Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Montclair State University banner image

Kristallnacht and German Jewry

Welcome to the Kristallnacht Research Guide

Nuremburg Synagogue Destroyed by Nazis

Kristallnacht and the pogroms orchestrated by the Nazis targeting German Jews took place on November 9-10, 1938.  This guide covers the full range of subjects related to Kristallnacht including German Jewish History, German Jewish Culture, Anti-Semitism, Assimilation, Racial Laws, National Socialists, Pogroms, Concentration Camps, Media Coverage and World Reaction.  In addition, this guide includes resources related to the contemporary German Jewish community (culture, religion, news, etc.).

Commemoration of the 75th Anniversary of Kristallnacht

The University sponsored a series of programs to commemorate the 75th Anniversary of Kristallnacht from October through November, 2013.  The events included a lecture series, film screenings, and an exhibit of the artwork from Andrea Strongwater's book entitled "The Lost Synagogues of Europe"(October 28 through December 22, 2013).

Jewish American Studies Program

Montclair State University offers a minor in Jewish American Studies which explores "the nature of the relationship over time between the Jewish community and the emerging American nation and the contributions to American culture, institutions, and intellectual traditions made by Jewish heritage, arts, religion, language, sciences, values and most importantly, by people of Jewish heritage themselves".  If you are interested in finding out more about the program, please take a look at the flyer below.

Current Scholarship on Kristallnacht

Other Resources

Indexes and Abstracts (Paper)

  • Religion Index (REF Z7753 .A52)

Microform Collections

  • A catalog of files and microfilms of the German Foreign Ministry archives, 1920-1945 (available on microfilm in the Multimedia Services Dept. - Microfilm no. 273 v. 1

Databases arranged by Topic - German Jewry

Journals

To find journals in the area of Jewish Studies and/or related subjects please go to the following link, Journals A-Z List.

The Library's collection of Jewish Studies journals can be broken down into the following categories:

Friend, follow and subscribe to Sprague library!