ARTX320 Dress and Fashion History to 1800

The Metropolitan Museum of Art’s Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History presents a thematic, chronological, and geographical exploration of global art history through The Met collection.

Covers fashion history from ancient times to 21st century.

Over 12,500 artifacts spans 4,500 years of history. It is the world's largest, most comprehensive collection of shoes and footwear-related objects.

The Collection contains an extensive searchable and browseable gallery. The collection's strength is primarily in modern and contemporary women's fashion.

The Costume Institute's collection of more than 35000 costumes and accessories represents five continents and seven centuries of fashionable dress, regional costumes, and accessories for men, women, and children.

Portal provides free access to digital fashion and costume collections across Europe.

Covers over 10,000 costumes, accessories and textiles from the 18th century to the present day, including film and theatre costume.

Ohio State University houses an extensive costume and textiles collection that contains over 11,500 objects from the mid-18th century to contemporary 21st century designers.

Collection Includes 18th, 19th and 20th centuries fashion.

Presents a chronological, geographical, and thematic exploration of global art history from The Met collection. It is a reference, research, and teaching tool conceived for students and scholars of art history. Comprises 300 chronologies and close to 1,000 essays and more than 7,000 works of art.

Includes fashion images

Fashion and Clothing images from printed books and manuscripts in the collections of Smithsonian Institution Libraries.

The collection is particularly strong from the 18th century onwards, containing mainly European fashion and accessories for men and women, together with important items of 19th century dress for the elite in India, China and Japan. The collection also includes a wide range of accessories from across the world, including footwear and hats.

Explore over 400 stories by curators from leading institutions across the world.