Skip to main content
Montclair State University banner image

Sprague Library Monthly New Title Lists

Lists of new books and media the Library acquires each month

Select New Books and Media (Octomber 2018)

The Conscience of Trees

A collection of poems by Romanian-Hungarian poet and novelist, Zoltán Böszörményi. This poetry is quite current in approach and content but also reflects that special Eastern European angst that has accumulated in the collective consciousness of the region over its turbulent history. However, the alternation between free verse and formal style is entirely due to the fact that Hungarian language allows for an infinite variety of rhyme pairs and any form of meter, and much of contemporary Hungarian poetry is still produced in conventional form. For this book the selected poems were grouped not by style but by theme; the first part containing meditative poems, the second part devoted to personal/lyrical poems, and the third to poems inspired by or dedicated to other poets and writers. Various styles and forms are represented in each cycle; only outstanding quality and significant content were considered for inclusion.

Learning from Each Other

Learning from Each Other includes 20 original chapters written by well-known experts in the field of teaching and learning. Conceived for both new and experienced faculty at community colleges, four-year institutions, and research-intensive universities, the volume also addresses the interests of faculty and graduate students in programs designed to prepare future faculty and campus individuals responsible for faculty professional development. With the aim of cultivating engagement amongst students and deepening their understanding of the content, topics covered in this edited volume include: employing the science of learning in a social science context understanding the effects of a flipped classroom on student success pedagogical techniques to create a community of inquiry in online learning environments the risks and rewards of co-teaching reaching and teaching "non-traditional" students facilitating learning and leadership in student team projects connecting students with the community through research issues of assessment, including backward design, developing and using rubrics, and defining and implementing the scholarship of teaching and learning Through Learning from Each Other, all faculty who care about their teaching, but especially faculty in the social sciences, can successfully employ curricular innovations, classroom techniques, and advances in assessment to create better learning environments for their students.  

Using Peer Assessment to Inspire Reflection and Learning

"There is increasingly strong evidence that K-12 learners who assess each other's work and then engage in related reflections, discussions, and negotiations benefit mutually from the process. In this practical volume, Keith J. Topping provides suggestions for implementing effective peer assessment across many classroom contexts and subjects. Using Peer Assessment to Inspire Reflection and Learning offers pre- and in-service teachers a variety of teaching strategies to best fit their particular students and school environments along with straightforward tools to evaluate peer assessment's impact on their classrooms" -- Provided by publisher.

Title IX

This book examines the history and evolution of Title IX, a landmark 1972 law prohibiting sex discrimination at educational institutions receiving federal funding. Elizabeth Kaufer Busch and William Thro illuminate the ways in which the interpretation and implementation of Title IX have been transformed over time to extend far beyond the law's relatively narrow statutory text. The analysis considers the impact of Title IX on athletics, sexual harassment, sexual assault, and, for a time, transgender discrimination. Combining legal and cultural perspectives and supported by primary documents, Title IX: The Transformation of Sex Discrimination in Education offers a balanced and insightful narrative of interest to anyone studying the history of sex discrimination, educational policy, and the law in the contemporary United States.

The More We Look, the Deeper It Gets

The More We Look, the Deeper It Gets: Transforming the Curriculum through Art provides inspiration and practical guidance for teaching with works of art in order to deepen engagement and improve student learning. The book introduces the Pyramid of Inquiry, a flexible framework that teachers of all subject areas can use to support connections between students' lives, academic curriculum, and works of art from across time and place. Based on three years of research with New York City K-12 public school students and educators at the Metropolitan Museum of Art, the book highlights best practices for teaching with works of art and shares exemplars from diverse classrooms. Readers will gain valuable insights, strategies and resources for leveraging the power of art to reach all learners.

