Research Guides: Spanish & Portuguese Language Resources: Find Articles

Selected Databases

Following is a selection of databases that contain articles, indexes to articles, eBooks, essays and dissertations in the subject areas of Spanish language and literature. A complete list of library databases can be found here.

Cambridge Histories
Scholarly reference material on a variety of subjects including: economics, language & linguistics, literary studies, music, philosophy, political theory & social theory, religious studies, science, theatre & performing arts. Full text.
Essay and General Literature Index
Access to essays contained in anthologies & collections. Coverage includes the humanities and social sciences.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts
Index to articles, books & dissertations in linguistics, speech, language, hearing pathology & language research.
Literary Reference Center
Comprehensive literary reference database, providing a broad range of information from antiquity to the present day. Full text.
Literature Resource Center
Up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism & reviews on 130,000+ writers in all disciplines, from all time periods & from around the world.
MLA International Bibliography with Full Text
Index to articles & other material on modern languages, literature, linguistics & folklore.
It contains millions of citations as well as full text for 1,000 journals.

Informe
Provides full-text articles from hundreds of the most requested Spanish-language and bilingual periodicals along with 15 key Latin American newspapers.

Selected Journals

Following is a selection of journals that contain articles, books, essays and dissertations in the subject areas of Spanish lanaguage and literature. A complete list of library journals can be found here.

Bulletin of Hispanic Studies (Taylor & Francis/Carfax)

Academic Search Complete 1996 - 2001
Academic Search Premier 1996 - 2001

Bulletin of Spanish Studies

Academic Search Complete 2002 to present (Embargo: 18 months)
Academic Search Premier 2002 to present (Embargo: 18 months)

La corónica: A Journal of Medieval Hispanic Languages, Literatures, and Cultures

Project Muse - Humanities Collection 2000 to present

Espanol Actual

Academic Search Complete 2001 to present

Hispania

JSTOR Arts & Sciences III Archive Collection 1917 - 2013
Project Muse - Humanities Collection 2010 to present

Iberoromania

Communication & Mass Media Complete 2009 to present

Linguistica Espanola Actual

Academic Search Complete 2002 to present

Voices

eScholarship Repository 2014 to present

Voz y letra

Academic Search Complete 2002 to present

And more...

