Skip to main content
Montclair State University banner image

Sprague Library Monthly New Title Lists

Lists of select new books and media the Library acquires each month

Select New Books and Media (January 2019)

The Hebrew Bible

A masterpiece of deep learning and fine sensibility,Robert Alter's translation of the Hebrew Bible, nowcomplete, reanimates one of the formative works of ourculture. Capturing its brilliantly compact poetry and finelywrought, purposeful prose, Alter renews the Old Testamentas a source of literary power and spiritual inspiration.From the family frictions of Genesis and King David'sflawed humanity to the serene wisdom of Psalms and Job'sincendiary questioning of God's ways, these magnificentworks of world literature resonate with a startling immediacy.Featuring Alter's generous commentary, which quietlyalerts readers to the literary and historical dimensions ofthe text, this is the definitive edition of the Hebrew Bible.

Promoting Healthy Attachments

Attachment theory is very popular in therapy these days. But what do you as a therapist do with all that theory? How can you use it to make the lives of your clients better? This book is a hands-on, practical guide to successful attachment-oriented interventions with parents and children who present with a variety of issues, from trauma to depression to anger.It begins with an understanding of attachment's role in stress regulation and relationships. With the basics examined, the book takes a deep dive into the practicalities of clinical work. The book lays out a detailed behavioral checklist for each attachment pattern (secure, avoidant, ambivalent, disorganized). This checklist provides a rich source of interventions for therapists. The author includes sensory-based interventions and how to use body-based methods. Play that strengthens attachments is also discussed.Individual chapters present interventions for:Children who have attachment issues due to complex trauma, grief, or adoption or custody decisions. The book includes innovate suggestions that range from creating visual treatment plans for children to the scripts or activities within sessions.Parents with attachment problems, including logistics of when to add children and other family members, and what to do in sessions.Highly stressed people. The book provides a practical format for communicating with stressed adults and children, especially those with executive dysfunction.Teens with attachment issues, addressing both connection and independence.People of faith whose attachment figure is God.Overall, the book describes common factors in successful attachment interventions. Written by a leading attachment therapist, this book applies decades of experience with clients empathic yet playful tone. It provides therapists with a range of therapy activities to make use of one of the most important mental health theories of the past quarter century. Chock-full of techniques and scripts for clinicians, the approaches here are practical, positive, and easy-to-implement.

International Perspectives on Reminiscence, Life Review and Life Story Work

Examining recent research and practice on reminiscence, life review and life story work, this book offers critical accounts of the rapidly growing and extensive global literature, and highlights the continuing relevance and effectiveness of these therapeutic methods. The book includes examples of international practical projects, involving people of all ages, life circumstances, and levels of physical and cognitive functioning. Contributions from contemporary practitioners and researchers give a nuanced appraisal of the methods of engagement and creativity arising from the purposeful recall of our personal pasts. Chapters include reviews of technology, ethical issues including end of life care, working with people with mental health conditions, and working with people with dementia.

Classroom-Based Interventions Across Subject Areas

Classroom-based Interventions Across Subject Areas explores cutting-edge educational research that has real potential to support the improvement of classroom practice. Written by expert researchers and practitioners, it provides empirically tested and theory-based approaches that practitioners can use to improve learning in classroom settings. This edited volume provides examples of classroom-based interventions in English, mathematics, science, languages, history, and geography. Taking as its basis research which has been conducted in actual classrooms with close collaboration between researchers and practitioners, this text will help researchers and practitioners understand how and why interventions can be successful or not. The text further considers the broad theoretical and practical issues that derive from intervention studies, including the nature of collaboration between researchers and teachers and ways of adapting effective classroom-based interventions for use in different contexts. Offering insight into the methodology behind successful classroom-based interventions, this text will be essential reading for students of education, trainee teachers, and all those concerned with how educational research can impact on teaching and learning.

Smart Kids Struggling Readers

This work is a game-changer Recognizing an all too often tragic outcome ("School to Prison Pipeline"), it provides the tools to alter prognosis. Attention hones the identification and treatment of those underlying and often overlooked causative factors that result in long-term reading failure. Smart Kids, Struggling Readers. reconsiders the current models and methods for Teaching Reading. It offers creative strategies that support and enhance existing research-based techniques. It provides efficient and effective methods that rapidly ameliorate the overt and subtle interference to skills mastery. Rapid progress is assured because intervention supports both Academic and Affective needs. The novel instructional plan, Reading In A Nutshell, incorporates the strong intellectual potential bright students bring to task. The learner comes to apply information (metacognition, error analysis, instructional options) as a primary functional tool. Slow-paced repetitive practice and drills are avoided.

Captivating Classrooms

Captivating Classrooms explores the specific role that student engagement plays in education, it argues that there are myriad factors that undergird meaningful student learning and participation--such as motivation, exciting teaching strategies, reinventing literacy instruction, and authentic assessment. This book is an extremely valuable handbook for school leaders, teachers, and support staff, as well as for parents of PK-12 students, aspiring educators, and higher education faculty who prepare pre-service teachers and administrators. This is a must-read for those who are committed to helping all students find their purpose and passion in education.

A Think-Aloud Approach to Writing Assessment

The think-aloud approach to classroom writing assessment is designed to expand teachers' perspectives on adolescent students as writers and help them integrate instruction and assessment in a timely way. Emphasizing learniing over evaluation, it is especially well-suited to revealing students' strengths and helping them overcome common challenges to writing such as writer's block or misunderstanding of the writing task. Through classroom examples, Sarah Beck describes how to implement the think-aloud method and shows how this method is flexible and adaptable to any writing assignment and classroom context. The book also discusses the significance of the method in relation to best practices in formative assessment, including how to plan think-aloud sessions with students to gain the most useful information. Teachers required to use rubrics or other standardized assessment tools can incorporate the more individualized think-aloud approach into their practice without sacrificing the rigor and consistency that more regulated approaches may require. Book Features: introduces a new method of writing assessment that is more effective and flexible for differentiating instruction than assessments based on rubrics; emphasizes equity for all learners, including English learners and students' with specific learning challenges; offers recommendations and guidelines based on research-based best practices in all aspects of writing; designed to be used by individual teachers as well as teachers working collaboratively to develop a pedagogical context knowledge for teaching writing.

Raise Your Voices

In a collection of chapters from high school teachers and university researchers, Raise Your Voices offers English language arts teachers "one-stop shopping" to learn how to foster dialogic classrooms and how to prompt, sustain, connect, and assess classroom discussions, especially discussions about issues that adolescents find consequential. The chapters explore both the basics for facilitating discussion to support literacy learning and the principles for assessing the progress and effect of discussion and for including all students in lively dialogue. Taken together, the entries in this book envision the English language arts classroom as a supportive environment for authentic inquiry and for the genuine democratic processes involved in grappling together with tough perennial and contemporary issues.

Applying Student Development Theories Holistically

This book dives into student development theory, unpacking key foundational and emergent theories of college student development while providing contemporary examples and application. Helping aspiring higher education and student affairs practitioners grasp and use theories holistically, this important text brings to life theoretical knowledge to enhance the development and learning of college and university students. Showcasing a diversity of programs, practices, and services across a variety of institutional types, Applying Student Development Theories Holistically demonstrates how professionals are intertwining the science of theory with the art of practice in multidimensional, holistic ways.

Using Student Feedback for Successful Teaching

Feedback from students to teachers has been shown to have a major influence on students┬┐ achievement. Although the use of feedback from students requires little time and investment, the exploration of this topic in recent years has focused primarily on that from teacher-to-student or teacher-to-teacher. This innovative book examines the much-neglected feedback path from student to teacher and provides an empirically founded and practice-oriented step-by-step guide for teachers who want to get feedback on their own teaching. Including a foreword by John Hattie, the authors shed light on the benefits, challenges, impact and academic discussion of student feedback. Topics include: an outline of the current state of research about feedback, including in the light of Visible Learning, and the essentials for translating this research into implementation in the classroom; the advantages of student-to-teacher feedback and how it is connected to good, effective teaching; the practicalities of putting student feedback into practice: finding the right questions to ask, professional discussion, and how to go about applying changes to your teaching; an exploration of combining digital technologies with the acquisition and evaluation of student feedback; the wider impact of feedback and how a "feedback culture" can transform not only individual teachers but whole schools. Using Student Feedback for Successful Teaching is an essential guide for experienced and newly-qualified teachers alike who are invested in their professional development and who strive to deliver the best quality teaching for their students.

The Secondary Behaviour Cookbook

Developed in conjunction with teachers, The Secondary Behaviour Cookbookprovides highly effective, practical strategies for responding to and resolving behavioural issues in secondary schools. Consisting of over fifty 'recipes', the book's unique format enables teachers and practitioners to quickly and easily access information and advice on dealing with specific behaviours. Each 'recipe' details strategies and interventions for immediate application in the classroom setting, considers possible causes of the given behaviour, and offers helpful approaches for responding to young people's needs in the longer term. From disorganization and lateness, to attention-seeking and destructive behaviours, bullying, anxiety and depression, the book's sections cover a broad spectrum of behaviours falling within six broad categories: Getting Things Done: supporting positive student engagement and achievement Dealing with Disruption: increasing motivation and skills to facilitate learning Social Interactions: resolving problematic situations that occur between pupils. Coping with Conflict: addressing conflict in and out of the classroom, including aspects of bullying and discrimination Emotional Distress: understanding distress and developing coping strategies Behaviours of Special Concern: recognising behaviours associated with autism, trauma, abuse or poor mental wellbeing. Underpinned by positive psychology, and emphasising the importance of constructive relationships, communication, inclusion, wellbeing and resilience, this is an indispensable resource for secondary school teachers and educators, behaviour support consultants, SENDCOs and educational psychologists.

Identity in Applied Linguistics Research

This book provides a broad survey of historical and contemporary treatments of identity in various branches of Applied Linguistics, identifying common themes and areas for future research. The volume explores theoretical and methodological approaches and features detailed empirical accounts and case studies. The book not only presents current debates in Applied Linguistics and related fields but also the theoretical and practical implications of studying identity from various perspectives and disciplinary approaches. It also offers researchers a new approach to the study of identity: 'The Dynamic Integrated Systems Approach'. As such Identity in Applied Linguistics Research is an ideal text for advanced undergraduate and postgraduate students, and academics and practitioners working on issues of identity.

Thinking Sociolinguistically

This is a practical guide to planning, conducting and presenting a sociolinguistic research project. Written in an accessible and engaging style, the book begins with a brief review of what sociolinguists study and how they study it, before guiding students step-by-step through the research process. It presents a range of qualitative and quantitative data collection and analysis methods, including surveys, interviews and corpora, supported by examples from both published researchers and student projects. Drawing on the experiences of their own students, the authors provide supportive guidance on common areas of difficulty, such as framing questions, selecting participants and interpreting data. The final part shows you how to organise and write up your findings. Chapters are further enriched with hands-on activities and discussion questions. This is an essential companion for budding sociolinguistic researchers with a desire to understand the linguistic landscapes around them and communicate their findings to others.             

Digital Social Work

In a rapidly advancing technological culture, social work practitioners are frequently challenged to invent new strategies to meet client needs and foster social change. Despite the Council on Social Work Education's new standards for technology in social work practice, few schools of socialwork teach the use of technology for practice, and many instructors struggle with the integration this increasingly necessary dimension into education. Digital Social Work is designed to offer engaging, meaningful, and easy-to-use technology content that can be incorporated into generalist andadvanced social work practice courses. The chapters in this volume offer instructors and students insight into the knowledge, skills, and values required of those who practice social work 2.0; by providing concrete examples of technology tools, they complement traditional social work curricula dealing with micro, mezzo, and macrosystems. Chapters can be used singly - to augment Practice, Research, or Policy courses - or can provide a format to discuss technology in courses addressing practice with individuals, youth, and families. Virtual worlds, social media, GIS, blogs, and many other technology tools are represented inthis collection.

Making Signs, Translanguaging Ethnographies

This book is the beginning of a conversation across Social Semiotics, Translanguaging, Complexity Theory and Radical Sociolinguistics. In its explorations of meaning, multimodality, communication and emerging language practices, the book includes theoretical and empirical chapters that move toward an understanding of communication in its dynamic complexity, and its social semiotic and situated character. It relocates current debates in linguistics and in multimodality, as well as conceptions of centers/margins, by re-conceptualizing communicative practice through investigation of indigenous/oral communities, street art performances, migration contexts, recycling artefacts and signage repurposing. The book takes an innovative approach to both the form and content of its scholarly writing, and will be of interest to all those involved in interdisciplinary thinking, researching and writing.

Second Language Learning Theories

Written by a team of leading experts working in different SLA specialisms, this fourth edition is a clear and concise introduction to the main theories of second language acquisition (SLA) from multiple perspectives, comprehensively updated to reflect the very latest developments SLA research in recent years. The book covers all the main theoretical perspectives currently active in SLA and sets each chapter within a broader framework. Each chapter examines the claims and scope of each theory and how each views language, the learner and the acquisition process, supplemented by summaries of key studies and data examples from a variety of languages. Chapters end with an evaluative summary of the theories discussed. Key features to this fourth edition include updated accounts of developments in cognitive approaches to second language (L2) learning, the implications of advances in generative linguistics and the "social turn" in L2 research, with re-worked chapters on functional, sociocultural and sociolinguistic perspectives, and an entirely new chapter on theory integration, in addition to updated examples using new studies. Second Language Learning Theories continues to be an essential resource for graduate students in second language acquisition.

Language and Social Justice in Practice

From bilingual education and racial epithets to gendered pronouns and immigration discourses, language is a central concern in contemporary conversations and controversies surrounding social inequality. Developed as a collaborative effort by members of the American Anthropological Association's Language and Social Justice Task Force, this innovative volume synthesizes scholarly insights on the relationship between patterns of communication and the creation of more just societies. Using case studies by leading and emergent scholars and practitioners written especially for undergraduate audiences, the book is ideal for introductory courses on social justice in linguistics and anthropology.

Pattern Cutting: the Architecture of Fashion

Pattern cutting, or pattern making, is an essential yet complex skill for every fashion designer to master. Pattern Cutting: The Architecture of Fashion demystifies the pattern cutting process and clearly demonstrates pattern fundamentals, enabling you to construct in both 2D and 3D, and quickly get to grips with basic blocks, shape, sleeves, collars, trousers, pockets and finishes. Pat Parish approaches the subject of pattern cutting through proportion, balance, line and form, identifying key shapes and structures from the catwalk and translating them into 3D through cutting, draping and construction processes. This popular and inspirational sourcebook has been updated to reflect new directions in construction design and techniques, and to include more advanced patterns, such as the Magyar sleeve and the jumpsuit. With handy tips, shortcuts and tricks of the trade, the second edition of Pattern Cutting is a must-have studio resource for all budding fashion designers. It will provide you with the inspiration, tools and confidence to interpret and adapt basic patterns, and take your designs to the next level. New to this edition - Step-by-step instructions for more complex patterns, including the Magyar sleeve, rever collar and jumpsuit - A chapter devoted to patterns for pockets and finishes - Invaluable information about working with different fabrics, such as neoprene and spacer - Expanded coverage of innovation in pattern cutting, including sustainable and geometric cutting techniques - Refreshed pattern flats and colour images - Case studies with designers who have used cutting techniques to create unique, contemporary designs

Grandparents in Cultural Context

Grandparents in Cultural Contextgives a long overdue global view of the changing roles of grandparents. The eleven main chapters are by experts in the Americas, Europe and Russia, Asia, and Africa and the Middle East, and the editors integrate their chapters with previous writings on grandparenthood. Rather than technical or statistical research reports, each chapter provides a thought-provoking and comprehensive review of research, real-life case stories, cultural influences, and applied implications for grandparenthood across and within societies. Calling special attention to the roles of grandfathers and grandparenthood in societies previously un-represented in the literature, it provides several hundred new citations of work previously unavailable in English-language publications. Accessible to both scholars and students, it has several pedagogical features (e.g. web links, discussion questions) that make it useful as a text for upper-division undergraduate or graduate level classes in behavioral, social, and family sciences. It is relevant to psychology, gerontology, family studies, anthropology, family/comparative sociology, education, social work, gender studies, ethnic studies, psychiatry, and diversity and international studies programs. Practitioners, service providers, policymakers, and internationally minded grandparents will also enjoy this book.

Ethics and Practice in Science Communication

From climate to vaccination, stem-cell research to evolution, scientific work is often the subject of public controversies in which scientists and science communicators find themselves enmeshed. Especially with such hot-button topics, science communication plays vital roles. Gathering together the work of a multidisciplinary, international collection of scholars, the editors of Ethics and Practice in Science Communication present an enlightening dialogue involving these communities, one that articulates the often differing objectives and ethical responsibilities communicators face in bringing a range of scientific knowledge to the wider world. In three sections--how ethics matters, professional practice, and case studies--contributors to this volume explore the many complex questions surrounding the communication of scientific results to nonscientists. Has the science been shared clearly and accurately? Have questions of risk, uncertainty, and appropriate representation been adequately addressed? And, most fundamentally, what is the purpose of communicating science to the public: Is it to inform and empower? Or to persuade--to influence behavior and policy? By inspiring scientists and science communicators alike to think more deeply about their work, this book reaffirms that the integrity of the communication of science is vital to a healthy relationship between science and society today.

Traditional Chinese Medicine

A leading authority explains the ideas and practice of Chinese medicine from its beginnings in antiquity to today. Paul U. Unschuld describes medicine's close connection with culture and politics throughout Chinese history. He brings together texts, techniques, and worldviews to understand changing Chinese attitudes toward healing and the significance of traditional Chinese medicine in both China and the Western world. Unschuld reveals the emergence of a Chinese medical tradition built around a new understanding of the human being, considering beliefs in the influence of cosmology, numerology, and the supernatural on the health of the living. He describes the variety of therapeutic approaches in Chinese culture, the history of pharmacology and techniques such as acupuncture, and the global exchange of medical knowledge. Insights are offered into the twentieth-century decline of traditional medicine, as military defeats caused reformers and revolutionaries to import medical knowledge as part of the construction of a new China. Unschuld also recounts the reception of traditional Chinese medicine in the West since the 1970s, where it is often considered an alternative to Western medicine at the same time as China seeks to incorporate elements of its medical traditions into a scientific framework. This concise and compelling introduction to medical thought and history suggests that Chinese medicine is also a guide to Chinese civilization.

The Oxford Handbook of Religion and Race in American History

The Oxford Handbook of Religion and Race in American History brings together a number of established scholars, as well as younger scholars on the rise, to provide a scholarly overview for those interested in the role of religion and race in American history. Thirty-four scholars from thefields of History, Religious Studies, Sociology, Anthropology, and more investigate the complex interdependencies of religion and race from pre-Columbian origins to the present. The volume addresses the religious experience, social realities, theologies, and sociologies of racialized groups inAmerican religious history, as well as the ways that religious myths, institutions, and practices contributed to their racialization. Part One begins with a broad introductory survey outlining some of the major terms and explaining the intersections of race and religions in various traditions and cultures across time. Part Two provides chronologically arranged accounts of specific historical periods that follow a narrative ofreligion and race through four-plus centuries. Taken together, The Oxford Handbook of Religion and Race in American History provides a reliable scholarly text and resource to summarize and guide work in this subject, and to help make sense of contemporary issues and dilemmas.

Language and Meaning

Language and Meaningprovides a clear, accessible and unique perspective on the philosophical and linguistic question of what it means to mean. Looking at relationships such as those between literal and non-literal meanings, linguistic form and meaning, and language and thought, this volume tackles the issues involved in what we mean and how we convey it. Divided into five easy-to-read chapters, it features: Broad coverage of semantic, pragmatic and philosophical approaches, providing the reader with a balanced and comprehensive overview of the topic; Frequent examples to demonstrate how meaning is perceived and manipulated in everyday discourse, including the importance of context, scientific studies of human language, and theories of pragmatics; Topics of debate and key points of current theories, including references to ongoing controversies in the field; Annotated further reading, allowing students to explore topics in more detail. Aimed at undergraduate students with little or no prior knowledge of linguistics, this book is essential reading for those studying this topic for the first time.

Leveraging Wikipedia

"This book takes a fresh look at Wikipedia and considers collaborations that will improve the visibility of library collections and the quality of Wikipedia"--

Reimagining Equality

A comprehensive examination of developmental inequality among children  Developmental equality-whether every child has an equal opportunity to reach their fullest potential-is essential for children's future growth and access to opportunity. In the United States, however, children of color are disproportionately affected by poverty, poor educational outcomes, and structural discrimination, limiting their potential.  In Reimagining Equality, Nancy E. Dowd sets out to examine the roots of these inequalities by tracing the life course of black boys from birth to age 18 in an effort to create an affirmative system of rights and support for all children. Drawing on interdisciplinary research, the book demonstrates that black boys encounter challenges and barriers that funnel them toward failure rather than developmental success.  Their example exposes a broader reality of hierarchies among children, linked to government policies, practices, structures, and institutions.  Dowd argues for a new legal model of developmental equality, grounded in the real challenges that children face on the basis of race, gender, and class.   Concluding with a "New Deal" for all children, Reimagining Equality provides a comprehensive set of policies that enables our political and legal systems to dismantle what harms and discriminates children, and maximize their development. 

