Skip to Main Content
Search Library Catalog for Books & Media
Search the Library Catalog
Books available @ Sprague Library
Essential Japanese Phrasebook & Dictionary (eBook)
Annotation Essential Japanese Phrase Book & Dictionary teaches you the practical phrases and expressions needed for common, everyday interactions in Japan in a way that's clear, concise, accessible and enjoyable. Key features of this Japanese phrasebook and dictionary include:* Over 2,000 practical sentences* A practical English-Japanese dictionary* Essential expressions used for meeting people, starting conversations, and asking and replying to simple questions* Manga illustrations to illustrate key phrases and situations* A pronunciation guide and Japanese grammar notes explain the basic sounds and sentence patterns of the Japanese language* Japan travel tips, cultural notes and much more!All Japanese words and phrases are in Romanized form as well as the Japanese script. Basic grammar and pronunciation notes get you speaking right away, and tips on culture and etiquette allow you to interact with Japanese without making serious blunders. Whether you're a novice or have some experience with the language, this is a reference you'll turn to again and again when visiting Japan and interacting with Japanese people.
Publication Date: 2017
Japanese Picture Dictionary (eBook)
A fun and helpful resource for anyone interested in learning some Japanese--whether you're 5 or 100!This picture dictionary covers the 1,500 most useful Japanese words and phrases. Each word and sentence is given in Japanese script--with a Romanized version to help you pronounce it correctly--along with the English meaning. The words are grouped into 40 different themes or topics, including basics like meeting someone new and using public transportation to culture-specific topics like celebrating Japanese holidays and eating Japanese food. This colorful picture dictionary includes:Hundreds of color photographs1,500 Japanese words and phrases40 different topics--from social media and WiFi to paying and countingExample sentences showing how the words are usedCompanion online audio recordings by native Japanese speakers of all the vocabulary and sentencesAn introduction to Japanese pronunciation and grammarAn index to allow you to quickly look up wordsJapanese Picture Dictionary makes language learning more fun than traditional phrasebooks. This resource is perfect for beginners of all ages--curious kids, visual learners and future travelers to Japan.
Publication Date: 2019
Tuttle Mini Japanese Dictionary (eBook) by Yuki Shimada (Compiled by); Taeko Takeyama (Revised by)
This is a completely up-to-date Japanese mini dictionary. Tuttle Mini Japanese Dictionary is ideal for any application where a handy and portable dictionary is required. Intended for use by tourists, students, and business people traveling to Japan who wish to learn Japanese prior to their trip or as a Japanese language study reference. Mini Japanese Dictionary is an essential tool for communicating in Japanese. It's useful pocket-sized format and easy-to read type will make translating Japanese much easier. In addition to being an excellent English to Japanese dictionary and Japanese to English dictionary Mini Japanese Dictionary contains important notes on the Japanese language, Japanese grammar and Japanese pronunciation. All Japanese words are written in a Romanized form as well as Japanese script (kanji and kana) so that in the case of difficulties the book can simply be shown to the person the user is trying to communicate with. This mini dictionary contains the following essential features: Bidirectional Japanese-English and English-Japanese. Over 13,000 essential Japanese words, as well as useful Japanese expressions and idioms. Headwords printed in blue for quick and easy reference. A basic overview of Japanese grammar and pronunciation. All the latest Japanese social media and computer terms.
Publication Date: 2014
Browse the Library Catalog:
The Visual Culture of Meiji Japan (eBook) by Ayelet Zohar (Editor); Alison J. Miller (Editor)
This volume examines the visual culture of Japan's transition to modernity, from 1868 to the first decades of the twentieth century. Through this important moment in Japanese history, contributors reflect on Japan's transcultural artistic imagination vis-a-vis the discernment, negotiation, assimilation, and assemblage of diverse aesthetic concepts and visual pursuits. The collected chapters show how new cultural notions were partially modified and integrated to become the artistic methods of modern Japan, based on the hybridization of major ideologies, visualities, technologies, productions, formulations, and modes of representation. The book presents case studies of creative transformation demonstrating how new concepts and methods were perceived and altered to match views and theories prevalent in Meiji Japan, and by what means different practitioners negotiated between their existing skills and the knowledge generated from incoming ideas to create innovative modes of practice and representation that reflected the specificity of modern Japanese artistic circumstances. The book will be of interest to scholars working in art history, Japanese studies, Asian studies, and Japanese history, as well as those who use approaches and methods related to globalization, cross-cultural studies, transcultural exchange, and interdisciplinary studies.