Design Research in Education

Design Research in Education is a practical guide containing all the information required to begin a design-research project. Providing an accessible background to the methodological approaches used in design research as well as addressing all the potential issues that early career researchers will encounter, the book uniquely helps the early career researcher to gain a full overview of design research and the practical skills needed to get their project off the ground. Based on extensive experience, the book also contains multiple examples of design research from both undergraduate and postgraduate students, to demonstrate possible projects to the reader. With easy to follow chapters and accessible question and response sections, Design Research in Education contains practical advice on a wide range of topics related to design research projects including: The theory of design research, what it entails, and when it is suitable The formulation of research questions How to structure a research project The quality of research and the methodological issues of validity and reliability How to write up your research The supervision of design research Through its theoretical grounding and practical advice, Design Research in Education is the ideal introduction into the field of design-based research and is essential reading for bachelor's, master's and PhD students new to the field, as well as to supervisors overseeing projects that use design research.

Culturally Responsive School Leadership

Culturally Responsive School Leadership focuses on how school leaders can effectively serve minoritized students--those who have been historically marginalized in school and society. The book demonstrates how leaders can engage students, parents, teachers, and communities in ways that positively impact learning by honoring indigenous heritages and local cultural practices.   Muhammad Khalifa explores three basic premises. First, that a full-fledged and nuanced understanding of "cultural responsiveness" is essential to successful school leadership. Second, that cultural responsiveness will not flourish and succeed in schools without sustained efforts by school leaders to define and promote it. Finally, that culturally responsive school leadership comprises a number of crucial leadership behaviors, which include critical self-reflection; the development of culturally responsive teachers; the promotion of inclusive, anti-oppressive school environments; and engagement with students' indigenous community contexts.   Based on an ethnography of a school principal who exemplifies the practices and behaviors of culturally responsive school leadership, the book provides educators with pedagogy and strategies for immediate implementation.

The Promise and Practice of Next Generation Assessment

In The Promise and Practice of Next Generation Assessment, David T. Conley presents the case for a new, comprehensive system of assessment using different measurements for different purposes. Changes in the purposes of education, he argues, demand forms of assessment that go beyond merely ranking students to supporting the ambitious aim of helping all students meet career and college readiness goals.   Conley describes the interplay between assessment and learning, and shows how "next generation" approaches can produce results that are more effective in informing classroom instruction. Acknowledging the complexity and limitations of many of these novel approaches, he suggests that rather than relying on a system built on a single measure--high-stakes, multiple-choice tests--what is needed is a system that draws on a more diverse portfolio of personalized assessments. Conley provides several examples of programs, schools, and districts that are piloting next generation approaches, and describes the opportunities and implementation challenges involved in making this shift.   With decades of experience in learning and assessment, Conley outlines how next generation models can support ambitious learning for all students.  

Data and Teaching

Data use in teaching is at the heart of current educational policy and school improvement efforts. Dispelling magical thinking that it is a simple solution to underachieving schools, this timely book explores what data use in teaching really is, how it works in theory and practice, and why it sometimes fails to achieve expected goals. Drawing on their research in nine of New York City's most poverty impacted schools, the authors dive deep into school systems and routines, as well as into teachers' practices and students' experiences. They also zoom out to capture the larger currents that have made this school reform strategy so prominent today. Each chapter includes a discussion of a new direction that schools and teachers can take to ensure that data use in teaching actually spurs growth in learning. This resource extracts lessons from both chaotic and productive data implementation in order to inform practice and fulfill hopes for better schooling, richer teaching, and deeper learning.

Pain Killer

Between 1999 and 2017, an estimated 250,000 Americans died from overdoses involving prescription painkillers, a plague ignited by the aggressive marketing of OxyContin by its maker, Purdue Pharma. Purdue, owned by a wealthy and secretive family--the Sacklers--knew early on that teenagers and others were abusing its billion dollar "wonder" drug. But Justice Department officials balked a decade ago when it came to meting out justice, allowing an opioid crisis to evolve into a catastrophe. Originally published in 2003 and hailed since as groundbreaking, Meier--in this thoroughly updated edition--reveals new and shocking information about how long the drug maker knew about OxyContin's abuse, even as it marketed it aggressively, and the way government officials passed up opportunities to protect hundreds of thousands of lives. Equal parts crime thriller, medical detective story, and business exposU, Pain Killer is the origin story of the opioid crisis, a hard-hitting look at how a supposed wonder drug became the gateway drug to a national tragedy.

