Communication Sciences and Disorders

"Being intelligible to a listener means getting your message across and improving speech intelligibility is one of the most common goals for clients working with a speech-language pathologist (SLP)..."

"Professional Issues in Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology is a singularly comprehensive resource for students in speech-language pathology and audiology as they prepare for their professional careers"

"With major content updates and many more supporting online materials, the seventh edition of the Treatment Resource Manual for Speech-Language Pathology is an accessible and reliable source of basic treatment information and techniques for a wide range of speech and language disorders..."

"This text provides clinical insights to assist people who stutter with their ability to communicate and enhance their quality of life"

"This Handbook is a comprehensive reference on childrens speech, including speech development and strategies for prevention and treatment of various speech disorders"

This resource-packed, functional, and inspirational professional guidebook provides SLPs and related professionals, such as physical therapists, occupational therapists, and psychologists, with a go-to manual for their ambitions of entrepreneurship.

Whether you're working with a new student and don't know where to begin, or you have a long-term client and you're feeling stuck, Treatment Companion: A Speech-Language Pathologist's Intervention Guide for Students With Developmental Delays and Disorders provides ideas and strategies for a variety of common language goals.

This accessible book provides an overview of fluency disorders. Written by a team of speech-language pathology researchers and practitioners in India, it examines the concepts of fluency and disfluency with illustrative examples in English and Indian languages.

This book focuses on appreciating the different language and communication style of autistic youngsters and discusses how therapists can respond to and support this to get the best out of their practice.

This book de-mystifies supervision in speech and language therapy, focusing on the practicalities and pitfalls. Clinicians are encouraged to reflect on their individual style as a supervisor and the tools they utilise to make a successful supervisory relationship.

This book comprises 50 tips for speech and language therapy practitioners who are new to, or less experienced in, working with adult voice disorders.

Clinical Applications of Linguistics to Speech-Language Pathology is a practical guide that provides linguistically grounded approaches to clinical practice. It introduces key linguistic disciplines and discusses how they form a basis for assessment and treatment of individuals with communication differences or disorders.

Adult autism assessment is a new and fast-growing clinical area, for which professionals often feel ill-equipped. Autistic adults are often misdiagnosed which has enormous implications for their mental health. This accessible and comprehensive adult autism assessment handbook covers the most up to date research and best practice around adult autism assessment, centering the person's internal experiences and sense-making in clinical assessment, rather than subjective observation, thus providing the clinician with a truly paradigm shifting Neuro-Affirmative approach to autism assessment.

'My book showcases positive role models for black people and those within our wider dyslexic community and society, to inspire current and future generations.' This is a raw, honest and enlightening collection of experiences, across the black and dyslexic community, giving an intersectional perspective on topics including the education system, the workplace, daily life and entrepreneurship."

"Not all cochlear implant cases present in a traditional manner, which calls for audiologists to seek a second opinion in more intricate and difficult cases. Complex Cochlear Implant Cases: Management and Troubleshooting offers both new and experienced cochlear implant audiologists the opportunity to tap into the knowledge and experience of skilled colleagues that have handled unique and challenging clinical situations with current or potential implant recipients."

"Designed to meet the distinctive needs of todays undergraduates, Fundamentals of Anatomy and Physiology of Speech, Language, and Hearing provides an accessible and visually engaging introduction to the anatomy and physiology of the major body systems involved in the processes of speech-language pathology. Authors Glen M. Tellis and M. Hunter Manasco use their experiences in the classroom to inform their content-forward and technology-driven approach to instruction."

"The Communication Disorders Casebook: Learning by Example, Second Edition focuses on current issues and trends in speech-language pathology (SLP) clinical practice. New and advanced students as well as practitioners will benefit from this comprehensive collection of real-world examples provided by experienced clinicians and scholars."

"Individuals with complex communication needs who use Augmentative and Alternative Communication (AAC) frequently encounter barriers that limit their ability to achieve their full potential in communication and in life..."

"Through clinical cases and interviews with working professionals, Case Studies in Pediatric Dysphagia takes an original approach to understanding pediatric dysphagia. With an increased need for clinical education, this text covers topics such as differential diagnosis, medical terminology, and goal setting..."

"Having a strong grasp of English grammar and all of its intricacies is vital for speech-language pathologists. Grammar Guide for Speech-Language Pathologists: Steps to Analyzing Complex Syntax provides an up-to-date, comprehensive, and clear workbook to analyzing the structural foundation of language..."

"Discourse Analysis in Adults With and Without Communication Disorders: A Resource for Clinicians and Researchers provides state-of-the-art information about discourse analysis with sections on Aging, Aphasia, Cognitive Communication Disorders, and Neurodegenerative Diseases. Section are introduced and organized by expert clinical researchers, and contain"--

This title offers a detailed yet streamlined introduction to motor speech disorders. It features a historical review of motor speech disorders, providing useful context for understanding the technology and methodology modern speech-language pathologists employ for evaluation and treatment today.

"The book covers the diagnosis and evaluation of a wide range of communication disorders in adults and children"--

"This book is designed for the undergraduate student with an interest in entering the field of communication sciences and disorders. INTRO is an introduction to the professions of speech-language pathology and audiology and the underlying discipline on which they are based, communication sciences and disorders. This text provides essential information concerning a wide range of communication disorders found in children and adults"--

Clinical Cases in Augmentative and Alternative Communication provides a concise introduction to the rapidly expanding field of augmentative and alternative communication (AAC). It brings together internationally renowned experts in the field to discuss its application and outline key principles of intervention to support communication using AAC.

Deaf People and Society is an authoritative text that emphasizes the complexities of being D/deaf, DeafBlind, Deaf-Disabled, or hard of hearing, drawing on perspectives from psychology, education, and sociology.

Humans' development of literacy has been a recent focus of intense research across the reading, cognitive, and neuroscience fields. But for individuals who are deaf--who rely greatly on their visual skills for language and learning--the findings don't necessarily apply, leaving theoretical and practical gaps in approaches to their education. Assessing Literacy in Deaf Individuals: Neurocognitive Measurement and Predictors narrows these gaps by introducing the VL2 Toolkit, a comprehensive test battery for assessing the academic skills and cognitive functioning of deaf persons who use sign language.

This book provides a solid foundation in anatomical and physiological principles relevant to communication sciences and disorders.

This book includes foundational knowledge of general neuroanatomy with a focus on neuroanatomy that is relevant to speech language pathology and audiology.

This text represents an excellent summary of the current state of knowledge in otology.

This comprehensive guide on hearing loss and the law, examines claims, court cases, and the evolution of hearing conservation.

Tinnitus: A Multidisciplinary Approach provides a broad account of tinnitus and hyperacusis, detailing the latest research and developments in clinical management, incorporating insights from audiology, otology, psychology, psychiatry and auditory neuroscience.

This book introduces students to all aspects of the assessment, diagnosis and treatment of clients with developmental and acquired communication disorders through a series of structured case studies.

Counseling in the field of communication disorders is an essential dimension of professional practice, but just what it entails is often a bit of a mystery. Counseling in Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology: Reconstructing Personal Narratives addresses this common concern of students and practitioners by illustrating how to integrate the concept of counseling into clinical practice.

6th edition

This book takes the reader through the history of audiology in the schools, focusing on legislation that has shaped the face of school-based audiology as it is practiced throughout the United States.