Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Montclair State University banner image

New Arrivals

This guide includes selected new books and streaming videos added to the Library's collection

September 2022

The Nineteenth-Century Salesian Pentecost

In the wake of the French Revolution and other upheavals, Don Bosco (1815-1888) and other nineteenth-century founders and spiritual leaders contributed to the development of spiritual practices and perspectives on the Christian life that have been described as the "Salesian Pentecost."Here are translations of and commentaries on the little-known spiritual writings of Don Bosco, his collaborators, and his contemporaries involved in the Salesian Pentecost. These diverse persons, fully engaged in apostolic ministry or occupied with the demands of ordinary life as lay women and men, were at the same time engaged in conscious spiritual practices that sought the interior exchange of the heart of Jesus for the human heart. +

Resonant Learning in Music Therapy (eBook)

Resonant learning allows students to develop and fine-tune their therapeutic competencies through first-hand experiences: being in client roles themselves, being in preliminary therapist roles with co-students in client roles and reflecting on those experiences. These resonant learning processes are preparatory steps in developing a professional music therapist identity through internship and later employment positions and continuing supervision. Outlining the Aalborg model of resonant learning, developed at Aalborg University, Denmark, Resonant Learning in Music Therapy discusses the benefits and drawbacks of 'tuning the therapist' and encourages its integration into music therapy courses around the world. The book sums up research on resonant learning and presents core exercises, directives and vignettes from the training processes of the Aalborg model. Explaining how students' self-agency is enhanced by long-term personal experiences in group- and individual therapy, observing work with clients in an institutional setting, working with clients themselves, and undergoing close group and individual supervision, the editors and contributors also explore the benefits of implementing resonant learning within other therapist training programs and healthcare professions.

Music Therapy and the Autism Spectrum : An Integrative Overview (eBook)

Music Therapy and the Autism Spectrum: An Integrative Overview summarizes the main topics related to the practice of music therapy for autistic people. This integrative perspective emphasizes respect for the voices of this community and highlights those who have contributed to the growth of music therapy practices for autistic people.

The publication gives a historical contextualization of each topic and an up-to-date understanding of current discussions in this area of practice. The term "integrative" is also used to emphasize that the book integrates music therapy topics and knowledge from other areas including neurology, life development, and psychology.

Although the primary focus is on music therapists and music therapy students, the book can also be read by autistic people and their families, professionals in other fields, and anyone interested in the topic.

The book is organized into four central units concerning the themes related with music therapy and the autism spectrum: 1) Beginning the Studies, 2) Fundamental Aspects of Music Therapy Practice, 3) The Spectrum of Theories and Practices in the Field of Music Therapy and the Autism Spectrum and 4) Relevant Themes.

American Indian Wars (eBook)

Providing an indispensable overview of the American Indian Wars, this book focuses on Native American tribes and warriors and their varying responses to the onslaught of European colonists and American settlers in the centuries following contact. This work provides an overview of the Indian Wars from the arrival of Europeans until 1890. The work focuses primarily on Native American tribes and warriors and their role in battles and campaigns against other Native Americans and Europeans/Americans, while also including key European/American leaders and soldiers as well as treaties between Native Americans and Europeans/Americans. The introduction provides a broad overview of the Indian Wars and also considers whether the Indian Wars should be considered genocide. The bibliography focuses on the most important works published on the Indian Wars. Each entry also includes a list of references for readers to consult. The work also includes a collection of primary source documents that span the entire time period. Provides readers with a broad overview of American Indian Wars, focusing on Native American perspectives Examines the uniqueness of Native American tribes involved in the American Indian Wars, emphasizing the complexity of tribal politics and the impact of tribal rivalries upon conflicts among Native Americans and between Native Americans and Europeans/Americans Considers whether the Indian Wars constituted genocide Provides a detailed chronology that will help readers place the important events that occurred during the nearly 300 years of conflict

Like Water

Highlights Bruce Lee's influence beyond martial arts and film. An Asian and Asian American icon of unimaginable stature and influence, Bruce Lee revolutionized the martial arts by combining influences drawn from around the world. Uncommonly determined, physically gifted, and artistically brilliant, Lee rose to fame as part of a wave of transpacific globalization that bridged the nearly seven thousand miles between Hong Kong and California. Like Water unpacks Lee's global impact, linking his legendary status as a martial artist, actor, and director to his continual traversals across the newly interconnected Asia and America. Daryl Joji Maeda's multifaceted account of Bruce Lee's legacy uniquely traces how movements and migrations across the Pacific Ocean structured the cultures Bruce Lee inherited, the milieu he occupied, the martial art he developed, the films he made, and the world he left behind. A unique blend of cultural history and biography, Like Water unearths the cultural strands that Lee intertwined in his rise to a new kind of global stardom. Moving from the gold rush in California and the British occupation of Hong Kong, to the Cold War and the deployment of American troops across Asia, Maeda builds depth and complexity to this larger-than-life figure. His cultural chronology of Bruce Lee reveals Lee to be both a product of his time and a harbinger of a more connected future. Nearly half a century after his tragic death, Bruce Lee remains an inspiring symbol of innovation and determination, with an enduring legacy as the first Asian American global superstar.

My Fourth Time, We Drowned

Winner of The Orwell Prize for Political Writing 2022 Winner of The Michel Déon Prize 2022 The Western world has turned its back on migrants, leaving them to cope with one of the most devastating humanitarian crises in history. Reporter Sally Hayden was at home in London when she received a message on Facebook: "Hi sister Sally, we need your help." The sender identified himself as an Eritrean refugee who had been held in a Libyan detention center for months, locked in one big hall with hundreds of others. Now, the city around them was crumbling in a scrimmage between warring factions, and they remained stuck, defenseless, with only one remaining hope: contacting her. Hayden had inadvertently stumbled onto a human rights disaster of epic proportions. From this single message begins a staggering account of the migrant crisis across North Africa, in a groundbreaking work of investigative journalism. With unprecedented access to people currently inside Libyan detention centers, Hayden's book is based on interviews with hundreds of refugees and migrants who tried to reach Europe and found themselves stuck in Libya once the EU started funding interceptions in 2017. It is an intimate portrait of life for these detainees, as well as a condemnation of NGOs and the United Nations, whose abdication of international standards will echo throughout history. But most importantly, My Fourth Time, We Drowned shines a light on the resilience of humans: how refugees and migrants locked up for years fall in love, support each other through the hardest times, and carry out small acts of resistance in order to survive in a system that wants them to be silent and disappear.

Ballroom

A tune-filled, light-footed people's history of ballroom dancing, from Vernon and Irene Castle and Arthur Murray to Dancing with the Stars.   In the early twentieth century, American ragtime and the Parisian Tango fueled a dancing craze in Britain. Public ballrooms--which had never been seen before--were built throughout the country, providing a glamorous setting for all classes to dance. The new styles of dance being defined and taught in the 1920s, as well as the films of Fred Astaire and Ginger Rogers in the 1930s, ensured that ballroom dancing continued to be the most popular pastime until the 1960s, rivaled only by the cinema.   This book explores the vibrant history of Ballroom and Latin: the dances, the lavish venues, competitions, and influential instructors. It also traces the decline of competitive dancing and its resurgence in recent years with the hugely popular TV shows Strictly Come Dancing and Dancing with the Stars.

Shy

The memoirs of Mary Rodgers--writer, composer, Broadway royalty, and "a woman who tried everything." "What am I, bologna?" Mary Rodgers (1931-2014) often said. She was referring to being stuck in the middle of a talent sandwich: the daughter of one composer and the mother of another. And not just any composers. Her father was Richard Rodgers, perhaps the greatest American melodist; her son, Adam Guettel, a worthy successor. What that leaves out is Mary herself, also a composer, whose musical Once Upon a Mattress remains one of the rare revivable Broadway hits written by a woman. Shy is the story of how it all happened: how Mary grew from an angry child, constrained by privilege and a parent's overwhelming gift, to become not just a theater figure in her own right but also a renowned author of books for young readers (including the classic Freaky Friday) and, in a final grand turn, a doyenne of philanthropy and the chairman of the Juilliard School. But in telling these stories--with copious annotations, contradictions, and interruptions from Jesse Green, the chief theater critic of The New York Times--Shy also tells another, about a woman liberating herself from disapproving parents and pervasive sexism to find art and romance on her own terms. Whether writing for Judy Holliday or Rin Tin Tin, dating Hal Prince or falling for Stephen Sondheim over a game of chess at thirteen, Rodgers grabbed every chance possible--and then some. Both an eyewitness report from the golden age of American musical theater and a tale of a woman striving for a meaningful life, Shy is, above all, a chance to sit at the feet of the kind of woman they don't make anymore--and never did. They make themselves.

Deanna Durbin, Judy Garland, and the Golden Age of Hollywood

The 1930s was a magical age in Hollywood, with Shirley Temple and Mickey Rooney, Bette Davis and Clark Gable lighting up the silver screen. But Deanna Durbin's fame surpassed them all. Born in Canada, Deanna was "discovered" by starmaker Eddie Cantor, producer Joe Pasternak and director Henry Koster, and she quickly became the world's most celebrated star. She saved Universal Studios from ruin, she was a favourite of Winston Churchill and Anne Frank, and she became the highest-paid woman in America. From the start, Deanna's life was irrevocably connected with that of another young ingénue, Judy Garland. Deanna and Judy were wildly talented, ambitious, and strong-willed young women who followed vastly different paths to stardom. While fame was thrust upon Deanna, Judy spent years struggling for success and their early friendship soon turned into a lifelong rivalry. Despite her tragic life, Judy Garland is remembered as an entertainment icon, beloved by millions. However, Deanna Durbin--who turned her back on Hollywood at the age of twenty-eight to pursue love and happiness--has been largely forgotten. But Deanna's legacy endures, and this first-ever biography tells of how her gorgeous voice and winning charm vaulted her to worldwide fame and how a thirteen-year-old girl transformed moviemaking and influenced a generation of fans as the first teenage superstar.

Black Theater, City Life

Macelle Mahala's rich study of contemporary African American theater institutions reveals how they reflect and shape the histories and cultural realities of their cities. Arguing that the community in which a play is staged is as important to the work's meaning as the script or set, Mahala focuses on four cities' "arts ecologies" to shed new light on the unique relationship between performance and place: Cleveland, home to the oldest continuously operating Black theater in the country; Pittsburgh, birthplace of the legendary playwright August Wilson; San Francisco, a metropolis currently experiencing displacement of its Black population; and Atlanta, a city with forty years of progressive Black leadership and reverse migration.   Black Theater, City Life looks at Karamu House Theatre, the August Wilson African American Cultural Center, Pittsburgh Playwrights' Theatre Company, the Lorraine Hansberry Theatre, the African American Shakespeare Company, the Atlanta Black Theatre Festival, and Kenny Leon's True Colors Theatre Company to demonstrate how each organization articulates the cultural specificities, sociopolitical realities, and histories of African Americans. These companies have faced challenges that mirror the larger racial and economic disparities in arts funding and social practice in America, while their achievements exemplify such institutions' vital role in enacting an artistic practice that reflects the cultural backgrounds of their local communities. Timely, significant, and deeply researched, this book spotlights the artistic and civic import of Black theaters in American cities.

Indigenous Economics

What does "development" mean for Indigenous peoples? Indigenous Economics lays out an alternative path showing that conscious attention to relationships among humans and the natural world creates flourishing social-ecological economies. Economist Ronald L. Trosper draws on examples from North and South America, Aotearoa/New Zealand, and Australia to argue that Indigenous worldviews centering care and good relationships provide critical and sustainable economic models in a world under increasing pressure from biodiversity loss and climate change. He explains the structure of relational Indigenous economic theory, providing principles based on his own and others' work with tribal nations and Indigenous communities. Trosper explains how sustainability is created at every level when relational Indigenous economic theory is applied--micro, meso, and macro. Good relationships support personal and community autonomy, replacing the individualism/collectivism dichotomy with relational leadership and entrepreneurship. Basing economies on relationships requires changing governance from the top-down approaches of nation-states and international corporations; instead, each community creates its own territorial relationships, creating plurinational relational states. This book offers an important alternative to classic economic theory. In Indigenous Economics, support for Indigenous communities' development and Indigenous peoples' well-being go hand-in-hand. Publication of this book is made possible in part by the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation Program in Public Understanding of Science.

Collaborative Insights

Collaborative Insights provides new perspectives informed by interdisciplinary thinking on musical care throughout the life course. In this book, volume editors Katie Rose M. Sanfilippo and Neta Spiro define musical care as the role that music - music listening as well as music-making - playsin supporting any aspect of people's developmental or health needs, for example physical and mental health, cognitive and behavioural development, and interpersonal relationships. Musical care is relevant to several types of music, approach, and setting, and through the introduction of that new termmusical care, the authors prioritise the element of care that is shared among these otherwise diverse contexts and musical activities, celebrating the nuanced interweaving of theory and practice.The multifaceted nature of musical care requires reconciling perspectives and expertise from different fields and disciplines. This book shows interdisciplinary collaboration in action by bringing together music practitioners and researchers to write each chapter collaboratively to discuss musicalcare from an interdisciplinary perspective and offer directions for future work. The life course structure, from infancy to end of life, highlights the connections and themes present in approach, context, and practices throughout our lives. Thus, the book represents both the start of a conversationand a call to action, inspiring new collaborations that provide new insights to musical care in its many facets.

The Black Family's Guide to College Admissions

Finding the right college is a challenge for all students. But Black families face additional challenges and questions while navigating the admissions process. In The Black Family's Guide to College Admissions, veteran admissions experts Timothy L. Fields and Shereem Herndon-Brown share provocative insights and demystify this complex process to answer important questions from where to apply to how to get in.  Fields and Herndon-Brown discuss specific concerns for Black families that are not often addressed by school counselors or other resources. They highlight how the current social justice movement amplifies the distinct dynamics that exist between Historically Black Colleges and Universities and predominantly white institutions and which college choices may be best for Black students. Fields and Herndon-Brown pull from decades of experience to offer the savvy advice that Black families need. Having worked on both sides of the desk?as school counselors and as college admissions gatekeepers?they are well equipped to give parents, students, and school counselors the information and inspiration to successfully research and navigate the admission journey.  The higher education landscape is constantly evolving, and admissions criteria have evolved with it. Fields and Herndon-Brown cover everything from athletic recruitment and artistic talents to financial aid and step-by-step instructions for how to get through the college search and application processes. A list of the best colleges for Black students, a glossary of terms, a list of notable Black college graduates, a suggested reading list, and an FAQ section round out the guide. The Black Family's Guide to College Admissions is the definitive resource to begin the complex conversation of understanding the choices that Black families face as they go through the college admissions process at the intersection of education, parenting, and race.

Jamaican Ceramics

The history of ceramics is rooted in the history of mankind. Jamaican Ceramics: A Historical and Contemporary Survey is a comprehensiveexamination of the development of ceramics from pre-history to the present day.This visually rich, exciting and authoritative book is an unprecedented surveywhich sheds light on the fascinating historical and modern contemporary Jamaicanceramics. Norma Rodney Harrack, herself a practicing ceramic artist, offers anexpert's insight and provides a valuable resource to ceramists, students,collectors, enthusiasts and users of ceramics. The chapters each focus on keythematic areas - from early ceramic history to the influence of Europeanceramic practices to the syncreticism and continuity of African Jamaican potterytraditions - with full discussions on how the canon of Jamaican ceramics hasdeveloped over centuries. Harrack's many years of teaching and investigationhave guided much of the primary research for this project.

Walking in My Joy

A new offering from the author of the hugely successful Mother of Black Hollywood. Walking in My Joy is a collection of electric stories by the one and only, super hilarious Jenifer Lewis. Her commentary on what's happening in the world today, told through her outrageous real-life adventures, will have you laughing out loud, while her insightful messages touch your soul. A self-described "traveling fool and nature freak," Jenifer takes readers with her all over the world, from Cape Town to Bali; Washington, DC, to the Serengeti; Mongolia to St. Petersburg; and Argentina to Antarctica to demonstrate how she walks in her joy by seeking pleasure in everyday encounters. Every step of the way you'll be doubled over with laughter as she faints at the Obamas' holiday party; awakens to a swollen face and has to go to the hospital during the height of the Covid pandemic; an alien visitation; a successful takedown of a conman; as well as meeting a handsome Maasai warrior and being chased by a Cape buffalo. An actress, activist, and mental health advocate, Jenifer Lewis imparts ways to love yourself that will allow you to deflect negative energy and keep people who may come to take your joy in check. She stresses the importance of fully living to your greatest ambitions and taking the time to admire the world's natural gifts. She also encourages embracing each other's uniqueness as a way of finding societal healing. Walking in My Joy is a riveting and enthralling journey.

