Skip to Main Content
Finding Background Information on Your Topic
Once you've chosen your topic, you'll need background information in order to help develop your research question and inform your argumentative claim. Check out the library resources below.
How to Navigate the Library Catalog
Search Library Catalog for Books & Media
Search the Library Catalog
Research Starters are a great way to acquire background information on a variety of subjects, and are accessible right from the 'Find Articles & More' search tab on the homepage of the library website. Simply input a search for your topic or subject, and a relevant Research Starter will appear at the top of the results page.
Databases for Background Information
Contains the text of the Encyclopaedia Britannica plus additional articles & images. Includes Britannica's World Data Analyst & World Atlas. Full text.
Cambridge Companions Complete Collection
Authoritative introductions to writers, artists, historical time periods & events, languages, music, religion and philosophy. Full text available.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Reference e-books representing a variety of subject areas including anthropology, business, history, law, literature, medicine, and science. Full text.
Points of View Reference Center
Provides a series of essays that present multiple sides of a current issue. Provides 200 topics, each with an overview (objective background/description), point (argument) and counterpoint (opposing argument).
Friend, follow and subscribe to Sprague library!