Skip to Main Content
Find Scholarly Articles on the Harlem Renaissance Using Recommended Databases Listed Below
Cambridge Companions Complete Collection
Authoritative introductions to writers, artists, historical time periods & events, languages, music, religion and philosophy. Full text available.
Gale Literary Sources
Find information on authors and their works, literary movements or genres, book reviews of bestsellers, full text of literary works, journal articles, literature criticism and analysis, reviews, author biographies, and more.
Full text database of 160+ electronic journals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences.
MLA International Bibliography with Full Text
Index to articles & other material on modern languages, literature, linguistics & folklore.
It contains millions of citations as well as full text for 1,000 journals.
Collection of multidisciplinary academic journals, books and primary sources. Recent issues not always available. Full text.
Literary Reference Center
Comprehensive literary reference database, providing a broad range of information from antiquity to the present day. Full text.
Black Studies Center
Fully cross-searchable gateway to Black Studies including scholarly essays, recent periodicals, historical newspaper articles, reference books, and more. Includes essential resources such as The Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, Index to Black Periodicals Full Text, Black Literature Index, and the Chicago Defender historical newspaper from 1912-1975. Full text.
Multidisciplinary database covering many subject areas. Includes scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, reports & videos.
Dissertations & Theses Global
International doctoral dissertations & master's theses. Full text since 1997, with some full text prior to 1997.
African American Newspapers
128 digitized historical newspapers listed by state. Check the range of years covering 1920-1939. Part of the Chronicling American Collection, Library of Congress.
A selective list of journals dealing with African American Studies. You can search within the publication or go to Database.
African American Review
Peer-reviewed journal that features literary and cultural criticism, interviews, poetry, short fiction and book reviews.
Focuses on black performing and visual arts across the United States. Features profiles of Black artists, Black arts groups and important Black arts issues.
Publishes essays, poetry, fiction, photography, art and reviews that address the full range of contemporary Black concerns.
Black Scholar: journal of black studies and research
Presents African-American essays on a broad range of issues of concern to scholars in sociology, history, literature, political science, health, art, women's studies and ethnic studies.
Articles and thematic issues devoted to creative works by and critical studies of black writers in the Americas and Africa; studies of life and culture in the black world and visual art.
Founded in 1937 by a group of black scholars and educators. Features scholarly research and reviews of books in the areas of language, literature and other related topics.
Founded in 1910 by W.E.B. Du Bois, founding father of the NAACP, The Crisis is one of the oldest continuously published African American journal.
Du Bois Review: social science research on race
Presents the best cutting edge research on race from the social sciences.
Publishes articles on African-American culture and history.
Journal of African American Studies
Publishes peer-reviewed articles affecting persons of African descent.
Journal of Black Studies
Publishes articles on all aspects of the black experience not just on African-Americans but also on Africa, the Caribbean region and African diaspora.
Obsidian: literature in the African diaspora
Literary review publishes contemporary poetry, fiction, drama and non-fiction prose concerning the African Diaspora.
Souls: a critical journal of black politics, culture and society
Presents articles on the contemporary Black experience: the various ideological debates, politics, culture, & recent history of African American people.
Western Journal of Black Studies
Interdisciplinary journal publishes scholarly articles on issues related to the African Diaspora.
Friend, follow and subscribe to Sprague library!