Research Guides: EDFD 503 Methods of Research: Find Articles

Article and Database Research Skills Inventory

Below is a list of things you should be able to do when searching for articles in a database such as ERIC. Get in touch with a librarian if you need help!

Selecting an appropriate database
Basic searching skills (boolean operators, etc.)
Read a database record
Recognize and use subject searching
Recognize and use limits
Use database features such as citing, emailing, permalinking, etc.
Use Sprague Library's Journal A-Z List

ERIC
Articles & documents about education, including conference papers, books, reports, dissertations, theses, and policy papers. Some full-text. ERIC training materials can be found here: ERIC Training.
Education Research Complete
Provides indexing, abstracts and some full text for journals, books and education-related conference papers. Topics include all levels of education and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education and testing.
Education Database
Journals in education and related fields. Full text.
You can also search Proquest Education by searching Proquest Central.
Teacher Reference Center
Search indexes and abstracts for more than 270 of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators using EBSCOhost.

The following have some education-related content but also cover areas like health, social sciences, humanities, business, technology and more.

JSTOR
Collection of multidisciplinary academic journals, books and primary sources. Recent issues not always available. Full text.
SAGE Journals
Sage Premier includes over 600 peer-reviewed full-text journals with content extending back to 1999 that covers a variety of subject areas including business, humanities, social sciences, science and technology, medicine, etc.
ProQuest Central
Multidisciplinary database covering many subject areas. Includes scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, reports & videos.
Project Muse
Full text database of 160+ electronic journals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences.
Academic Search Complete
Index to articles of general academic interest. Some full text.
Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts (ASSIA)
Index to articles in the areas of health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education