This is the "Articles and Databases" page of the "Resources on Kristallnacht and German Jewry" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Sprague Library
Library Home | Articles & Databases | Books & Media | Guides & Resources | Services |

Resources on Kristallnacht and German Jewry   Tags: german jewry, holocaust, jewish history, kristallnacht  

Last Updated: Dec 24, 2013 URL: http://montclair.libguides.com/kristallnacht Print Guide

Articles and Databases Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Welcome to the Kristallnacht Research Guide

Nuremburg Synagogue Destroyed by Nazis

Kristallnacht and the pogroms orchestrated by the Nazis targeting German Jews took place on November 9-10, 1938.  This guide covers the full range of subjects related to Kristallnacht including German Jewish History, German Jewish Culture, Anti-Semitism, Assimilation, Racial Laws, National Socialists, Pogroms, Concentration Camps, Media Coverage and World Reaction.  In addition, this guide includes resources related to the contemporary German Jewish community (culture, religion, news, etc.).

 

Commemoration of the 75th Anniversary of Kristallnacht

The University is sponsoring a series of programs to commemorate the 75th Anniversary of Kristallnacht from October through November, 2013.  The events include a lecture series, film screenings, and an exhibit of the artwork from Andrea Strongwater's book entitled "The Lost Synagogues of Europe"(October 28 through December 22, 2013). 

Kristallnacht Commemorative Program Homepage

 

 

Jewish American Studies Program

Montclair State University offers a minor in Jewish American Studies which explores "the nature of the relationship over time between the Jewish community and the emerging American nation and the contributions to American culture, institutions, and intellectual traditions made by Jewish heritage, arts, religion, language, sciences, values and most importantly, by people of Jewish heritage themselves".  If you are interested in finding out more about the program, please take a look at the flyer below.

JAST
Program

 

Remote Access

If you are trying to access the library's resources from off-campus, please click here.  

Other Resources

Indexes and Abstracts (Paper)

  • Religion Index (REF Z7753 .A52)

Microform Collections

  • A catalog of files and microfilms of the German Foreign Ministry archives, 1920-1945 (available on microfilm in the Multimedia Services Dept. - Microfilm no. 273 v. 1)

     

     
      
     

    Databases arranged by Topic

    German Jewish Studies

    • RAMBI (Index of Articles on Jewish Studies)
      A selective bibliography of articles in the fields of Jewish and Israel Studies. Material listed in Rambi is compiled from thousands of periodicals and from collections of articles - in Hebrew, Yiddish, and European languages - mainly from the holdings of the Jewish National and University Library in Israel.
    • Dissertaiton Abstracts Online
      Index of doctoral dissertations and master's theses. Full text of titles published since 1997 is available for free download.
    • Project Muse   
      Full text database of over 160 electronic journals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences.
    • Proquest Central
      ProQuest Central is a multidisciplinary database with over 11,000 titles, 8,000 titles of which are full-text. Over 160 subjects areas are covered extensively in this product including business and economics, health and medical, news and world affairs, technology, social sciences and more.

    German Jews - Art

    • Art Full Text   
      This database offers full text plus abstracts and indexing of an international array of peer-selected publications including expanded coverage of Latin American, Canadian, Asian and non-Western art, new artists, contemporary art, exhibition reviews, and feminist criticism.
    • Oxford Art Online   
      Provides access to the more than 23,000 subject entries, 21,000 biographies, 500,000 bibliographic citations, 40,000 image links and 5,500 images contained within Grove Art Online, as well as access to more than 5,000 entries and 500 images from the Oxford Companion to Western Art, the Concise Dictionary of Art Terms, and Oxford's Encyclopedia of Aesthetics.

    German Jews - History

    • Historical Abstracts
      Abstracts of journal articles, citations to books, and dissertations on the history of the world (excluding North America) from 1450 to the present. Useful for researching Jewish history (outside of North America).
    • JSTOR
      Archive of full-text journal articles in African American studies, African studies, anthropology, archaeology, Asian studies, Classical studies, ecology, economics, education, finance, geography, history, languages and literature, Latin American studies, mathematics, Middle East studies, philosophy, political science, population studies, Slavic studies, sociology, and statistics.

    German Jews - Languages & Literature

    • Literary Reference Center   
      A comprehensive literary reference database, which provides users with a broad spectrum of reference information from antiquity to the present day. LRC is a completely full-text database that combines information from over 1,000 books and monographs, major literary encyclopedias and reference works, hundreds of literary journals, and unique sources not available anywhere else.
    • Literature Resource Center   
      Includes up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world.
    • MLA (Modern Language Association) Bibliography    
      Index to articles and other material on modern languages, literature, linguistics and folklore. Covers subjects from prose to poetry, genres to literary forms, national literatures and regional dialects.

    German Jews - Music

    • BMS Online   
      The Bibliography of Music Literature (online) provides citations of works from 1986 to the present. It includes monographs and journal articles, Festschriften, congress proceedings, yearbooks, anthologies, critical reports and interdisciplinary writings as well as reviews and other materials.

    German Jews - Philosophy & Religion

    • Philosopher's Index   
      Index and abstracts of scholarly research in philosophy published in books and journals since 1940.
    • Proquest Religion   
      Collection of journals covering religious issues and perspectives, including religious news and information, commentary on topics of general interest from the perspective of a particular religion, and formal theological studies.
    • Religion & Philosophy Collection   
      Includes close to 300 full text journals related to topics such as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy, and the history of philosophy.

    German Jews - Theatre & Film

    • International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance  
      A fully indexed, cross-referenced and annotated databank of over 60,000 journal articles, books, book articles and dissertation abstracts on all aspects of theatre and performance in 126 countries. International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance contains full text for more than 100 periodicals and more than 100 books & monographs.

    Social Sciences & Humanities

    • JSTOR   
      Archive of full-text journal articles in African American studies, African studies, anthropology, archaeology, Asian studies, Classical studies, ecology, economics, education, finance, geography, history, languages and literature, Latin American studies, mathematics, Middle East studies, philosophy, political science, population studies, Slavic studies, sociology, and statistics.
    • Project Muse   
      Full text database of over 160 electronic journals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences.
    • Social Sciences Citation Index   
      Citation index which provides access to current and retrospective information from over 1,950 of the world's leading social sciences journals across 50 disciplines, as well as 3,500 of the world's leading scientific and technical journals
    • Sociological Abstracts   
      Index to publications in the fields of sociology, social sciences and related disciplines from 1986 to the present.

     

     

    Periodicals

    To find periodicals in the area of Jewish Studies and/or related subjects please go to the following link, Periodicals A-Z List

    The Library's collection of Jewish Studies journals can be broken down into the following categories:

     

    Current Scholarship on Kristallnacht

    Loading Loading...
    blank padding
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip