Skip to Main Content
Points of View Reference Center
Provides a series of essays that present multiple sides of a current issue. Provides 200 topics, each with an overview (objective background/description), point (argument) and counterpoint (opposing argument).
US Newsstream provides access to over 1,000 news sources with coverage stretching back into the 1980s. These sources include the Los Angeles Times, the Chicago Tribune, and the Wall Street Journal.
Statistical Abstract of the United States
Statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States.
Older editions are available from the U.S. Census Bureau
Instead of using Wikipedia, you can locate background information articles in several of the library's encyclopedic and ebook databases:
Each weekly report explores a single "hot" issue in the news that covers all sides. Includes charts, graphs and bibliographies. Global Researcher includes monthly single-topic reports on vital world issues. Full text.
Reference eBooks related to Environmental Science and Health & Medicine. Full text.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Reference e-books representing a variety of subject areas including anthropology, business, history, law, literature, medicine, and science. Full text.
Scholarly and Peer-Reviewed Literature
Business Source Complete
Business articles, company & market analyses, SWOT reports, industry profiles & country reports. Some full text & video.
Database of more than 1400 scientific journals. Recent years of about half of the journals are available in full text.
Full-text articles on topics such as agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, natural resources, marine and freshwater science, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning & more.
Environmental Science Database
Full text database covering a range of disciplines related to environmental science. Selected content derived from subject areas such as engineering, biotechnology, bacteriology, atmospheric science, ecology, and biology.
Friend, follow and subscribe to Sprague library!