Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Montclair State University banner image

Linguistics Resources

This guide is designed to help you with research in linguistics in the Library and beyond.

Selected New eBooks (2021-2022) Restricted to MSU users

Beyond Crises : Overcoming Linguistic and Cultural Inequities in Communities, Schools, and Classrooms

The pandemic taught us several lessons: in times of crises, humanitarian needs of students, families, and ourselves is top priority; partnerships with families and communities are essential to health and well-being; a system that serves the privileged few fails multilingual learners; and "normal" was never good enough - we must envision a better world for multilingual students. This book describes this better world in three critical arenas: Communities, Schools, and Classrooms.

Applied Speech Processing

Applied Speech Processing: Algorithms and Case Studies is concerned with supporting and enhancing the utilization of speech analytics in several systems and real-world activities, including sharing data analytics related information, creating collaboration networks between several participants, and the use of video-conferencing in different application areas. The book provides a well-standing forum to discuss the characteristics of the intelligent speech signal processing systems in different domains. The book is proposed for professionals, scientists, and engineers who are involved in new techniques of intelligent speech signal processing methods and systems. It provides an outstanding foundation for undergraduate and post-graduate students as well. Includes basics of speech data analysis and management tools with several applications, highlighting recording systems Covers different techniques of big data and Internet-of-Things in speech signal processing, including machine learning and data mining Offers a multidisciplinary view of current and future challenges in this field, with extensive case studies on the design, implementation, development and management of intelligent systems, neural networks, and related machine learning techniques for speech signal processing

Pedagogical Translanguaging

With increasing mobility of people across the world, there is a pressing need to develop evidence-based teaching practices that lead to high-quality education, which serves the needs of inclusive societies and social and epistemic justice. This book presents cutting-edge qualitative case-study research across a range of educational contexts, research-method contributions and theory-oriented chapters by distinguished multilingual education scholars. These take stock of the field of translanguaging in relation to the education of multilingual individuals in today's globalized world. The volume breaks new ground in that all chapters share a focus on teachers as 'knowledge generators' and many on teacher-researcher collaboration. Together, the chapters provide comprehensive and up-to-date applications of the concept of pedagogical translanguaging and present recent research in educational contexts that have hitherto received scant attention, namely secondary-level education, education for adult immigrants and the school-wide introduction of pedagogical translanguaging in primary school. Chapters 1, 3, 4 and 8 are free to download as open access publications. They can be downloaded from our website: https://www.channelviewpublications.com/page/open-access/.

Occupational Inequality and Sex-Role Stereotyping in Dictionaries of English: a Causal Link?

Have dictionaries of English indeed affected their users' predisposition towards women to such an extent that we can posit a causal relation between what they propose and some of the forms of occupational sexism that still exist? Applying a data-collection methodology that has not been previously resorted to in any studies into the portrayal of women in these dictionaries challenges such a claim: the real exposure to sexist content is actually smaller than previous work is suggesting.

On Language, Education, Politics, and Identity: a Cross-Linguistics Perspective

To study language and linguistics means to unravel reality with all its aspects. By contextualizing today's reality in different perspectives, we can gain a bigger picture of language phenomena within its context. The chapters in this edited volume present research findings complementing or even challenging ongoing scholarly discussions in the linguistics and humanity studies. The chapters are divided into three big sections based on the issues being discussed: (1) Language and Identity in the Media, (2) Language Acquisition and Education, and (3) Language and Politics. Besides the obvious urgency to problematize these issues due to the dynamics of language development around the globe, there will always be a need to constantly create new conversations on how language and linguistics interacts with multidiscipline study, such as identity, media, and politics. The wide variety of aspects of language studies that are being analyzed in the chapters are shown through the point of view of non-Western scholars, in this case Indonesian scholars. Therefore, it provides alternative ways of interpreting the data and the text. The issues being discussed might seem universal as depicted in the choices of texts, which come from different countries. However, the specificity of each context contributes to a more complex discussion of cross-linguistics aspects on language studies.

