TABLE OF CONTENTS
Overview of the Collection
Biographical Note
Scope and Contents
Arrangement
Restrictions
Detailed Description of the Collection
Series 1: Box 1 1926-2007
|
Inventory to the Records of the Montclair State University College of Humanities and Social Sciences
| |
|
Overview of the Collection
|
| Repository: |
Sprague Library Archives Montclair State University 1 Normal Ave. Montclair, NJ 07043 |
| Creator: |
Montclair State University |
| Title: |
Various Records of the Montclair State University College of Humanities and Social Sciences |
| Dates: |
1926-2007 |
| Quantity: |
1.2 cubic feet |
| Identification: |
CHSSNjUpM |
| Language: |
The records are in English. |
Biographical Note
The College of Humanities and Social Sciences (CHSS) is part of the Division of Academic Affairs. The College offers a variety of majors, minors, areas of graduate study, and professional certificate programs in the humanities and social sciences. In 1970, the thirty-two major departments in Montclair State College were organized into five schools, headed by a dean. This arrangement was modified in 1972 when the College was divided into six schools. Two of these schools, the School of Social and Behavioral Sciences, and the School of Humanities merged in 1980 to become the School of Humanities and Social Sciences under Dean Philip S. Cohen. The College is made up of the following departments, programs, and centers:
Departments:
Anthropology
Classics and General Humanities
Communication Sciences and Disorders
English
History
Justice Studies
Linguistics
Modern Languages and Literatures:
* French Program
* German Program
* Russian Program
* Arabic Program
* Hebrew Program
* Chinese Program
* Japanese Program
Philosophy and Religion
Political Science and Law
Psychology
Sociology
Spanish and Italian
Programs:
African American Studies
Asian Studies
Film Studies
Jewish American Studies
Non-credit ESL (English as a Second Language)
International Studies
Latin American and Latino Studies
Social Studies Teacher Certification Program
Women's and Gender Studies
Centers, Institutes, and Societies:
Career Services
Center for Child Advocacy
Center for Communication Disorders
Center for Hearing and Balance
Center for Heritage and Archaeological Studies (CHAS)
Forensic Psychology
Institute for the Humanities
Language Learning Technology
Language Laboratory
Translation Laboratory
Law Clinic
SORAC (Society of Research on African Cultures)
The Joseph and Elda Coccia Institute for the Italian Experience in America
The Institute for Critical Thinking
Return to the Table of Contents
Scope and Contents
The Sprague Library Archives is not a formal institutional repository. This series of records contains a small collection of documents collected by the library from the College of Humanities and Social Sciences. The records are largely unrelated and cover a wide range of dates.
Return to the Table of Contents
Arrangement
The records are arranged in one series. The series is divided into ten subseries. Series is arranged in one document archival storage box.
Return to the Table of Contents
Restrictions
Restrictions on Access
The collection is open for research use.
Restrictions on Use
Copyright restrictions may apply.
Return to the Table of Contents
Detailed Description of the Collection
| |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
| Series 1: Box 1 1926-2007 |
| |
|
Subseries 1: Class Notebook for SS 302 Field Studies in Urban Life, Spring, 1948. Donated by William F. Cox 1948 |
| |
|
Subseries 2: The Montclair Journal of Social Sciences and Humanities, Volume 1, Fall, 1972, Number 1 A Publication of the Schools of Social and Behavioral Sciences and Humanities of Montclair State College, Upper Montclair, New Jersey 1972 |
| |
2 |
|
Folder Number 2: The Montclair Journal of Social Sciences and Humanities, Volume 1, Fall, 1972, Number 1 A Publication of the Schools of Social and Behavioral Sciences and Humanities of Montclair State College, Upper Montclair, New Jersey 1972 |
| |
|
Subseries 3: School of Humanities Newsletters 1971 - 1972 |
| |
3 |
|
Folder Number 3: School of Humanities Newsletters:
Vol. 1, No.2 - February 1971
Vol. 1, No. 3 - March 1971
Vol. 2, No. 2 - December 1971
Vol. 2, No. 4 - May 1972
Vol. 3, No. 1 - October 1972
Vol. 3, No. 2 - November 1972
School of Humanities Flyer (Undated)
1971-1972 |
| |
|
Subseries 4: Miscellaneous Newsletters 1968-1973 |
| |
4 |
|
Folder Number 4: Miscellaneous Newsletters:
Department of Social Sciences Newsletter (1968)
Octagon, School of Social and Behavioral Sciences Newsletter (1971 - 1973)
School of Social and Behavioral Sciences (Undated)
1953-1964 |
| |
|
Subseries 5: English Department 1926-? |
| |
5 |
|
Folder Number 5: Letter to Harold Bohn (1926) 1926 |
| |
|
|
|
|
Harold Bohn worked at Montclair State for 37 years and served as Chair of the English Department. |
| |
6 |
|
Folder Number 6: Papers from Sharon Spencer |
| |
|
|
|
|
Sharon Spencer was made a Professor Emerita in 07/19/01. |
| |
|
Subseries 6: Linguistics 1991 |
| |
7 |
|
Folder Number 7: Interlanguage Volume 1, No. 1 1991 |
| |
|
Subseries 7: Department of Modern Languages and Literatures 1938-2007 |
| |
8 |
|
Item Number 8: Department of Modern Languages and Literatures, Self Study 2006-2007 2006-2007 |
| |
9 |
|
Folder Number 9: An Inquiry into the Influences of the Germanic Superstratum on the Vocabulary and Phoenetic Structure of Gallo-Romance by Paul A. Gaeng, Ph.D 1968 |
| |
10 |
|
Folder Number 10: Der Germanist (newsletter) 1938 |
| |
11 |
|
Folder Number 11: Der Germanist (newsletter) 1939 |
| |
|
Subseries 8: Department of Philosophy and Religion 2007 |
| |
12 |
|
Item Number 12: Philosophy and Religion Self-Study Spring, 2007 2007 |
| |
|
Subseries 9: Psychology Department 1969-1970 |
| |
13 |
|
Folder Number 13: Human Relations Laboratory (1969), Encounter Newsletter (1969, 1970) 1969, 1970 |
| |
|
Subseries 10: Institute for Critical Thinking 1987-1995 |
| |
14 |
|
Folder Number 14: Institute for Critical Thinking Documents:
Announcement for the appointment of Dr. Wendy Oxman as Director of the Institute for Critical Thinking (1987)
Institute for Critical Thinking - Program Narrative (1987)
Critical Thinking: Focus on Social and Cultural Inquiry - Conference Program (1989)
Inquiry, Vol. XIV, No. 3 (1995)
Inquiry, Vol. XIV, No. 4 (1995)
1987-1995 |
| |
15 |
|
Folder Number 15: Inquiry, Volume 9, Number 1 1991 |
|
![Montclair State University banner image](http://www.montclair.edu/library/wp-content/uploads/sites/213/2023/09/university_libraries_horizontal.png")