Empathy

A surprising, sweeping, and deeply researched history of empathy--from late-nineteenth-century German aesthetics to mirror neurons​ Empathy: A History tells the fascinating and largely unknown story of the first appearance of "empathy" in 1908 and tracks its shifting meanings over the following century. Despite empathy's ubiquity today, few realize that it began as a translation of Einfühlung or "in-feeling" in German psychological aesthetics that described how spectators projected their own feelings and movements into objects of art and nature. Remarkably, this early conception of empathy transformed into its opposite over the ensuing decades. Social scientists and clinical psychologists refashioned empathy to require the deliberate putting aside of one's feelings to more accurately understand another's. By the end of World War II, interpersonal empathy entered the mainstream, appearing in advice columns, popular radio and TV, and later in public forums on civil rights. Even as neuroscientists continue to map the brain correlates of empathy, its many dimensions still elude strict scientific description.   This meticulously researched book uncovers empathy's historical layers, offering a rich portrait of the tension between the reach of one's own imagination and the realities of others' experiences.

Spirituality and Religion in Counseling

Spirituality and Religion in Counseling: Competency-Based Strategies for Ethical Practiceprovides mental health professionals and counselors in training with practical information for understanding and responding to clients' needs using a spiritual and religious framework. This work conceptualizes spiritual and faith development in a holistic way, using case examples and practical interventions to consider common issues through a variety of approaches and frameworks. This is an essential compendium of actionable strategies and solutions for counselors looking to address clients' complex spiritual and religious lives and foster meaningful faith development.

Self-Regulation in Learning

In their new book, Alison L. Bailey and Margaret Heritage illustrate how to help students become more self-regulated learners--that is, to be able to monitor and take charge of their own learning when working independently and in groups. Language provides the foundation for the development of self-regulatory skills, enabling students to express themselves and negotiate interactions with others; the demands of these self-regulatory processes in turn can support the development of rich vocabulary and social language skills. The authors also emphasize the role of formative assessment as a means of supporting students in engaging in language-rich, self-regulated learning.   Self-Regulation in Learning shows how classrooms can be intentionally designed to support ambitious learning. Detailed vignettes from real-life classrooms illustrate the teacher's role in helping students gradually master the processes of self-regulation, socially shared regulation, and coregulation. Each chapter also includes strategies for addressing the needs of English learners in the general education classroom.   Students' capacity for self-regulation is central to the set of outcomes that compose college and career readiness: communicating and collaborating effectively, problem-solving, setting goals and following through on them, and applying knowledge in deep and rigorous ways. Self-Regulation in Learning represents an invaluable contribution to research-based classroom practice.

Slang Across Societies

Slang Across Societiesis an introductory reference work and textbook which aims to acquaint readers with key themes in the study of youth, criminal and colloquial language practices. Focusing on key questions such as speaker identity and motivations, perceptions of use and users, language variation, and attendant linguistic manipulations, the book identifies and discusses more than 20 in-group and colloquial varieties from no fewer than 16 different societies worldwide. Suitable for advanced undergraduate and postgraduate students working in areas of slang, lexicology, lexicography, sociolinguistics and youth studies, Slang Across Societies brings together extensive research on youth, criminal and colloquial language from different parts of the world.

