Research Guides: Book Reviews: Home

Introduction

This guide points to print and online sources for book reviews in all disciplines.
The full-text of book reviews will be available in some resources while only citations will be available in others.

Notes:

Not every book gets reviewed.
In print book review sources, reviews do not always appear in the year of publication, so check index volumes for two or more years following the publication date.

Find a Book Review

Watch the video for a demo of how to find a book review
Then, start at the Find Articles & More tab on the library homepage.
This will search about half of the library's databases simultaneously.

The Usual Suspects

Book Review Digest Plus
Contains full-text book reviews, citations, & abstracts of book reviews going back to 1983.
Book Review Digest Retrospective (1903 - 1982)
Contains reviews for 300,000 books and 1.5 million citations starting from 1903 and continuing to 1982.
ProQuest Central
Multidisciplinary database covering many subject areas. Includes scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, reports & videos.

New York Times Book Review
1996 to the present date available online.
1923 to date: Microfilm edition in Multimedia Department.
1911-1920: New York Times Review of Books. Microfilm edition in Multimedia Department.

New York Times, (Historical)
New York Times articles from 1851 to the present.
American Periodical Series Online
Contains periodicals published between 1740 and 1940, covering a variety of topics. Some full text.

New York Review of Books

Book Reviews

Librarian

Introduction

Find a Book Review

The Usual Suspects

Sprague Library News