Signs of Difference

How are peoples' ideas about languages, ways of speaking and expressive styles shaped by their social positions and values? How is difference, in language and in social life, made - and unmade? How and why are some differences persuasive as the basis for action, while other differences are ignored or erased? Written by two recognised authorities on language and culture, this book argues that ideological work of all kinds is fundamentally communicative, and that social positions, projects and historical moments influence, and are influenced by, people's ideas about communicative practices. Neither true nor false, ideologies are positioned and partial visions of the world, relying on comparison and perspective; they exploit differences in expressive features - linguistic and otherwise - to construct convincing stereotypes of people, spaces and activities. Using detailed ethnographic, historical and contemporary examples, this outstanding book shows readers how to analyse ideological work semiotically.

Ten Lectures on Cognitive Evolutionary Linguistics

The text is a transcribed version of the lectures given by Professor Verhagen in October 2018 as the forum speaker for the 18th China International Forum on Cognitive Linguistics.

Cultural Linguistics Applied : Trends, Directions and Implications

This book offers a range of empirically-based case studies in the field of cultural linguistics and neighbouring disciplines such as intercultural pragmatics and language pedagogy. The first section explores intercultural communication and cross-linguistic/cross-cultural investigations in settings such as Brazil, Nigeria, Cameroon, Tanzania, Morocco, France and Canada. The second section focuses on applications of cultural linguistics in the field of foreign language teaching. By drawing on English as a Foreign Language and English as a Second Language contexts, the case studies presented further examine the ramification of cultural linguistics in the language classroom, enabling a better understanding of culture-specific conceptual differences between learners' first and target language(s).

The Essentials : Supporting Dual Language Learners in Diverse Environments in Preschool & Kindergarten

This book answers the question what do early childhood educators need to understand to better address the linguistic, cognitive, and socioemotional needs of all DLLs in their classrooms?

Truth and Veridicality in Grammar and Thought : Mood, Modality, and Propositional Attitudes

"Can language directly access what is true, or is the truth judgment affected by the subjective, perhaps even solipsistic, constructs of reality built by the speakers of that language? The construction of such subjective representations is known as veridicality, and in this book Anastasia Giannakidou and Alda Mari deftly address the interaction between truth and veridicality in the grammatical phenomena of mood choice: the indicative and subjunctive choice in the complements of modal expressions (words like must, may, can, and possible) and propositional attitude verbs (such as know, believe, remember, dream, and persuade). Combining several strands of analysis-formal linguistic semantics, syntactic theory, modal logic, and philosophy of language- Giannakidou and Mari's theory not only enriches the analysis of linguistic modality, but also offers a unified perspective of modals and propositional attitudes. Their synthesis covers mood, modality, and attitude verbs in Greek and Romance languages including Italian and French, while also offering broader applications for languages lacking systematic mood distinction, such as English, and explaining interactions between modality, time, and evidentiality"

Shadowing Multilingual Learners

Walk in your Students' Shoes with Multilingual Learner Shadowing Updated after 10 years of research and practice, the second edition of this bestselling resource includes an overview on the importance of oral language development, information on preparing the shadowing experience, the complete shadowing protocol, a guide for analyzing the shadowing experience and key oral language development strategies. The new edition also adds improved data collection for oral language expression, as well as highlights updated research and classroom practice concerning new policies and programs implemented.