Language Deprivation and Deaf Mental Health Care

Language Deprivation and Deaf Mental Health explores the impact of the language deprivation that some deaf individuals experience by not being provided fully accessible language exposure during childhood. Leading experts in Deaf mental health care discuss the implications of language deprivation for a person¿s development, communication, cognitive abilities, behavior, and mental health. Beginning with a groundbreaking discussion of language deprivation syndrome, the chapters address the challenges of psychotherapy, interpreting, communication and forensic assessment, language and communication development with language deprived persons, as well as whether cochlear implantation means deaf children should not receive rich sign language exposure. The book concludes with a discussion of the most effective advocacy strategies to prevent language deprivation. These issues, which draw on both cultural and disability perspectives, are central to the emerging clinical specialty of Deaf mental health.

Culturally Inclusive Instructional Design

As online courses and digital learning enable more people from more places to learn together, it is crucial for instructional design to incorporate diverse cultural perspectives. Culturally Inclusive Instructional Design provides a framework for thinking about culture in digital learning, offering insight into how to build inclusive online communities that encourage reflection and growth, regardless of content domain. Chapters cover the foundation, components, and implementation of the authors' Wisdom Communities (WisCom) framework, which enables learners from global backgrounds to experience long-lasting, transformative learning through real-world problem-solving. This book is a timely, resourceful guide to building truly collaborative, inquiry-based online learning experiences.

Situating Qualitative Methods in Psychological Science

Although qualitative approaches to psychological research have a long history in the discipline, they have also been, and remain, marginalized from the canon of mainstream scientific psychology. At the current moment, however, there is growing recognition of the importance of qualitative methods and a movement toward a more inclusive and eclectic stance on psychological research. This volume reflects upon the historical and contemporary place of qualitative methods in psychology and considers future possibilities for further integration of these methods in the discipline. Scholars representing a wide-range of perspectives in qualitative and theoretical psychology reflect on the historical and contemporary positions of qualitative methods in psychology with an eye to the future of research and theory in the discipline. This book encourages a more critical and inclusive stance on research, recognizing both the limits and contributions that different methodological approaches can make to the project of psychological knowledge.

Black New Jersey

Black New Jersey tells the rich and complex story of the African American community's remarkable accomplishments and the colossal obstacles they faced along the way. Drawing from rare archives, historian Graham Russell Gao Hodges brings to life the courageous black men and women who fought for their freedom and eventually built a sturdy and substantial middle class. He explores how the state's unique mix of religious, artistic, and cultural traditions have helped to produce such world-renowned figures as Paul Robeson, Cory Booker, and Queen Latifah, as well as a host of lesser-known but equally influential New Jersey natives.  

Navigating Social Journalism

Public trust in the once powerful institutions of the News Establishment is declining. Sharing, curating and producing news via social media channels may offer an alternative, if the difficult process of verification can be mastered by social journalists operating outside of the newsroom. Navigating Social Journalismexamines the importance of digital media literacy and how we should all be students of the media. Author Martin Hirst emphasizes the responsibility that individuals should take when consuming the massive amounts of media we encounter on a daily basis. This includes information we gather from online media, streaming, podcasts, social media and other formats. The tools found here will help students critically evaluate any incoming media and, in turn, produce their own media with their own message. This book aims both to help readers understand the current state of news media through theory and provide practical techniques and skills to partake in constructive social journalism.

Understanding Formulaic Language

Multi- and interdisciplinary in nature, Understanding Formulaic Language brings together leading researchers in the field to provide a state-of-the-art account of what is known about the acquisition, processing, and use of formulaic language, focusing, in particular, on the recent developments and directions for future research. Three distinct but complementary perspectives on the study of formulaic language are presented ¿ the cognitive and psycholinguistic, socio-cultural and pragmatic, and pedagogical ¿ attesting to a rich research base. Understanding Formulaic Language: A Second Language Acquisition Perspective is an essential resource for established researchers and graduate students in second language acquisition and pedagogy, corpus and cognitive linguistics, psycholinguistics, sociolinguistics, and pragmatics.

