Research Guides: Geographic Information Systems &amp; Remote Sensing: Home

Suggested Databases

ScienceDirect
Database of more than 1400 scientific journals. Recent years of about half of the journals are available in full text.
ACM Digital Library
Index to the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) publications. Full text available for most ACM journals, magazines & transactions.
Environment Complete
Full-text articles on topics such as agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, natural resources, marine and freshwater science, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning & more.
IEEE Electronic Library (IEL)
Contains one-third of the world’s current literature in electrical engineering, communications, and computing. IEL provides researchers, engineers, and students access to over 1.2 million articles from 203 highly-cited IEEE journals, magazines, and transactions, more than 4 million conference papers from as far back as 1936, and approximately 4,900 IEEE standards documents in key technology fields.
Web of Science
Contains the three citation indexes that have existed since the early 1960s: Arts & Humanities, Science and Social Science Citation Index. Web of Science also tracks citations in Medline, newer sources and publications in Korea and Russia.

Essentials of geographic information systems by Open Textbook Library
- This link opens in a new window
Publication Date: 2011
Freely available introductory GIS textbook from the Open Textbook Library.
Practical Handbook of Remote Sensing by Samantha Lavender; Andrew Lavender
Publication Date: 2015
A Beginner's Guide to the World of Satellite DataOver a thousand active satellites are in orbit around the Earth with applications including navigation, the transmission of data and satellite remote sensing; a space-based technology providing data accessible to everyone.
GIS in Sustainable Urban Planning and Management by Martin van Maarseveen (Editor); Javier Martinez (Editor); Johannes Flacke (Editor)
- This link opens in a new window
Publication Date: 2018
GIS in Sustainable Urban Planning and Management: A Global Perspective, explores and illustrates the capacity that geo-information and GIS have to inform practitioners and other participants in the processes of the planning and management of urban regions.

National Academies Press
Access to nearly 6,000 free ebooks in the sciences. (Free registration is required to download PDF files.)

Ebook Central
eBooks on a variety of subjects.
Current MSU NetID required for access on or off campus.
eBook Collection (EBSCOhost)
E-books including reference works, scholarly monographs, literature and fiction. Full text.