University Galleries

Though the Filipino American population has increased numerically in many areas of the United States, especially since the influx of professional immigrants in the wake of the 1965 Immigration Act, their impact on schools and related educational institutions has rarely been documented and examined. The Other Students: Filipino Americans, Education, and Power is the first book of its kind to focus specifically on Filipino Americans in education.

As the first international anthology of Filipina writers published in the United States, BABAYLAN reflects the complex history of a people whose roots have stretched to both sides of the globe. The voices represented in this collection offer a broad and varied perspective on the Filipina writer whose diasporic existence is a living, breathing bridge, not only between countries but also generations, as strong voices from the past fuel realities of the future.

An award-winning writer takes a groundbreaking look at the experience and psyche of the Asian American male. Alex Tizon landed in an America that saw Asian women as sexy and Asian men as sexless. Immigrating from the Philippines as a young boy, everything he saw and heard taught him to be ashamed of his face, his skin color, his height. His fierce and funny observations of sex and the Asian American male include his own quest for love during college in the 1980s.

Thirteen interwoven stories tracing the experience of Filipino immigrants in the U.S. from the 1920s onward. The stories are narrated by Buddy, a second generation Filipino-American from Seattle.

Pilipino Cultural Nights at American campuses have been a rite of passage for youth culture and a source of local community pride since the 1980s. These celebrations of national identity through music, dance, and theatrical narratives reemphasize what it means to be Filipino American.

This volume is the first detailed historical study of the major post-1965 immigration of Filipinos to the United States. It provides comprehensive coverage of the recent Filipino American experience, from the pivotal Immigration and Nationality Act of 1965, under which most Filipinos entered this country, to their values and customs, economic and political status, organizational affiliations, and contemporary issues and problems.

The Philippines, America's only former colony in Asia, remains enigmatic to most Americans. What we know of this archipelago is very often condensed, filtered, or distorted by Western preconceptions and interpretations. Here are Filipino and Filipino American writers telling their lives in their own words. Here are stories of passion and betrayal, home and exile, the politics of the self and a nation in search of itself.

This book is titled after the world-renowned poem of Jose Maria Sison, "The Guerrilla Is Like a Poet," which celebrates with natural imagery and in a lyrical way the Filipino people's revolutionary struggle for national liberation and democracy against foreign and feudal oppression and exploitation.

When an esteemed author is murdered, protégé Miguel seeks both answers and the whereabouts of a missing manuscript written to expose corruption among the Philippines' wealthy ruling families, an effort for which Miguel examines his mentor's life and writings.

Matadora is a collection of poems that challenges traditional Fillipina gender norms, beginning with the title which feminizes a word and profession traditionally masculine.

A collection of Carlos Bulosan's short stories, essays, poetry, and correspondence.

The Routledge Handbook of the Contemporary Philippines provides a comprehensive overview of the current political, economic, social, and cultural issues of the country.

This book is a journey into the challenges and achievements of three Filipino-American watercolorists who set precedents in the development of watercolor in the Filipino-American art communities of New York and New Jersey. It is also about human struggle, persistence better understood by first generation immigrants in this country, and heart-warming public recognition in the quest for the American dream through life-changing passion for art.

The debut collection from Patrick Rosal. His poetry rings with the music of no-frills industrial towns of central New Jersey, portraits of hip-hoppers and condemned men alternate with dynamic riffs on the poet's Filipino roots.