Approaches to Discourse Analysis

"Approaches to Discourse Analysis lends insights into micro-linguistic strategies, multimodality, meaning making, relationship and identity negotiation, ideological constructions, cultural practices, and our social worlds. The approaches employed in the eleven chapters are qualitative and quantitative; involve categorizing tokens and turn-by-turn analysis; use a range of transcription conventions; analyze speech, embodied communication, and online texts and images; differently rely on ethnographic and participants' own interpretive insights; and differ in myriad other subtle and not-so-subtle ways. The chapters analyze discourse in multiple languages, across multiple contexts, and in multiple modes. Collectively, they highlight the diversity and complexity of the field in terms of methods of data collection, topical foci, and analytic procedures, while emphasizing a unified goal of understanding communication as fundamentally connected to human agency and creativity, as co-constructed, and as embedded in and constitutive of our social and cultural worlds. Approaches to Discourse Analysis demonstrates the importance of the diverse perspectives that various approaches to discourse bring to bear on human communication, while also providing readers a window to the branches of our discipline, and how they diverge, intertwine, and blossom"

Languages Are Good For Us

A celebration of the huge linguistic diversity that is open to all of us at birth, and that has inspired and fascinated humans since the invention of speech.

Language and Social Minds

Combining theory from cognitive semantics and pragmatics, this book offers both a new model and a new usage-based method for the understanding of intersubjectivity, and how social cognition is expressed linguistically at different levels of complexity. Bringing together ideas from linguistics and theory of mind, Tantucci demonstrates the way in which speakers constantly monitor and project their interlocutor's reactions to what is being said, and sets out three distinct categories of social cognition in first language acquisition and language change. He also shows how this model can be applied in different settings and includes a range of examples from languages across the globe, to demonstrate the cross-linguistic universality of the model. Additionally the book offers insights into the gradient dimension of intersubjectivity in language evolution and across the autistic spectrum. Original and innovative, it will be invaluable for researchers in cognitive linguistics, pragmatics, historical linguistics, applied linguistics and cognitive psychology.

When Translation Goes Digital : Case Studies and Critical Reflections

This edited book brings together case studies from different contexts which all explore how a rapidly evolving digital landscape is impacting translation and intercultural communication. The chapters examine different facets of digitization, including how professional translators leverage digital tools and why, the types of digital data Translation Studies scholars can now observe, and how the Digital Humanities are impacting how we teach and theorize translation in an era of automation and artificial intelligence. The volume gives voice to research from across the professional and academic spectrum, with representation from Hong Kong, Canada, France, Algeria, South Korea, Japan, Brazil and the UK. This book will be of interest to professionals and academics working in the field of translation, as well as digital humanities and communications scholars.

Sound Change

Understanding sound change through contemporary theory and historical evidence

Articles in English as a Second Language : A Phraseological Perspective

The aim of this study is to provide an overview of research findings on the acquisition and use of articles in English as a second language, investigated from a phraseological perspective. It also presents an examination of various linguistic accounts of the English article system with respect to their application to English language teaching.

The Handbook of Speech Perception

A wide-ranging and authoritative volume exploring contemporary perceptual research on speech, updated with new original essays by leading researchers Speech perception is a dynamic area of study that encompasses a wide variety of disciplines, including cognitive neuroscience, phonetics, linguistics, physiology and biophysics, auditory and speech science, and experimental psychology. The Handbook of Speech Perception, Second Edition, is a comprehensive and up-to-date survey of technical and theoretical developments in perceptual research on human speech. Offering a variety of perspectives on the perception of spoken language, this volume provides original essays by leading researchers on the major issues and most recent findings in the field. Each chapter provides an informed and critical survey, including a summary of current research and debate, clear examples and research findings, and discussion of anticipated advances and potential research directions. The timely second edition of this valuable resource: Discusses a uniquely broad range of both foundational and emerging issues in the field Surveys the major areas of the field of human speech perception Features newly commissioned essays on the relation between speech perception and reading, features in speech perception and lexical access, perceptual identification of individual talkers, and perceptual learning of accented speech Includes essential revisions of many chapters original to the first edition Offers critical introductions to recent research literature and leading field developments Encourages the development of multidisciplinary research on speech perception Provides readers with clear understanding of the aims, methods, challenges, and prospects for advances in the field The Handbook of Speech Perception, Second Edition, is ideal for both specialists and non-specialists throughout the research community looking for a comprehensive view of the latest technical and theoretical accomplishments in the field.

Friend, follow and subscribe to Sprague library!