This is the "Home" page of the "Scholarly & Popular Publications Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Sprague Library
Library Home | Articles & Databases | Books & Media | Guides & Resources | Services |

Scholarly & Popular Publications Guide   Tags: citation styles, citation tools, citations  

This guide is to help users distinguish among the levels of scholarship represented in journals, magazine, and newspaper articles.
Last Updated: Sep 27, 2014 URL: http://montclair.libguides.com/scholarlyjournals Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Welcome!

Welcome to the Scholarly and Popular Publcations LibGuide. This guide describes the difference in scholarly journal articles, popular magazine articles, newspaper articles, and trade publications.

 

Sprague Library subscribes to most journals in online format. A few journals are available only in print and some in microfilm or microfiche. Search the Library's online databases to find articles. Many (but not all) articles will be available in full-text from the Library databases. To find a specific journal title search Sprague Library's Periodicals List. 

 

Thanks

Thanks to Acadia University's Psychology Research Guide at http://libguides.acadiau.ca/content.php?pid=54923&sid=1265370 for info on scholarly and popular journals and images from journals.

 

Distinguishing Scholarly Journals from Other Periodicals

Journals, magazines, and newspapers are important sources for up-to-date information in all disciplines. This guide is intended to help distinguish between the various levels of scholarship found in Sprague Library's databases and periodicals collection.  The criteria for evaluating periodical literature can be divided into:

 

How to Evaluate Periodicals

The terms periodical, serial, magazine, and journal are often used interchangeably but there are differences among them. Journal articles tend to be written by experts in the field and be more scholarly than magazine articles. Scholarly articles are also called peer-reviewed or research articles.

Scholarly vs. Popular?

For assignments, you may have to find articles from academic journals. In some databases like Academic Search Premier or Proquest Central, you can limit to scholarly (Peer-reviewed) journals. Some databases like Project Muse have a scholarly focus so the articles indexed are from scholarly sources. Some databases like LexisNexis Academic mainly index newspaper articles.

 

Guide Author

Karen Venturella
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip