Public and Organizational Relations

A Speaker’s Guidebook is a resource for students both in and outside the classroom. This tabbed, comb-bound text covers all topics taught in the introduction to public speaking course.

This two-volume encyclopedia on communication theory is available as an eBook contains more that 300 signed entries which will provide users with an authoritative and and thorough reference resource, both in terms of breadth and depth of coverage.

Provides an overview of the potentially harmful impact of social media communication on corporate reputation, explores examples of companies that have experienced this kind of impact, and describes practical, strategic methods for mitigating and resolving a crisis, including cross-functional team readiness and internal communications training.

Given the high rate of social media use by the public, organizations are compelled to engage with key audiences through these outlets. Social media engagement requires organizations to actively participate with public groups, and this highly-interactive exchange raises a new set of ethical concerns for communicators. In this rapidly changing communications environment, the long-term implications of social media are uncertain, and this book provides the much needed research to understand its impact on audiences and organizations

For charitable organizations seeking relationships with donors, trust is as critical a factor as reputation.Managing the Public's Trust in Non-Profit Organizations analyzes the intricate psychological processes behind trust and philanthropy and applies this knowledge to best-practice guidelines for nonprofits.

The revolutionary power of the internet has accelerated the demand for a totally new kind of business. Stakeholders now demand more open, connected and meaningful relationships with organizations, and the world's leading brands are taking note. But whilst many have the ambition to become 'open businesses', few have the ability to get there. 'The 10 principles of open business' is a serious, challenging, wide-ranging and practical guide to organizational design for the twenty-first century

This updated second edition brings together ethical theory and practice to help readers evaluate and act on ethical problems in organizations. Using a variety of well-known businesses cases, the authors examine ethical concerns and how businesses can operate productively and ethically. The new edition more fully addresses the global financial crisis, globalization, new technologies, and corporate social responsibility, and also gives new case studies on contemporary workplace issues with discussions of companies like Toyota, Google, Enron, and BP. It also covers emerging issues such as outsourcing, sexual harassment, personal privacy, social networking, and bribery.

A strong corporate image has power in a competitive marketplace. Its influence on reputational value and customer decision-making is only now beginning to be understood. Interest in corporate branding is exploding as marketing academics and professionals begin to realise how it can boost business performance in measurable ways. There are few empirical studies available to clarify its basic tenets and fewer still that help us understand corporate branding in different parts of the world. This book tries to rectify that.

"Social media penetrate our lives: Facebook, YouTube, Twitter and many other platforms define daily habits of communication and creative production. This book studies the rise of social media, providing both a historical and a critical analysis of the emergence of major platforms in the context of a rapidly changing ecosystem of connective media."

Focusing on one historic episode per chapter, Ethics for Public Communication is divided into three parts, each dedicated to one of the three major functions of the media within democratic societies: news, persuasion, and entertainment. Authors Clifford Christians, Mark Fackler, and John Ferré, three trusted scholars in the field, discuss media ethics from a communicative perspective, setting the book apart from other texts in the market that simply combine journalism with libertarian theory. Classic media ethics cases, like the publication of Rachel Carson's 1962 book Silent Spring, are covered in tandem with such contemporary cases as the creation of Al-Jazeera English and the controversy surrounding Ice-T's protest song, "Cop Killer.""

An extensive overview offering insight into both the current thinking and some lesser researched topics in the field of health communications.

"What is new about how teenagers communicate through services such as Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram? Do social media affect the quality of teens' lives? In this book, the author, a youth culture and technology expert examines the conventional wisdom regarding teens' use of social media. She explores tropes about identity, privacy, safety, danger, and bullying."

Managing Corporate Social Responsibility offers a strategic, communication-centred approach to integrating CSR into organizations. Discusses ways to maximize the use of social media and traditional media throughout the process Offers international examples drawn from a variety of industries including: The Forest Stewardship Council, Starbucks Coffee, and IKEA. Draws upon theories grounded in various disciplines, including public relations, marketing, media, communication, and business.

"The internet and social media make managing a company's reputation significantly more challenging. While consumers and stakeholders wield new powers to champion and damage brands, many organizations continue to manage their online reputations in a piecemeal and reactive manner. Managing Online Reputation sets out a structured and comprehensive approach for middle to large companies and governments to plan, develop, control, and manage their online reputation in today's fast-paced communications environment.

Organizing Relationships provides the first comprehensive interdisciplinary examination of workplace relationship research, providing readers with a state-of-the-art understanding of workplace relationships.

Should managers and leaders be aloof and dispassionate, with emotions kept clear of decision-making? Hardly. A considerable amount of verifiable research shows that the most effective leadership comes from listening to your emotions, expanding your cultural awareness, and working more positively and collaboratively.

"The most powerful political tool of the modern presidency is control of the message and the image. The Greeks called it 'rhetoric, ' Gilded Age politicians called it 'publicity, ' and some today might call it 'lying, ' but spin is a built-in feature of American democracy. Presidents deploy it to engage, persuade, and mobilize the people--in whom power ultimately resides. Presidential historian David Greenberg recounts the development of the White House spin machine from Teddy Roosevelt to Barack Obama. His sweeping narrative introduces us to the visionary advisers who taught politicians to manage the press, gauge public opinion, and master the successive new media of radio, television, and the Internet.

Public deliberation and group discussion can strengthen the foundations of civil society, even when the groups engaged in debate share a history of animosity. Scholars have begun to study the dialogue sustaining these conversations, especially its power to unite and divide groups and individuals.

"This book establishes a profile of virtue in professional media practice by examining the experiences, perspectives, moral stances and demographic data of two dozen selected exemplars in journalism and public relations. It is based on both extensive personal "life story" interviews conducted with the exemplars between April 2010 and September 2012, and also survey data that assessed the exemplars' personality traits, ethical ideologies, moral reasoning skills and perceived workplace climate. The chosen exemplars span the United States and include Pulitzer Prize winners and trendsetting PR corporate executives, rising stars and established veterans"