Publication Date: 2021
The Artist in Edo
During the early modern period in Japan, peace and prosperity allowed elite and popular arts and culture to flourish in Edo (Tokyo) and Kyoto. The historic first showing outside Japan of Itō Jakuchū's thirty-scroll series titled Colorful Realm of Living Beings (ca. 1757-66) in 2012 prompted a reimagining of artists and art making in this context. These essays give attention to Jakuchū's spectacular series as well as to works by a range of contemporary artists. Selected contributions address issues of professional roles, including copying and imitation, display and memorialization, and makers' identities. Some explore the new form of painting, ukiyo-e, in the context of the urban society that provided its subject matter and audiences; others discuss the spectrum of amateur and professional Edo pottery and interrelationships between painting and other media. Together, they reveal the fluidity and dynamism of artists' identities during a time of great significance in the country's history. Published by the National Gallery of Art, Center for Advanced Study in the Visual Arts/Distributed by Yale University Press
Call Number: N7353.5 .A785 2018
Kyary Pamyu Pamyu Artworks 2011-2016 by Steve Nakamura
Now that the 5-year mark has been reached since Kyary Pamyu Pamyu made a sensational debut in 2011. This condensed collection is a visual chronicle of her artworks during the past five years, with full of her "kawaii (cute in Japanese)" CD jacket designs. Art Director Steve Nakamura, who has directed 18 titles of Kyary's CD jacket designs, compiled this visual collection with some 300 pictures including not only her disclosed artworks but never-before-published images. This is the book to appreciate Kyary's active work since her debut and her world view of fantasy portrayed through her music.
Call Number: N7359.K986 A4 2016
Japanese Design by Patricia J. Graham
**Winner,Choice Magazine Outstanding Academic Title 2015** This Japanese design book presents the arts, aesthetics and culture of Japan with over 160 stunning color photos and extensive historical and cultural commentary. The Japanese sensibility often possesses an intuitive, emotional appeal, whether it's a silk kimono, a carefully raked garden path, an architectural marvel, a teapot, or a contemporary work of art. This allure has come to permeate the entire culture of Japan--it is manifest in the most mundane utensil and snack food packaging, as well as in Japanese architecture and fine art. InJapanese Design, Asian art expert and author Patricia J. Graham explains how Japanese aesthetics based on fine craftsmanship and simplicity developed. Her unusual, full-color presentation reveals this design aesthetic in an absorbing way. Focusing on ten elements of Japanese design, Graham explores how visual qualities, the cultural parameters and the Japanese religious traditions of Buddhism and Shinto have impacted the appearance of its arts. Japanese Design is a handbook for the millions of us who have felt the special allure of Japanese art, culture and crafts. Art and design fans and professionals have been clamoring for this--a book that fills the need for an intelligent, culture-rich overview of what Japanese design is and means. Topics explored inJapanese Design include: The Aesthetics of Japanese Design The Cultural Parameters of Japanese Design Early Promoters of "Artistic Japan" 1830s-1950s
Publication Date: 2014-09-30
Japan and the Culture of the Four Seasons by Haruo Shirane
Elegant representations of nature and the four seasons populate a wide range of Japanese genres and media-from poetry and screen painting to tea ceremonies, flower arrangements, and annual observances. In Japan and the Culture of the Four Seasons, Haruo Shirane shows how, when, and why this practice developed and explicates the richly encoded social, religious, and political meanings of this imagery. Refuting the belief that this tradition reflects Japan's agrarian origins and supposedly mild climate, Shirane traces the establishment of seasonal topics to the poetry composed by the urban nobility in the eighth century. After becoming highly codified and influencing visual arts in the tenth and eleventh centuries, the seasonal topics and their cultural associations evolved and spread to other genres, eventually settling in the popular culture of the early modern period. Contrasted with the elegant images of nature derived from court poetry was the agrarian view of nature based on rural life. The two landscapes began to intersect in the medieval period, creating a complex, layered web of competing associations. Shirane discusses a wide array of representations of nature and the four seasons in many genres, originating in both the urban and rural perspective: textual (poetry, chronicles, tales), cultivated (gardens, flower arrangement), material (kimonos, screens), performative (noh, festivals), and gastronomic (tea ceremony, food rituals). He reveals how this kind of "secondary nature," which flourished in Japan's urban architecture and gardens, fostered and idealized a sense of harmony with the natural world just at the moment it was disappearing. Illuminating the deeper meaning behind Japanese aesthetics and artifacts, Shirane clarifies the use of natural images and seasonal topics and the changes in their cultural associations and function across history, genre, and community over more than a millennium. In this fascinating book, the four seasons are revealed to be as much a cultural construction as a reflection of the physical world.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2012-03-20
Browse the Library Catalog:
A History of Popular Culture in Japan by E. Taylor Atkins
The phenomenon of 'Cool Japan' is one of the distinctive features of global popular culture of the millennial age. A History of Popular Culture in Japan provides the first historical and analytical overview of popular culture in Japan from its origins in the 17th century to the present day, using it to explore broader themes of conflict, power, identity and meaning in Japanese history. E. Taylor Atkins shows how Japan is one of the earliest sites for the development of mass-produced, market-oriented cultural products consumed by urban middle and working classes. The best-known traditional arts and culture of Japan- no theater, monochrome ink painting, court literature, poetry and indigenous music-inhabited a world distinct from that of urban commoners, who fashioned their own expressive forms and laid the groundwork for today's 'gross national cool.' Popular culture was pivotal in the rise of Japanese nationalism, imperialism, militarism, postwar democracy and economic development. Offering historiographical and analytical frameworks for understanding its subject, A History of Popular Culture in Japan synthesizes the latest scholarship from a variety of disciplines. It is a vital resource for students of Japanese cultural history wishing to gain a deeper understanding of Japan's contributions to global cultural heritage.
