Research Guides: Hospitality &amp; Tourism: Industry Profiles

Industry Profiles

IBISWorld
Detailed reports on over 1,300 US industries that include: supply chain information, historical and forecasted revenue data, operating strengths and weaknesses, analysis of external drivers, the competitive landscape, and industry ratios. Also contains some company-level reports.
IBISWorld Tutorials
Business Source Complete
Over 3,000 industry profiles are available.
Five Forces Analyses can be found in the profiles produced by Marketline (formerly Datamonitor). Do not search for five forces when looking for these, search for the profiles as instructed below.
Also available: SWOT Analyses, Market Research, Company Profiles and Country Reports.

Marketline Industry Profiles
Brief Five Forces analyses can be found in the Industry Profiles published by Marketline. (Formerly Datamonitor.)

ABI/INFORM Collection
ABI/Inform indexes over 1,500 scholarly business journals and trade publications, it's also another good source for industry and company profiles, along with market research reports.
Five Forces Analyses can be found in some of the industry reports.
1. Search for: Industry and Industry report.
2. Document Type: Select Industry Report from this menu on the left side of the screen.
3. Location: Select a country from from this menu if the results need to be further refined.
Business Market Research Collection
Company, industry, economic and geopolitical market research.
Also includes Hoover's Company Profiles, articles from OxResearch and market research from the Snapshots database.
Business Insights: Global
Profiles for over 600 industries, company information and SWOT reports.
This also includes information from reference titles often found in good business collections:
1. International Directory of Company Histories: A large collection of company histories. One of the few that exist.
2. Market Share Reporter and World Market Share Reporter
3. Business Rankings Annual
4. Ward's Business Directory: U.S. Private and Public Companies and also Canada & Mexico.
5. Encyclopedia of Associations
6. Brands and their Companies
Contains: The International Directory of Company Histories, the Market Share Reporter, the Encyclopedia of Associations

Industry Classification Systems

The NAICS and SIC systems are used by the U.S. government to organize data about the economy.

Many company directories can be searched by one or both of these classification systems,
so finding the code for a particular industry can make researching that industry easier.
This will be especially useful when making custom reports by industry with Mergent Online or ReferenceUSA.

The resources in this section can be searched by SIC and NAICS.

Mergent Online
Formerly known as the Moody's Manuals, Mergent Online provides detailed company information for over 10,000 companies. Data runs back 15 years. Search by company name and then by SIC or NAICS to identify companies within a particular industry, then merge the data into a custom report for that industry.
Videos below courtesy of Ohio University and Rasmussen College.
<br />
Reference Solutions
Extensive database of companies in the United States, Canada and around the world. Well-suited for creating lists of companies. Custom lists can be created by location, ZipCode, SIC or NAICS codes, company size, income and a variety of other factors. Information available includes: Company addresses, names of major officers, company profits, number of employees and more.