Reference Librarians |
William Vincenti Links: Profile & Guides |
Citation Searching
Citation Searching refers to searching for articles that have cited an older publication.
Citations can be traced through the use of several tools that are available on the market.
The three primary tools are Web of Knowledge, Scopus and Google Scholar.
- Web of Knowledge: (about) Contains the three citation indexes that have existed since the early 1960s:
Arts & Humanities Citation Index - Indexes over 1,300 journals.
Science Citation Index - Indexes over 6,650 journals.
Social Science Citation Index - Indexes over 1,700 journals.
- Google Scholar: Another useful option for citation search, but one that is an anomaly in the
library profession. While it tracks citations for articles from both books and articles, the folks
at Google do not share the list of what vendors are involved in the project and so librarians
cannot tell with any certainty just what it is searching.
Links to articles about Google Scholar's coverage are below:
Peter's Digital Reference Shelf
Google Scholar Duped and deduped - the aura of robometrics. (pre-print version)
Jasco, Peter. (2011) Online Information Review. 35(1), pp. 154-160.
- Scopus: (about) is not available at the Sprague Library.
The nearest library that currently subscribes is the Van Houten Library at NJIT.
Tracks citations in over 18,000 publications, over half of which are from Europe, Latin America and Asia.
Over two thirds of the coverage is in the hard sciences, with the remainder being in the social sciences
and psychology.
The citation indexes are strongest in the sciences with Scopus including over 12,000 science and medicine titles and Science Citation Index over 6,100 titles. Coverage in other fields is markedly less comprehensive. In the social sciences Scopus covers around 2,700 titles and Social Sciences Citation Index covers around 1,700 titles. Arts & Humanities Citation Index includes approximately 1,300 publications and is the only tool for tracking citations in those fields.
Suggestions for additions to the guide, ways to make it clearer or for new resources that would add to the depth of the library's collection are welcome.
-Tom Trone and William Vincenti
Reference Desk: 973-655-4291
Rankings
Resources that rank the importance of journals in their fields of study.
- Cabell's DirectoriesNot currently available at MSU, but you can use it if you go in person to the library at William Paterson University.
Directories of scholarly journals designed to aid scholars and researchers in the publication of manuscripts. Current contact information, publication guidelines, review information and circulation data are provided for each journal. - eigenFACTORAims to evaluate the influence of scholarly periodicals and to map the structure of academic research.
[more detail] - Journal Citation ReportsNot currently available at MSU, but is available if you go in person to any of the Rutgers Libraries.
It allows the evaluation and comparison of journals using citation data drawn from over 7,500 scholarly and technical journals. JCR will help you discover the most frequently cited and highest impact journals in a field.
Loading...
