Research Guides: LNGN 332/506 Phonology: Find Articles

Some Potentially Good Keywords for your Searches

Try searching for the name of a language and a particular topic you are interested in. For example:

malagasy and (phonology or phoneme or "minimal pair" or "place of articulation" or allophone)

Here are some good databases for linguistics.

For complete coverage of an individual journal title, use the Journal A-Z list from the Library Homepage.

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts
Index to articles, books & dissertations in linguistics, speech, language, hearing pathology & language research.
Linguistics Database
Full-text journals & other sources in linguistics., Includes many titles indexed in Linguistics &Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA). Covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics.
Academic Search Complete
Index to articles of general academic interest. Some full text.
JSTOR
Collection of multidisciplinary academic journals, books and primary sources. Recent issues not always available. Full text.
ScienceDirect
Database of more than 1400 scientific journals. Recent years of about half of the journals are available in full text.
ProQuest Central
Multidisciplinary database covering many subject areas. Includes scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, reports & videos.
SAGE Journals
Peer-reviewed full-text journals with content extending back to 1999. Covers a variety of subject areas including social sciences, science, technology, medicine, etc.
Dissertations & Theses Global
International doctoral dissertations & master's theses. Full text since 1997, with some full text prior to 1997.