Research Guides: U.S. Immigration: Find Articles

Scholarly versus Popular Periodicals

Scholarly & Popular Publications Guide
This guide will help you distinguish between journals, magazines, and newspapers.

ProQuest Central
Multidisciplinary database covering many subject areas. Includes scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, reports & videos.
Academic Search Complete
Index to articles of general academic interest. Some full text.
New York Times, (Current)
Full text New York Times articles without accompanying photos, charts, or other images, from 1980 to the present day.
New York Times, (Historical)
New York Times articles from 1851 to the present.

HeinOnline
Content in political science and law. Contains the Congressional Record, U.S. Reports back to 1754, constitutions for every country in the world, classic books from the 18th & 19th centuries, all U.S. Treaties, the Federal Register, the Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) and more.
HeinOnline Tutorials.
Index to Legal Periodicals & Books Full Text
Indexing of 1,025+ legal journals, law reviews, yearbooks, institutes, statutes, bar association publications, university publications, & government publications.
Westlaw Next
Comprehensive full-text collection of news, business, and law-related information.
Westlaw Next Tutorials.

Public Affairs Information Service International w/ Archive
Links to full text sources. This resource covers issues in the public debate through selective coverage of a wide variety of international sources including journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content, and more

Policy File Index
Provides access to reports and other information from over 350 public policy think tanks, nongovernmental organizations, research institutes and advocacy groups. Links to a majority of the reports are available.