EconomicsFinanceMarketing & DemographicsCensus (U.S.)Statistical Resources
This is the "Home" page of the "Business Research" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Sprague Library
Library Home | Articles & Databases | Books & Media | Guides & Resources | Services |

Business Research   Tags: business, business news, company research, industry research, ratios  

Last Updated: Apr 21, 2015 URL: http://montclair.libguides.com/business Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Reference Librarian

William Vincenti
Contact Info
Reference Desk: 973-655-4291
Send Email
 

Introduction

The aim of this guide is to familiarize students and faculty here at MSU with the business research sources available in the Sprague Library. It will not be an exhaustive list, but will touch on the major kinds of tools the library provides. Use the table of contents below to explore the guide. The table of contents has summaries of what is covered in each section.

Suggestions for additions to the guide, ways to make it clearer or for new resources that would add to the depth
of the library's collection are welcome.

Thank you,
William Vincenti

 

Contents

Industry Research Basics:
     1.  Identify industries to research.
     2. 
Find industry overviews.
     3. 
Identify the major companies in each industry.
     4. 
Find financial information for individual companies.
     5. 
Search for macroeconomic factors influencing an industry.

Ratios:
     Sources listing financial ratios in the Sprague Library, some focus on ratios for individual companies
     while others list ratios for entire industries or business segments.

Articles & Databases:
     Descriptions of the main journal indexes and business data sources available at the Sprague Library.

Statistics:
     Free sources of economic and industrial statistics online.

JerseyClicks

The resources in this guide that are listed as (MSU Only)
can only be accessed from off campus
by current MSU Students, Faculty and Staff;
anyone else will have to come to the library. 

Some of these resources are available through JerseyClicks,
which is a program funded through the NJ State Library
that makes about 30 research databases and journal indexes available
to anyone with a library card from a library in NJ.

 

Business Databases Available through JerseyClicks:

  • Business Source Elite  |  ReferenceUSA
  • Job and Career Accelerator  |  Regional Business News
  • JerseyClicks
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip