Skip to main content
Montclair State University banner image

EndNote

Adding References to Your Account

Export references into EndNote

You can do this from a database or other resource. Many databases and online resources offer an option to export references directly into EndNote, or an option to save to a general citation manager. Either option will work.

Use EndNote to search library catalogs

You can use EndNote itself to search library catalogs. In the Online Search mode, you can find a list of these catalogs by clicking more in the Library pane of the EndNote window.

Create a New Reference

You can do this by using the New Reference button. This option is especially good for nontraditional information sources like email or interviews.

Import references into EndNote

You can do this by saving a reference to your computer desktop as a text file, and then importing it into your account by using the Import option under the File drop-down menu.

Export from Databases

Exporting citations directly from a library database or journal publisher's website will give you the most complete and accurate citations. Look for "citation," "export," or "cite this" buttons on the database or article page. The most commonly used file type for citation managers such as EndNote is .RIS

Import from a File

You can import multiple references from RIS files or other citation management software into a Endnote account.

  1. Export the references from your other citation management software. If you don't see an option to export in EndNote format, use the RIS format.
  2. In EndNote Desktop, select Import from the File drop down menu.
  3. Navigate to the downloaded reference list and click Import.
  4. Once the processing is complete your records will appear in the Imported References folder

Adding the Capture web plug-in can replace this process. This will allow you to import citations directly from a variety of databases. For Capture to work best, you must be in a Capture compatible resource and at the individual item level (not in a list of citations).

Find Full Text

To find the full text articles of citations in your EndNote x8 library, you can use the "Find Full Text" tool by following these steps:

  1. From the top menu bar, choose Edit-->Preferences (For Mac users, choose: EndNote x8-->Preferences)
  2. Choose the Find Full Text option
  3. In the OpenURL Path field, copy and paste: http://montclair.on.worldcat.org/atoztitles/link​
  4. In the Authenticate with: URL field, copy and paste: http://ezproxy.montclair.edu:2048/login​

EndNote Find Full Text under "Preferences" menu

Now you've authenticated yourself as an affiliate of the University, so when you search for full text it will search the licensed content available from the University Library System's databases. To have EndNote search for PDF full text, follow these steps:

  1. Highlight the article or articles (hold down the Shift key while clicking to highlight multiple citations at once)
  2. From the top menu bar, choose References --> Find Full Text --> Find Full Text
  3. Agree to the Copyright notification, if prompted
  4. On the left-hand side of your library, you'll see a list showing the number of articles being searched for full text, how many were found, and how many were not found. If found, the PDF automatically attaches to the citation.

Find Full Text menu

Note: The "Find Full Text" tool does not work in all cases. If the full text cannot be retrieved within EndNote, you may still be able to locate the full text via searching the library's databases.

Friend, follow and subscribe to Sprague library!