Research Guides: Physics and Astronomy: Databases

Recommended Databases and Data Collections

Astrophysics Data System (ADS)
The SAO/NASA Astrophysics Data System (ADS) is a digital library portal for researchers in astronomy and physics, operated by the Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory (SAO) under a NASA grant. The ADS maintains three bibliographic databases containing more than 13 million records covering publications in Astronomy and Astrophysics, Physics, and the arXiv e-prints.

ArXiv
- This link opens in a new window
Archive of over 1 million preprint and postprint articles in physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance and statistics. From Cornell University.

INSPIRE-HEP
High Energy Physics Database. Run by a collaboration of CERN, DESY, Fermilab, IHEP, IN2P3, and SLAC. Citations only, full-text can be retrieved via Journals A-Z or through Interlibrary Loan.

IEEE Electronic Library (IEL)
Contains one-third of the world’s current literature in electrical engineering, communications, and computing. IEL provides researchers, engineers, and students access to over 1.2 million articles from 203 highly-cited IEEE journals, magazines, and transactions, more than 4 million conference papers from as far back as 1936, and approximately 4,900 IEEE standards documents in key technology fields.
Science Database
Full text and images for the leading periodicals in science and technology. Subject coverage includes computers, engineering, physics, telecommunications, and transportation.
ScienceDirect
Database of more than 1400 scientific journals. Recent years of about half of the journals are available in full text.
Scopus
Scopus indexes content from 24,600 active journal titles and 5,000 publishers and generates precise citation results, detailed researcher profiles, and other useful data. Includes peer-reviewed literature from scientific, technical, medical, and social science (including arts and humanities) journals, books and conference proceedings.
Springer LINK
Journals published by Springer Verlag & Kluwer. Covers sciences, business & law. Full text.
Web of Science
Contains the three citation indexes that have existed since the early 1960s: Arts & Humanities, Science and Social Science Citation Index. Web of Science also tracks citations in Medline, newer sources and publications in Korea and Russia.