articles, reports, personal papers or photographs, unless they relate to the history of Montclair State

Archivist/Cataloger

Profile Image
Paul Martinez
Contact Info
973-655-3465
Send Email
 

Archives News

October, 2013: A searchable collection of Montclair State course catalogs from 1909 to 2007 have been added to our digital collections. The catalogs are listed by the institution's name (New Jersey State Teacher's College, Montclair State College, Montclair State University, etc.) here.

 

October, 2012: The Office of Alumni Relations donated some wonderful items. Stop by the Archives Room and see freshmen “dink” caps from the 60’s, scrapbooks from the 30’s, and club pins from the 20’s.

March, 2011: There was an Archives Exhibit on display in the lobby of the Sprague Library.

 

March, 2011: Montclair State Yearbooks are now online!

April, 2010: The Sprague Library Archives officially opened on April 14. 2010. Cilck here to see photographs from the Opening ceremony.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip