Research Guides: Arabic Language, Literature &amp; Media: Dictionaries

Dictionaries

Dictionary of Idiomatic Expressions in Written Arabic by Mahmoud Sami Moussa
Call Number: PJ6167 .M68 2014
Publication Date: 2015
This comprehensive guide to idiomatic expressions in literary Arabic, the first of its kind, will inform, amuse, and entertain, through more than 8500 entries found in texts from the Qur'an to today's newspapers. With explanations in Arabic and English, it is an essential resource for both students of Arabic and native speakers.Reaching into the great wealth of this complex and intriguing language, the dictionary draws on and reveals the rich cultural and religious traditions of Arabic-speaking communities that have informed its idioms. Expressions of condolence, astonishment, and hardship, alongside sayings about friendship, miserliness, and reconciliation are collected and made accessible here, while glimpses are provided into history through phrases tied to important events and figures--from the ancient Egyptians to Saddam Hussein.

Oxford Essential Arabic Dictionary by Oxford Dictionaries Staff
Call Number: REF PJ6640 .O94 2010
Publication Date: 2010
For use in library only. This item does not circulate.

The Oxford Essential Arabic Dictionary is a brand-new compact Arabic-English and English-Arabic dictionary that offers up-to-date coverage of all the essential day-to-day vocabulary, with over 16,000 words, phrases, and translations. This dictionary is easy to use and ideal for students,travel, and quick reference.Designed for both native English and Arabic speakers, the supplementary sections offer guidance on Arabic verbs and irregular verbs. Phonetic transcriptions are provided for each English entry, and phonetic respelling for irregular Arabic pronunciations. Arabic entries are also listed according toalphabetical order, not by root, in order to make word searches more user-friendly. Additional supplements give help with tricky areas, such as numerals and expressions of time.
Dictionary of Arabic literary terms and devices by Marlé Hammond
Publication Date: 2018
This dictionary provides clear definitions of the most important literary terms and devices in classical and modern Arabic literature. It covers technical terms and rhetorical devices, themes and motifs, concepts, historical eras, literary schools and movements, forms and genres, and significant figures and institutions.