Elastic

Tap into the hidden power of your brain.   "Elastic is a book that will help you survive the whirlwind." --Daniel H. Pink, author of When and A Whole New Mind   Are you worried the pace of the modern world is going to leave you behind? Do you feel like your head is going to explode if you receive one more email? The best-selling author of Subliminal and The Drunkard's Walk, Leonard Mlodinow, teaches us how to unleash the natural abilities we all possess that are essential to thriving in these dynamic and troubled times.   Everyone knows that creative thinkers can thrive in periods of upheaval. Truly original minds capitalize when everyone else struggles. And most of us assume creativity is an innate ability reserved for a select few. But Mlodinow shows us that we all have encoded in our brains a skill he terms elastic thinking--a bottom-up cognitive style that frees our minds to be more adept at generating and incorporating novel ideas. Tapping into this natural ability enabled innovators from Mary Shelley to Miles Davis, from the inventor of jumbo-sized popcorn to the creators of Pokémon Go, to effect paradigm shifts in our culture and society. With Mlodinow's guidance, we can learn to let go of comfortable ideas and become accustomed to ambiguity and contradiction, to rise above conventional mindsets and to reframe the questions we ask, to abandon our ingrained assumptions and open ourselves to new paradigms. Mlodinow reveals how we can navigate the rapidly changing landscapes around us and provides actionable advice as to how we can harness our elastic brain at just the right time.

Dramatic Dialogue

In Dramatic Dialogue, Atlas and Aron develop the metaphors of drama and theatre to introduce a new way of thinking about therapeutic action and therapeutic traction. This model invites the patient's many self-states and the numerous versions of the therapist's self onto the analytic stage to dream a mutual dream and live together the past and the future, as they appear in the present moment. The book brings together the relational emphasis on multiple self-states and enactment with the Bionian conceptions of reverie and dreaming-up the patient. The term Dramatic Dialogueoriginated in Ferenczi's clinical innovations and refers to the patient and therapist dramatizing and dreaming-up the full range of their multiple selves. Along with Atlas and Aron, readers will become immersed in a Dramatic Dialogue, which the authors elaborate and enact, using the contemporary language of multiple self-states, waking dreaming, dissociation, generative enactment, and the prospective function. The book provides a rich description of contemporary clinical practice, illustrated with numerous clinical tales and detailed examination of clinical moments. Inspired by Bion's concept of "becoming-at-one" and "at-one-ment," the authors call for a return of the soul or spirit to psychoanalysis and the generative use of the analyst's subjectivity, including a passionate use of mind, body and soul in the pursuit of psychoanalytic truth. Dramatic Dialogue will be of great interest to all psychoanalysts and psychotherapists.

Black Panther / Marvel Studios presents ; directed by Ryan Coogler ; written by Ryan Coogler & Joe Robert Cole ; produced by Kevin Feige

King T'Challa returns home to the isolated, technologically advanced African nation of Wakanda to serve as new leader. However, T'Challa soon finds that he is challenged for the throne from divisions within his own country. When two enemies conspire to destroy Wakanda, the hero known as Black Panther must join forces with C.I.A. agent Everett K. Ross and members of the Wakandan Special Forces, to prevent Wakanda from being drawn into a world war.

Bowling for Columbine

"In the wake of the Columbine High School massacre in 1999, the intrepid filmmaker Michael Moore set out to investigate the long, often volatile love affair between Americans and their firearms, uncovering the pervasive culture of fear that keeps the nation locked and loaded. Equipped with a camera and a microphone, Moore follows the trail of bullets from Littleton, Colorado and Flint, Michigan, all the way to Kmart's midwestern headquarters and NRA president Charlton Heston's Beverly Hills mansion, meeting shooting survivors, militia members, mild-mannered Canadians, and rock provocateur Marilyn Manson along the way. An unprecedented popular success that helped usher in a new era in documentary filmmaking, the Oscar-winning Bowling for Columbine is a raucous, impassioned, and still tragically relevant journey through the American psyche"--Container.

Friend, follow and subscribe to Sprague library!