About the Collections
The Sprague Library e-Book collections cover many subject areas - everything from art, the humanities, history, to science and technology. E-books are electronic versions of books and can be viewed online or downloaded to a plug-in application, such as Adobe Digital Editions, or, in some cases, to an e-reader device such as an iPad. Browse the Sprague Library e-Books for quick research, answers to reference questions, or read them at your leisure. They’re available for you to use - anywhere, any time.
|The Oxford Reference Collection provides access to over 100 reference books in the arts, humanities, and sciences, including dictionaries, biographical resoruces, encyclopedias, handbooks, etc.|
|The Sage Reference Collection provides online access to reference titles in a variety of subject areas including Business & Management, Communications, Counseling, Economics, Education. Geography, Health & Social Welfare, Political Science, Psychology and Sociology|
|The Berg Fashion Library provides access to interdisciplinary and integrated text, image, and journal content on world dress and fashion. The Berg Fashion Library offers users cross-searchable access to an expanding range of essential resources in this discipline of growing importance and relevance including a specially-created taxonomy, an e-book collection, and extensive color image bank.|
|The Gale Virtual Reference Library provides access to hundreds of reference books with titles representing a variety of subject areas including anthropology, business, history, law, literature, medicine, and science.|
Most ebook Collections download to Adobe Digital Editions plug-in application on your laptop or your tablet. Click here for help with Adobe Digital Editions.
Please note: Due to software licensing terms, Library Reference computers cannot download ebooks. Please view ebooks through the Internet browser on the Reference and public access Library computers.
How to Find ebooks @ Sprague
Check the library’s catalog for ebooks. Begin with some basic keyword searches, combining a few terms that relate to your topic, for example:
Art and literature
Also, the Library has licensed access to Reference and subject-specific ebook Collections in addition to digital images and media with separate search interfaces that the MSU community can access using their netID.
Download Free App for Library Catalog
Bookmyne is the Sprague Library iPhone app, that MSU students, faculty and staff may use to search the library's online catalog.
Create ebook links for sharing
Find an ebook in the online library catalog, use the Permalink button to share Search results. It gives the URL to repeat most searches in an updated mode each time a user runs it.
Once you've determined the ebook for which you'd like to create a Permalink, click on the PERMALINK button in the gray bar at the top of the the Library Catalog screen. A browser pop-up showing the permalink will open.
- Highlight the entire link shown in the Permalink box and copy it.
- Paste the copied permalink into a Web page, email message, or other electronic medium.
- Test the link to be sure that it retrieves your desired result.