Skip to Main Content
Background and General Resources
Each weekly report explores a single "hot" issue in the news that covers all sides. Includes charts, graphs and bibliographies. Global Researcher includes monthly single-topic reports on vital world issues. Full text.
Points of View Reference Center
Provides a series of essays that present multiple sides of a current issue. Provides 200 topics, each with an overview (objective background/description), point (argument) and counterpoint (opposing argument).
The Library has access to Britannica Academic, a general encyclopedia + dozens of subject encyclopedias. Avoid using Wiki if you can.
Contains the text of the Encyclopaedia Britannica plus additional articles & images. Includes Britannica's World Data Analyst & World Atlas. Full text.
Reference e-books representing a variety of subject areas including anthropology, business, history, law, literature, medicine, and science. Full text. Over 4,000 results dealing with immigration.
SAGE and CQ Press book and reference content. Full text.
Pew Research Center
Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping the world. We conduct public opinion polling, demographic research, content analysis and other data-driven social science research. We do not take policy positions.
American Immigration Council
Nonprofit, "promoting laws, policies, and attitudes that honor our proud history as a nation of immigrants. Through research and policy analysis, litigation and communications, and international exchange, the Council seeks to shape a twenty-first century vision of the American immigrant experience."
Migration Policy Institute
An independent, nonpartisan, nonprofit think tank in Washington, DC dedicated to analysis of the movement of people worldwide. The group provides analysis, development, and evaluation of migration and refugee policies at local, national, and international levels.
Friend, follow and subscribe to Sprague library!