Inquisitive Semantics

This book presents a new logical framework to capture the meaning of sentences in conversation. The traditional approach equates meaning with truth-conditions: to know the meaning of a sentence is to know under which circumstances it is true. The reason for this is that linguistic and philosophicalinvestigations are usually carried out in a logical framework that was originally designed to characterize valid argumentation. However, argumentation is neither the sole, nor the primary function of language. One task that language more widely and ordinarily fulfils is to enable the exchange ofinformation between conversational participants. In the framework outlined in this volume, inquisitive semantics, information exchange is seen as a process of raising and resolving issues. Inquisitive semantics provides a new formal notion of meaning, which makes it possible to model variousconcepts that are crucial for the analysis of linguistic information exchange in a more refined and more principled way than has been possible in previous frameworks. Importantly, it also allows an integrated treatment of statements and questions. The first part of the book presents the framework in detail, while the second demonstrates its benefits in the semantic analysis of questions, coordination, modals, conditionals, and intonation. The book will be of interest to researchers and students from advanced undergraduate level upwards in thefields of semantics, pragmatics, philosophy of language, and logic.

The Next Person You Meet in Heaven

In this enchanting sequel to the number one bestseller The Five People You Meet in Heaven, Mitch Albom tells the story of Eddie's heavenly reunion with Annie--the little girl he saved on earth--in an unforgettable novel of how our lives and losses intersect. Fifteen years ago, in Mitch Albom's beloved novel, The Five People You Meet in Heaven, the world fell in love with Eddie, a grizzled war veteran- turned-amusement park mechanic who died saving the life of a young girl named Annie. Eddie's journey to heaven taught him that every life matters. Now, in this magical sequel, Mitch Albom reveals Annie's story. The accident that killed Eddie left an indelible mark on Annie. It took her left hand, which needed to be surgically reattached. Injured, scarred, and unable to remember why, Annie's life is forever changed by a guilt-ravaged mother who whisks her away from the world she knew. Bullied by her peers and haunted by something she cannot recall, Annie struggles to find acceptance as she grows. When, as a young woman, she reconnects with Paulo, her childhood love, she believes she has finally  found happiness. As the novel opens, Annie is marrying Paulo. But when her wedding night day ends in an unimaginable accident, Annie finds herself on her own heavenly journey--and an inevitable reunion with Eddie, one of the five people who will show her how her life mattered in ways she could not have fathomed. Poignant and beautiful, filled with unexpected twists, The Next Person You Meet in Heaven reminds us that not only does every life matter, but that every ending is also a beginning--we only need to open our eyes to see it.

A Guide to Using Corpora for English Language Learners

This textbook will help you unlock and access the great potential of corpus linguistics for language learning. While other books discuss how instructors may implement corpora in the classroom, this book provides step-by-step illustrated examples to help learners, graduate students, and language instructors visualize and understand the potential of corpus linguistics for language learning. It guides you through the application of corpus searches for writing, vocabulary and cultural study and provides guidance on building your own corpus. The hands-on approach will strengthen your development into an autonomous language learner and help instructors learn to design and implement their own corpus activities. With tutorials on a range of popular and increasingly user-friendly corpora, it helps usher in a new era of corpus-aided language learning.

The Oxford Handbook of Voice Perception

Speech perception has been the focus of innumerable studies over the past decades. While our abilities to recognize individuals by their voice state plays a central role in our everyday social interactions, limited scientific attention has been devoted to the perceptual and cerebral mechanismsunderlying nonverbal information processing in voices. The Oxford Handbook of Voice Perception takes a comprehensive look at this emerging field and presents a selection of current research in voice perception. The forty chapters summarise the most exciting research from across several disciplines covering acoustical, clinical, evolutionary, cognitive,and computational perspectives. In particular, this handbook offers an invaluable window into the development and evolution of the "vocal brain", and considers in detail the voice processing abilities of non-human animals or human infants. By providing a full and unique perspective on the recent developments in this burgeoningarea of study, this text is an important and interdisciplinary resource for students, researchers, and scientific journalists interested in voice perception.

The Royal Tenenbaums

Three grown prodigies, all with a unique genius of some kind, and their mother are staying at the family household. Their father, Royal, had left them long ago, but now returns to make things right with his family.

North and South

Two families, the Hazards and the Mains, are geographically and ideologically separated by the U.S. Civil War. The hatred, prejudice, and greed that tear at the fabric of a nation also threaten to destroy the threads that have woven the lives of these two families together.

Three Identical Strangers

The astonishing true story of three men who make the chance discovery, at the age of nineteen, that they are identical triplets, separated at birth and adopted to different parents. The trio's joyous reunion in 1980 catapults them to fame but it also sets in motion a chain of events that unearths an extraordinary and disturbing secret that goes far beyond their own lives, a secret that goes to the very heart of all human behavior.

Friend, follow and subscribe to Sprague library!