Public Health

The Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System (BRFSS) collects state data about U.S. residents regarding their health-related risk behaviors, chronic health conditions, and use of preventive services.

The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention is the national public health agency of the United States.

The Congressional District Health Dashboard includes 35 metrics for all 435 U.S. Congressional Districts.

Demographic and Health Surveys (DHS) are nationally-representative household surveys that provide data for a wide range of monitoring and impact evaluation indicators in the areas of population, health, and nutrition.

This site is dedicated to making high-value health data more accessible to entrepreneurs, researchers, and policy makers in the hopes of better health outcomes for all.

HealthMap, a team of researchers, epidemiologists and software developers at Boston Children's Hospital founded in 2006, is an established global leader in utilizing online informal sources for disease outbreak monitoring and real-time surveillance of emerging public health threats.

The Peterson Center on Healthcare and KFF (Kaiser Family Foundation) are partnering to monitor how well the U.S. healthcare system is performing in terms of quality and cost.

The Institute for Health Metrics and Evaluation (IHME) works with collaborators around the world to develop timely, relevant, and scientifically valid evidence that illuminates the state of health everywhere.

The National Center for Health Statistics is a principal agency of the U.S. Federal Statistical System.

The National Health and Nutrition Examination Survey (NHANES) is a program of studies designed to assess the health and nutritional status of adults and children in the United States.

In 2003, CDC created NHBS to conduct behavioral surveillance among persons at high risk for HIV infection.

The National Program of Cancer Registries (NPCR) collects data on cancer occurrence (including the type, extent, and location of the cancer), the type of initial treatment, and outcomes.

The Division of Vital Statistics is part of the National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS).

The Opportunity Atlas is an initial release of social mobility data, the result of a collaboration between researchers at the Census Bureau, Harvard University, and Brown University

Opportunity insights are a team of researchers and policy analysts working together to analyze new data and create a platform for local stakeholders to make more informed decisions.

PRAMS, the Pregnancy Risk Assessment Monitoring System, is a surveillance project of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) and state health departments.

The Youth Risk Behavior Surveillance System (YRBSS) monitors six categories of health-related behaviors that contribute to the leading causes of death and disability among youth and adults.

Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration leads public health efforts to advance the behavioral health of the nation. SAMHSA's mission is to reduce the impact of substance abuse and mental illness on America's communities.

is an interactive, online database that provides fatal and nonfatal injury, violent death, and cost of injury data. Researchers, the media, public health professionals, and the public can use WISQARS

The social determinants of health (SDH) are the non-medical factors that influence health outcomes. They are the conditions in which people are born, grow, work, live, and age, and the wider set of forces and systems shaping the conditions of daily life.

The Integrated Population Health Data Project (iPHD) promotes research that informs the improvement of population health and the efficiency of state government programs in New Jersey.

NJ Public Health Adapt was developed to support efforts at the state, regional and local levels to understand the impacts the changing climate conditions may have on public health as well as to support efforts to adapt to changing climate conditions in ways that improve health outcomes, especially for those populations experiencing climate-related health disparities

Provides health data at the level of states, counties, and nationally. Contains 800 health indicators.

The Center for Health Statistics & Informatics (CHS) compiles official reports on births, deaths, chronic illnesses, injuries, and behavioral risk factors

New Jersey Data Book is the most comprehensive online source of official, current statistics and information about New Jersey, published as a free public service by Rutgers' Center for Government Services (CGS).

The New Jersey Department of Health's State Health Assessment Data (NJSHAD) System provides access to public health datasets, statistics, and information on the health status of New Jerseyans

This dashboard is updated once daily, usually between 10:30-11:30 a.m.

The Demographic and Health Surveys (DHS) program has collected, analyzed, and disseminated accurate and representative data on population, health, HIV, and nutrition through more than 400 surveys in over 90 countries.

The IDF Diabetes Atlas is intended to support the diabetes community in advocating for more action to identify undiagnosed diabetes, prevent type 2 diabetes in people at risk, and improve care for all people with diabetes

Select country or territory data by clicking on the map or selecting from the search box

The World health statistics report is the World Health Organization’s (WHO) annual compilation of the most recent available data on health and health-related indicators for its 194 Member States.

The Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) offers practical, research-based tools and other resources to help a variety of health care organizations, providers and others make care safer in all health care settings.

HCUP Statistical Briefs provide healthcare statistics on hospital inpatient stays, emergency department visits, and ambulatory surgeries. Topics include medical conditions treated, procedures performed, patient populations served, and quality of care. Information is presented in tables and figures, accompanied by explanatory text.

Various CPS ASEC extract files with data on offer and take-up of employer-sponsored coverage, current coverage and other health-related data.

This online guide contains information on finding, using, and analyzing health and population data. The guide was developed as an online companion for a series of classes that focus on finding,and analyzing health data.