Skip to Main Content
Search Library Catalog for Books & Media
Search the Library Catalog
How to find books about ESL teaching
Content-Based Classroom, Second Edition by Ann Snow (Editor); Donna Brinton (Editor)
The long-awaited new edition of the classic 1997 text by Snow and Brinton is now a complete revision that includes international settings and new models like CLIL and EMI. Three chapters are updates of the original, while the remaining 22 chapters are new. Chapters 3-25 are structured to include a glimpse into a CBI classroom through a scenario that brings the focus of the chapter to life. Each scenario is followed by a definition of the topic, a literature review, a discussion of key issues and challenges, and observations/activities and principles that underlie each topic. This edition also features a research agenda in each chapter to help encourage CBI research for coming decades. The volume has six parts. Part I traces the history of CBI, proposes a classification of models and varieties, discusses ongoing challenges, and provides research support for CBI. Part II focuses on programs, curriculum, and lesson designs, featuring chapters on the Six Ts approach, strategic planning, and scaffolding strategies. Part III takes up innovative applications of CBI and includes a variety of models in diverse CBI settings. Part IV establishes connections between CBI and other approaches like ESP, EAP, and corpus linguistics. Part V discusses assessment in CBI, and Part VI explores ongoing challenges.
Call Number: PE1128.A2 C688 2017
Publication Date: 2017-04-27
The Routledge Handbook of Second Language Acquisition by Susan M. Gass (Editor); Alison Mackey (Editor)
The Routledge Handbook of Second Language Acquisition brings together fifty leading international figures in the field to produce a state-of-the-art overview of Second Language Acquisition. The Handbook covers a wide range of topics related to Second Language Acquisition: language in context, linguistic, psycholinguistic, and neurolinguistic theories and perspectives, skill learning, individual differences, L2 learning settings, and language assessment. All chapters introduce the reader to the topic, outline the core issues, then explore the pedagogical application of research in the area and possible future development. The Routledge Handbook of Second Language Acquisition is an essential resource for all those studying and researching Second Language Acquisition.
Call Number: P118.2 .R68 2014
Publication Date: 2013-08-13
Friend, follow and subscribe to Sprague library!