Skip to Main Content
Corpus Scriptorum Latinorum
Digital library of Latin literature, spanning from the earliest epigraphic remains to the Neo-Latinists of the eighteenth century.
Collaborative project among scholars from a variety of disciplines
Texts in the original language, no translations.
Perseus Digital Library
Covers the history, literature and culture of the Greco-Roman world.
Includes English & Latin language versions of Caesar's Gallic War, Catullus' Carmina Cicero's In Catilinam I, etc.
Avalon Project -- Ancient Documents
A project of Yale Law School. Documents are in English.
Links to Edicts of Augustus and Decree of the Senate on the Judicial Process in Cyrene, 64 B.C., Julian Law on Agrarian Matters, 58(?) B.C. & Law of Caesar on Municipalities, 44 B.C.
Websites to Texts and/or Resources on Roman Civilization
Diotima : materials for the study of women and gender in the ancient world
Includes course materials, the beginnings of a systematic and searchable bibliography, & links to many on-line resources, including articles, book reviews, databases, and images.
De Imperatoribus Romanis: An Online Encyclopedia of Roman Rulers and Their Families
Online encyclopedia on the rulers of the Roman empire from Augustus (27 BC-AD 14) to Constantine XI Palaeologus (1449-1453)
Classics Studies - Association of College & Research Libraries
Access to scholarly resources in Classics Studies. Coverage includes the Mediterranean (particularly Greece and Rome) during the Classical and Hellenistic periods.
The resources organized here have undergone a selection and evaluation process.
Classical Art Research Centre & The Beazley Archive
Part of Oxford University, "The Classical Art Research Centre leads & supports research on ancient art".
A collaborative project among scholars, teachers, and students with the broad purpose of bringing classical literature into a more accessible, online medium.
The Roman Society
The Roman Society is the leading organization in the United Kingdom for those interested in the study of Rome and the Roman Empire. Its scope is wide, covering Roman history, archaeology, literature and art down to about A.D. 700.
Digital Atlas of Roman & Medieval Civilizations
The best available materials for a Geographic Information Systems (GIS) approach to mapping and spatial analysis of the Roman and medieval worlds.
Allows innovative spatial and temporal analyses of all aspects of the civilizations of western Eurasia in the first 1500 years of our era, as well as the generation of original maps illustrating differing aspects of ancient and medieval civilization.
Friend, follow and subscribe to Sprague library!