Research Guides: Exercise Science and Physical Education : Find Articles

Search for Scholarly Articles by Consulting the Following Databases

This section includes main databases dealing with Exercise Science and related fields. If you are looking for articles on sports medicine, education, sports history please click the other tabs.

PubMed

PubMed comprises more than 39 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.
Fact Sheet: How are Medline, Pubmed and Pubmed Central different?
SPORTDiscus with Full Text
Covers sports medicine, sports science, physical education, kinesiology, coaching, disabled persons, physical fitness, physical therapy, nutrition, exercise physiology, sport and exercise psychology, recreation, allied health, occupational health and therapy, public health and more.
ScienceDirect
Database of more than 1400 scientific journals available in full text. Many articles on exercise science, physical fitness, sports etc.
Sports Medicine & Education Index
Some full-text. Covers the following topics: Coaching and Training, Exercise, Health and Physical Fitness, Kinesiology, Motor Learning, Sports Medicine and others.
SBRnet
Contains consumer research, industry reports, and industry articles about professional and college sports. Also contains reports covering sports venues, participation, the fan market and sponsorships.
SAGE Journals
Peer-reviewed full-text journals with content extending back to 1999. Covers a variety of subject areas including social sciences, science, technology, medicine, etc.
Google Scholar
Scholarly results from Google, including citation counts and journal metrics. Link is proxy-enabled to allow access to articles in the library collection from off campus.
FAQ: Google Scholar Errors.

Access Medicine
Includes several medical resources such as e-books and media, good coverage of exercise and sports medicine.

CINAHL Complete
Journals in nursing and allied health. Records date back to 1937. Full text.
Health & Medical Collection
Covers clinical and biomedical topics, consumer health, health administration and more. Some full text.
Medline
Comprehensive collection of medical journal articles. Some full text.
Fact Sheet: How are Medline, Pubmed and Pubmed Central different?
PubMed

PubMed comprises more than 39 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.
Fact Sheet: How are Medline, Pubmed and Pubmed Central different?
Health & Wellness Resource Center
Access to medical journals, magazines, reference works, multimedia, & more. Full text.

Find sports history in the United States by searching the following databases listed below:

America History & Life
Abstracts of journal articles, books, and dissertations on US and Canadian history and culture from prehistoric times to the present. Some full text.
Note: Permits only 1 to 6 simultaneous users. Please close session when finished.
American Periodical Series Online
Contains periodicals published between 1740 and 1940, covering a variety of topics. Some full text.
New York Times, (Historical)
New York Times articles from 1851 to the present.
HathiTrust Digital Library
Historical digitized sources from over 100 libraries. Check "Full View Only" to search the part of the collection available to anyone.

Statistics of books and documents in the collection.
Google Scholar
Scholarly results from Google, including citation counts and journal metrics. Link is proxy-enabled to allow access to articles in the library collection from off campus.
FAQ: Google Scholar Errors.

If you are researching articles dealing with exercise science and education try one of the recommended databases listed below:

Education Research Complete
Some full-text. Covers topics dealing with exercise science and education.
Education Collection
Search the Education Database and ERIC simultaneously.
Save time!
ERIC
Articles & documents about education, including conference papers, books, reports, dissertations, theses, and policy papers. Some full-text.
Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print
Reviews of educational, psychological and vocational tests. All editions of the MMY are now included, starting with the 1938 edition. Includes Tests in Print which is a comprehensive bibliography of all known commercially available tests.
The tests, themselves, are not included.
Google Scholar
Scholarly results from Google, including citation counts and journal metrics. Link is proxy-enabled to allow access to articles in the library collection from off campus.
FAQ: Google Scholar Errors.

Dissertations & Theses Global
International doctoral dissertations & master's theses. Full text since 1997, with some full text prior to 1997.

Evidence based medicine (EBM) was originally defined as the conscientious, explicit, and judicious use of current best evidence in making decisions about the care of individual patients. Below are examples of three databases which include evidence based medicine-related articles.

Cochrane Library
The Cochrane Library is a collection of six databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making, and a seventh database that provides information about Cochrane groups.

PEDro (Physiotherapy Evidence Database)
Free database of over 45,000 randomised trials, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy.

Trip Database
Clinical search tool that allows health professionals to rapidly identify the highest quality clinical evidence for clinical practice.

Find Journals in Exercise Science and Related Fields

Journals A-Z
Below is a very selective list of journals in Exercise Science. To find out if the library has access to other journals, magazines or newspapers check the Journals A-Z list.
American Journal of Sports Medicine
A must-read for Sports Medicine Physicians, Athletic Trainers and Physical Therapists.
Applied Physiology, Nutrition, and Metabolism
Peer-reviewed interdisciplinary publication with articles that apply physiology, nutrition and metabolism to the study of health, physical activity and fitness.
British Journal of Sports Medicine
Well-known and respected journal in the field of sports medicine. Contains peer-reviewed articles, in-depth reviews of issues in sports medicine and short reports.
Journal of Athletic Training
Official publication of the National Athletic Trainer's Association.
Journal of Physical Education, Recreation and Dance (JOPERD)
Published since 1986. Peer-reviewed articles relevant to educators at all levels.
Journal of Sport and Social Issues
Covers contemporary sport issues such as race, media, gender, economics, drugs, recruiting, injuries, and youth sports.
Journal of Sports Science and Medicine
Contains research & review articles, together with case studies, in the fields of sports medicine & the exercise sciences;
Journal of Strength and Conditioning Research
Publication features original investigations, reviews, research notes and technical reports dealing with strength and conditioning in sport and exercise.
Sociology of Sport Journal
Publishes original research on social theories and exercise, sports and physical activity.
Sports Health: a multidisciplinary approach
Covers many topics dealing with sports medicine injuries.
Women in Sport and Physical Activity
Peer-reviewed articles examining women's involvement on sport and physical activity.

Journal Citation Reports
Offers a systematic, objective means to critically evaluate leading journals, with quantifiable, statistical information based on citation data. Helps measure research influence & impact at the journal and category levels, and shows the relationship between citing and cited journals.

Scimago (Journal Rankings)
When you go inside, click Journal Rankings on top of the page then, click the drop down menu All Subject Categories scroll down to "Sports Science."

Interlibrary Services
You can use interlibrary services to request a book, article or book chapter from another library for your research needs.