Call Number: DS821 .A755 2017
Publication Date: 2017-10-19
Handbook to Life in Medieval and Early Modern Japan by William E. Deal
Captures the essence of life in great civilizations of the past. Each volume in this series examines a single civilization, and covers everything from landmark events and monumental achievements to geography and everyday life.
Call Number: DS822.2 .D33 2006
Publication Date: 2005-11-01
Ways of Forgetting, Ways of Remembering by John W. Dower
John Dower is a leading historian on modern Japan. These new reflections look at key 20th century moments in relations between the US and Japan, focusing on Japanese perceptions of the US: how the Japanese saw Hiroshima, American occupation and changes in their lives. Readers also catch a glimpse of Japanese attitudes towards their war crimes. Finally, Dower offers blistering comments on George W. Bush's attempts to justify the invasion of Iraq by citing Dower's own work.
Call Number: DS889.15 .D69 2012
Publication Date: 2012-07-31
Browse the Library Catalog:
Language, Nation, Race : Linguistic Reform in Meiji Japan (1868-1912) (eBook) by Atsuko Ueda
A free open access ebook is available upon publication. Learn more atwww.luminosoa.org. Language, Nation, Race explores the various language reforms at the onset of Japanese modernity, a time when a "national language" (kokugo) was produced to standardize Japanese. Faced with the threat of Western colonialism, Meiji intellectuals proposed various reforms to standardize the Japanese language in order to quickly educate the illiterate masses. This book liberates these language reforms from the predetermined category of the "nation," for such a notion had yet to exist as a clear telos to which the reforms aspired. Atsuko Ueda draws on, while critically intervening in, the vast scholarship of language reform that engaged with numerous works of postcolonial and cultural studies. She examines the first two decades of the Meiji period, with specific focus on the issue of race, contending that no analysis of imperialism or nationalism is possible without it.
Publication Date: 2021-06-01
Reading Japan by Lidia Tanaka; Teresa Castelvetere
Reading Japan offers the student readings on geopolitics, education, language, Japanese-ness and ethnicity, gender and history, with the dual aims of broadening students' understanding of Japan and of providing opportunities to read authentic Japanese texts. Each chapter contains an essay in English, a selection of readings in Japanese, comprehensive vocabulary lists, discussion questions and a list of sources and additional readings. Pitched at Intermediate to Advanced and B1-C1 level, this reader is not simply a language textbook; it offers students a chance to learn and think in depth about Japan as they build confidence in reading real-world Japanese texts.