Research Methods in Practice

Thoroughly updated to reflect changes in both research and methods, this Third Edition of Remler and Van Ryzin's innovative, standard-setting text is imbued with a deep commitment to making social and policy research methods accessible and meaningful. Research Methods in Practice: Strategies for Description and Causation motivates readers to examine the logic and limits of social science research from academic journals and government reports. A central theme of causation versus description runs through the text, emphasizing the idea that causal research is essential to understanding the origins of social problems and their potential solutions. Readers will find excitement in the research experience as the best hope for improving the world in which we live, while also acknowledging the trade-offs and uncertainties in real-world research.  

Rooted Jazz Dance (eBook)

An African American art form, jazz dance has an inaccurate historical narrative that often sets Euro-American aesthetics and values at the inception of the jazz dance genealogy. The roots were systemically erased and remain widely marginalized and untaught, and the devaluation of its Africanist origins and lineage has largely gone unchallenged. Decolonizing contemporary jazz dance practice, this book examines the state of jazz dance theory, pedagogy, and choreography in the twenty-first century, recovering and affirming the lifeblood of jazz in Africanist aesthetics and Black American culture.  Rooted Jazz Dance brings together jazz dance scholars, practitioners, choreographers, and educators from across the United States and Canada with the goal of changing the course of practice in future generations. Contributors delve into the Africanist elements within jazz dance and discuss the role of Whiteness, including Eurocentric technique and ideology, in marginalizing African American vernacular dance, which has resulted in the prominence of Eurocentric jazz styles and the systemic erosion of the roots. These chapters offer strategies for teaching rooted jazz dance, examples for changing dance curricula, and artist perspectives on choreographing and performing jazz. Above all, they emphasize the importance of centering Africanist and African American principles, aesthetics, and values.  Arguing that the history of jazz dance is closely tied to the history of racism in the United States, these essays challenge a century of misappropriation and lean into difficult conversations of reparations for jazz dance. This volume overcomes a major roadblock to racial justice in the dance field by amplifying the people and culture responsible for the jazz language. Publication of this work made possible by a Sustaining the Humanities through the American Rescue Plan grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities.

Motivation : Biological, Psychological, and Environmental (eBook)

Motivation provides an accessible introduction to motivation and emotion, combining classic studies with current research and uses numerous real-world examples to engage the student and make, often difficult, theoretical concepts come to life. By understanding and applying the principles of motivation described in the text, students will not only discover insights into what motivates their own behavior but also how to instigate self-change through goal-setting.  Throughout the book the author adopts an evolutionary approach to explore the effect of interpersonal relationships, food preferences, fear, music, and the emotions on motivation, at the same time considering how personality traits and psychological needs are essential for understanding why people are motivated by different things. The motivation of compulsive behavior from addictions, such as drugs, gambling, Internet gaming, and obsessive exercise is also considered, providing a truly comprehensive overview of biological, psychological, and environmental sources of motivation.  The sixth edition has been thoroughly updated throughout and is accompanied by an instructor's manual that contains multiple choice questions, essay questions with answers, websites related to motivation and emotion, power point slides, in-class activities, and discussion questions. It is an essential read for all students of motivation. 

Kill the Documentary : A Letter to Filmmakers, Students, and Scholars (eBook)

"Can the documentary be useful? Can a film change how its viewers think about the world and their potential role in it? In Kill the Documentary, the award-winning director Jill Godmilow issues an urgent call for a new kind of nonfiction filmmaking. She critiques documentary films from Nanook of the North to the recent Ken Burns/Lynn Novick series The Vietnam War. Tethered to what Godmilow calls the "pedigree of the real" and the "pornography of the real," they fail to activate their viewers' engagement with historical or present-day problems. Whether depicting the hardships of poverty or the horrors of war, conventional documentaries produce an "us-watching-them" mode that ultimately reinforces self-satisfaction and self-absorption. In place of the conventional documentary, Godmilow advocates for a "postrealist" cinema. Instead of offering the faux empathy and sentimental spectacle of mainstream documentaries, postrealist nonfiction films are acts of resistance. They are experimental, interventionist, performative, and transformative. Godmilow demonstrates how a film can produce meaningful, useful experience by forcefully challenging ways of knowing and how viewers come to understand the world. She considers her own career as a filmmaker as well as the formal and political strategies of artists such as Luis Buñuel, Georges Franju, Harun Farocki, Trinh T. Minh-ha, Rithy Panh, and other directors. Both manifesto and guidebook, Kill the Documentary proposes provocative new ways of making and watching films"-- Provided by publisher

Friend, follow and subscribe to Sprague library!