Skip to Main Content
World Shakespeare Bibliography
Looking for serious Shakespeare scholarship?
Start with the World Shakespeare Bibliography Online below.
World Shakespeare Bibliography Online
Provides annotated entries for all important books, articles, reviews, dissertations, theatrical productions, reviews of books and productions, audiovisual materials, and other materials related to Shakespeare that have been published from 1960 to the present day.
Suggestions for searching the World Shakespeare Bibliography:
- Advanced Search: Use this instead of the Basic Search.
- Languages: Set this to whatever languages you can read well.
- Document Type: Set this to search one at a time:
- Journal Articles
- Books: Book Chapter, Book Collection and Book Monograph
Check the tools below to see if the library has the sources you find:
Journals A-Z List
Journals A-Z List
Search for a particular journal, magazine or newspaper title in our A-Z list.
Over 100 journals dedicated to the study of Shakespeare are in the library's collection.
Hundreds more that touch upon his work or related topics are available as well.
1975 - present available online.
1965 - present in Print: Sprague Library 2nd Floor: Call #: PR2885.S64
1948 - present available in the library.
PR2888 .C3 (Sprague Library 2nd Floor)
Items not Owned by the Sprague Library
Options if the item you want is not in the library collection:
- Find Another Source: The library subscribes to over 30,000 publications and has over 400,000 books in its collection so the odds are good that another source that will do the job will show up if you keep searching.
- If you are willing to go get the item from another library, call our Reference Desk at 973-655-4291 and our librarians will help you check to see if it is available nearby at a library you can access. (For example: Libraries at another state college or a public library.)
If another source will not do and you can wait a week or two, feel free to place a request through the Interlibrary Services Department.
Other Journal Indexes
The next best places to hunt for scholarship
about the works of Shakespeare.
The JSTOR Understanding Series
Connects digital literary texts with articles on JSTOR. Covers literature ranging from Shakespeare and Shelly, to Frederick Douglass and Martin Luther King and the U.S. Constitution.
MLA International Bibliography with Full Text
Index to articles & other material on modern languages, literature, linguistics & folklore.
It contains millions of citations as well as full text for 1,000 journals.
Friend, follow and subscribe to Sprague library!