Afro-Hispanic Review
- Literary Reference Center 2000 to present
- Literature Resource Center 2010 to present
Anales de la Literatura Española Contemporánea
- Literature Resource Center 1999 to present (Embargo: 2 years)
Anales Galdosianos
- Project Muse - Humanities Collection 2011 to present
Bulletin of the comediantes
- Academic Search Complete 2006 to present
- International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text 2006 to present
Castilla : estudios de literatura
- DOAJ: Directory of Open Access Journals 2009 to present
Cervantes: Bulletin of the Cervantes society of America
- Literary Reference Center 2007 to present
- Literature Resource Center 2001 to present
Chasqui
- Academic Search Complete 2009 to present
- Academic Search Premier 2009 to present
CiberLetras: Revista de critíca literaria y de cultura - Journal of literary criticism and culture
- DOAJ: Directory of Open Access Journals 1999 to present
Circe de Clásicos y Modernos
- Academic Search Complete 2002 to present
- DOAJ: Directory of Open Access Journals 2004 to present
Comunicar
- Academic Search Complete 2007 to present
- Communication & Mass Media Complete 2007 to present
Confluencia: Revista Hispánica de Cultura y Literatura
- Academic Search Complete 2004 to present
- Academic Search Premier 2004 to present
Contexto (San Cristóbal)
- DOAJ: Directory of Open Access Journals 2001 to present
Cuadernos de Literatura
- Academic Search Complete 2005 to present
Decimonónica: Revista de Produccion Cultural Hispanica Decimonónica
- DOAJ: Directory of Open Access Journals 2004 to present
Dieciocho: Hispanic Enlightenment
- Academic Search Complete 2006 to present
- Literary Reference Center 2006 to present
Foro Hispanico: Revista Hispanica de los Paises Bajos
- Academic Search Complete 2010 to present
Gestos: Revista de Teoría y Práctica del Teatro Hispánico
- International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text 2008 to present
Hispanic research journal
- Academic Search Complete 2003 to present (Embargo: 1 year)
- Academic Search Premier 2003 to present (Embargo: 1 year)
Hispanófila
- Academic Search Complete 2003 to present
- Academic Search Premier 2003 to present
- Literature Resource Center 2005 to present
Journal of Iberian and Latin-American Studies
- Academic Search Complete 1999 to present (Embargo: 18 months)
- Academic Search Premier 1999 to present (Embargo: 18 months)
- Taylor & Francis 1997 - to present
Latin American Literary Review
- ProQuest Central 1997 - 2004
- ProQuest Research Library Complete 1997 - 2004
LEMIR : Revista de Literatura Española Medieval y del Renacimiento
- DOAJ: Directory of Open Access Journals 1996 to present
Letras Femeninas
- Literature Resource Center 2008 to present
Letr@s Hispanas
- DOAJ: Directory of Open Access Journals 2004 to present
Literatura Mexicana
- Academic Search Complete 2007 to present
Literatura y Lingüística
- DOAJ: Directory of Open Access Journals 1997 to present
- REDALyC 1997 - 2014
- SciELO 1997 to present
Mandorla: Nueva Escritura de las Américas = New Writing From The Americas
- Literature Resource Center 2011 to present
- Referencia Latina 2005 to present
Mester
- EBSCO Open Access Journals 1990 - 2008
- eScholarship Repository 1971 - 2010
Miguel de Cervantes (Great Neck Biography)
- Literary Reference Center 2006
- MAS Ultra - School Edition 2006
- Middle Search Plus 2006
- Primary Search 2006
Nuevo Texto Crítico
- Project Muse - Humanities Collection 2008 to present
Ogigia. Revista Electrónica de Estudios Hispánicos
- DOAJ: Directory of Open Access Journals 2007 to present
Piedra y Canto. Cuadernos del CELIM
- Academic Search Complete 2005 to present
Revista Chilena de literatura
- Academic Search Complete 2007 to present
- DOAJ: Directory of Open Access Journals 2002 to present
- REDALyC 2005 - 2014
- SciELO 2004 to present
Revista de crítica literaria latinoamericana
- JSTOR Arts & Sciences VII Archive Collection 1975 - 2012
- Referencia Latina 1998 - 2012
Revista Hispánica Moderna: Boletin del Instituto de las Espanas
- Academic Search Complete 2007 to present
Referencia Latina 2009 to present

University of Pittsburgh 1939 to present
Revista Letra Magna
- DOAJ: Directory of Open Access Journals 2004 to present
Sesión no Numerada: Revista de Letras y Ficción Audiovisual
- DOAJ: Directory of Open Access Journals 2011 to present
Signos Literarios y Linguisticos
- Academic Search Complete 1999 - 2002
Studia Aurea : Revista de Literatura Española y Teoría Literaria del Renacimiento y Siglo de Oro
- DOAJ: Directory of Open Access Journals 2007 to present
Sur
- LexisNexis Academic 2007 to present
Taller de Letras
- Literature Resource Center 2001 to present
Tejuelo : Didáctica de la Lengua y la Literatura
- DOAJ: Directory of Open Access Journals 2008 to present
Tirant : Butlletí Informatiu i Bibliogràfic de Literatura de Cavalleries
- DOAJ: Directory of Open Access Journals 1998 to present
Tonos Digital : Revista Electrónica de Estudios Filológicos
- DOAJ: Directory of Open Access Journals 2001 to present
- ProQuest Central 2014 to present
- ProQuest Research Library Complete 2014 to present
Variaciones Borges
- Literature Resource Center 2002 to present

How to Cite

Handouts from Sprague Library, links to Excelsior University's Online Writing Lab, and more.

Citing Sources (Montclair State University Center for Writing Excellence)
A collection of resources and information on all major citation styles from the Center for Writing Excellence (CWE).
APA Style Handout - Sprague Library
APA Formatting & Style Guide - Excelsior OWL
APA Style - American Psychological Association
MLA Style Handout - Sprague Library
MLA Formatting & Style Guide - Excelsior OWL
Chicago Style Handout - Sprague Library
Chicago Formatting & Style Guide - Excelsior OWL
Chicago Manual of Style Online
AMA Manual of Style: A Guide for Authors and Editors (11th Edition, eBook)
Full manual of style, available online.
AMA Citation Style (American Medical Association) - St. Catherine University
Citing Sources Research Guide
A guide to attributing sources in footnotes, in-text citations & bibliographies
EndNote Online
Register for an account through EndNote Online. Please use your Montclair State University e-mail address for verification purposes.