Research Guides: Introduction to Research: Find and Refine Topic

Find and Refine Topic

Picking your topic IS research!

Background Information: The Wikipedia Alternative

Here are a couple of databases that you can consult to help you find and/or refine your topic. They contain articles that give you a broad overview of a topic and can help you identify keywords. Sometimes you’ll find a pro/con essay about your topic.

CQ Researcher
Each weekly report explores a single "hot" issue in the news that covers all sides. Includes charts, graphs and bibliographies. Global Researcher includes monthly single-topic reports on vital world issues. Full text.
Points of View Reference Center
Provides a series of essays that present multiple sides of a current issue. Provides 200 topics, each with an overview (objective background/description), point (argument) and counterpoint (opposing argument).
Credo Reference
Reference eBooks related to Environmental Science and Health & Medicine. Full text.
Britannica Academic
Contains the text of the Encyclopaedia Britannica plus additional articles & images. Includes Britannica's World Data Analyst & World Atlas. Full text.

You can also find background information by searching the "Find Articles & More" search on the library homepage (link below). These short articles are mostly from online encyclopedias. If you need more ideas for background information, check out the entire research guide devoted to this topic, linked below.

Sprague Library Homepage

Background Information
by Bonnie Fong Last Updated Apr 26, 2023 46 views this year

Find Books

You can also find books on your topic. As opposed to scholarly articles, books tend to deal with a topic more broadly (e.g. Popular Culture and American Society) and they can help you to refine your topic and find good keywords.

Search Sprague’s books and media using keywords. Once you’ve done an initial search, make sure the tick box on the left hand side is limited to books.