Call Number: PL539.15.J35 C37 2020
Basic Japanese by Eriko Sato
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. Master essential language skills to build your confidence in basic Japanese Whether you are learning on your own with a textbook or taking a beginning class, Practice Makes Perfect: Basic Japanese will support your study and build your confidence in your new language. Each chapter of this proven guide focuses on essential vocabulary and key grammar concepts, illustrated with clear examples. You will then learn to communicate in authentic Japanese: how to meet new people, engage in small talk, express ideas, and more. More than 230 entertaining exercises will help you practice your new skills, including a new chapter devoted entirely to review. And this second edition is also accompanied by flashcards and audio recordings, available via app, that will provide a new dimension and flexibility to your study. Practice Makes Perfect: Basic Japanese will help you master: * High-frequency vocabulary * Core grammar concepts * Japanese pronunciation and writing systems * Everyday Japanese presented in Japanese characters and phonetic translation
Call Number: PL539.5.E5 S274 2019eBook
The Social Life of the Japanese Language by Shigeko Okamoto; Janet S. Shibamoto-Smith
Why are different varieties of the Japanese language used differently in social interaction, and how are they perceived? How do honorifics operate to express diverse affective stances, such as politeness? Why have issues of gendered speech been so central in public discourse, and how are they reflected and refracted in language use as social practice? This book examines Japanese sociolinguistic phenomena from a fascinating new perspective, focusing on the historical construction of language norms and its relationship to actual language use in contemporary Japan. This socio-historically sensitive account stresses the different choices which have shaped Japanese and Western sociolinguistics and how varieties of Japanese, honorifics and politeness, and gendered language have emerged in response to the socio-political landscape in which a modernizing Japan found itself.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2016-07-05
Browse the Library Catalog:
The Values in Numbers : Reading Japanese Literature in a Global Information Age (eBook)
"Ideas about how to study and understand cultural history-particularly literature-are rapidly changing as new digital archives and tools for searching them become available. This is not the first information age, however, to challenge ideas about how and why we value literature and the role numbers might play in this process. The Values in Numbers tells the longer history of this evolving global conversation from the perspective of Japan and maps its potential futures for the study of Japanese literature and world literature more broadly. Hoyt Long offers both a reinterpretation of modern Japanese literature through computational methods and an introduction to the history, theory, and practice of looking at literature through numbers. He weaves explanations of these methods and their application to literature together with critical reflection on the kinds of reasoning such methodologies facilitate. Chapters guide readers through increasingly complex techniques while making novel arguments about topics of fundamental concern, including the role of quantitative thinking in Japanese literary criticism; the canonization of modern literature in print and digital media; the rise of psychological fiction as a genre; the transnational circulation of modernist forms; and discourses of race under empire. Long models how computational methods can be applied outside English-language contexts and to languages written in non-Latin scripts. Drawing from fields as diverse as the history of science, book history, world literature, and critical race theory, this book demonstrates the value of numbers in literary study and the values literary critics can bring to the reading of difference in numbers"
Colonizing Language (eBook) by Christina Yi
Christina Yi investigates linguistic nationalism in the formation of literary canons through an examination of Japanese-language cultural production by Korean and Japanese writers from the 1930s through the 1950s. She challenges conventional understandings of national literature by showing how Japanese language ideology shaped colonial histories.
Publication Date: 2018
Japan Through the Lens of the Tokyo Olympics Open Access (eBook) by Barbara Holthus (Editor); Isaac Gagné (Editor); Wolfram Manzenreiter (Editor); Franz Waldenberger (Editor)
This book situates the 2020 Tokyo Olympics within the social, economic, and political challenges facing contemporary Japan. Using the 2020 Tokyo Olympics as a lens into the city and the country as a whole, the stellar line up of contributors offer hidden insights and new perspectives on the Games. These include city planning, cultural politics, financial issues, language use, security, education, volunteerism, and construction work. The chapters then go on to explore the many stakeholders, institutions, citizens, interest groups, and protest groups involved, and feature the struggle over Tokyo's extreme summer heat, food standards, the implementation of diversity around disabilities, sexual minorities, and technological innovations. Giving short glimpses into the new Olympic sports, this book also analyses the role of these sports in Japanese society. Japan Through the Lens of the Tokyo Olympics will be of huge interest to anyone attending the Olympic Games in Tokyo 2020. It will also be useful to students and scholars of the Olympics and the sociology of sport, as well as Japanese culture and society.
Publication Date: 2020
The Social Life of Kimono by Sheila Cliffe; Joanne B. Eicher (Contribution by)
The kimono is an iconic garment with a history as rich and colourful as the textiles from which it is crafted. Deeply associated with Japanese culture both past and present, it has often been thought of as a highly gendered, rigidly traditional and unchanging national costume. This book challenges that perception, revealing the nuanced meanings and messages behind the kimono from the point of view of its wearers and producers, many of whom - both men and women - see the garment as a vehicle for self-expression. Taking a material culture approach, The Social Life of Kimono is the first study to combine the history of the kimono as a fashionable garment with an in-depth exploration of its multifaceted role today on both the street and the catwalk. Through case studies covering historical advertising campaigns, fashion magazines, interviews with contemporary kimono designers, large scale and small craft producers, and consumers who choose to wear them, The Social Life of Kimono gives a unique insight into making and meaning of this complex garment.
Call Number: GT1560 .C59 2017
Friend, follow and subscribe to Sprague library!