Research Guides: Fashion Design and Merchandising: Find Background Information

Information Sources

Berg Companion to Fashion
Publication Date: 2010
Over 300 in-depth entries covering designers, articles of clothing, key concepts and styles.
Oxford Art Online
Publication Date: 2002-
Over 1,600 articles dealing fashion and over 1,100 articles on textiles.
Encyclopedia of Consumer Culture
Publication Date: 2011
Includes lengthy chapters dealing with textiles, fashion industry, branding and clothing consumption.
Encyclopedia of American Business
Publication Date: 2011
Includes two detailed chapters on textile and apparel industries.

Gale Virtual Reference Library
Reference e-books covering many subject areas. Thousands of entries dealing with clothing, fashion and textiles.
Oxford Reference
Over 15,000 entries dealing with clothing, fashion and textiles.
Credo Reference
Hundreds of entries dealing with clothing, fashion and textiles.

Business Insights: Global
This Database provides detailed information on fashion and fashion related companies such as histories, swot reports, rankings, market share reports etc. In addition, a great source to also find information on fashion and textile industries.
Contains: The International Directory of Company Histories, the Market Share Reporter, the Encyclopedia of Associations
Business Market Research Collection
Company, industry, economic and geopolitical market research.
Also includes Hoover's Company Profiles, articles from OxResearch and market research from the Snapshots database.
IBISWorld
Detailed reports on over 1,300 US industries that include: supply chain information, historical and forecasted revenue data, operating strengths and weaknesses, analysis of external drivers, the competitive landscape, and industry ratios. Also contains some company-level reports.
IBISWorld Tutorials