Skip to main content
Montclair State University banner image

Copyright Resources

How Do You Get Articles to Your Students?

When you assign your students articles to read for a class you have a few options for providing access to those articles via Canvas:

  1. Give them the citations and tell them to find the articles.
  2. Retrieve the articles yourself and upload your copy to Canvas.
  3. Submit a request through Sprague Library’s Electronic Reserves process.
  4. Provide a direct link to the article in the library database.

Option 1 will likely frustrate your students. Depending on the database vendor, option 2 may be a violation of copyright law*. Option 3 is feasible but takes some time. Sprague Library recommends option 4 – providing a direct link – for those articles that are available electronically.

Linking to eResources

When linking to an eJournal article in a database, it might be tempting just to grab the URL from the browser's URL window. Don't! That link is often date and time stamped, and won't work tomorrow. A better idea is to provide students with persistent links (also called permalinks) to the articles you want them to read on Canvas. Most databases accessible through Sprague Library provide permalinks within record results.

Permalinks also let us to know what resources are being used in courses – this helps the Library decide what databases and resources to maintain.

*For more information about Copyright, eReserves and Canvas, please visit our E-Reserves and Canvas page in this guide.

Finding Persistent Links

Most databases make persistent links easy to find, but some require a little extra effort, and a select few don't generate persistent links for you at all. This table provides you with instructions for some of the popular databases that the library offers.

Instructions for finding persistent links in databases.
Database Instructions
  • The URL in your address bar IS a persistent link.
  • If you are looking at the image detail page, you can also click the "Link" button to make the persistent link display.

If you are ON CAMPUS, you will need to add the EZProxy Prepend at the beginning of the url so the link is accessible from OFF CAMPUS:  http://ezproxy.montclair.edu:2048/login?url=

Usually, the URL in your address bar will be a persistent link. This can vary by journal, however, so always check the article record for anything labeled persistent link, permalink, stable link, link to this article, etc. 

Connect to EBSCO
  • The URL in your address bar is NOT a persistent link.

Instead, look on the right side of the article's citation page for the chain icon labeled Permalink. Click it to make the persistent link appear.

  • In JSTOR, the URL in your address bar is a persistent link.

If you are ON CAMPUS, you will need to add the EZProxy Prepend at the beginning of the url so the link is accessible from OFF CAMPUS: http://ezproxy.montclair.edu:2048/login?url=

When you access an article from a search, your search terms are highlighted, and your URL contains a question mark followed by a long mess.

For example: http://www.jstor.org/stable/20543113?seq=2&Search=yes&list=hide&searchUri=3Bq6%3Bf4%3Dall%26amp%3Bla%3prevSearch=&resultsServiceName=null 

To remove the highlighting, copy the URL just up to the question mark (the part in bold here). Don't copy the question mark itself.

You can also click on Email Citation to email the link to yourself. The citation sent includes the persistent link, which is listed as the Stable URL.

  • The URL in your address bar is NOT a persistent link.
  • Click the "Actions" dropdown to the right of the document title to display a pop-up with the persistent link embedded in it.

If you are ON CAMPUS, you will need to add the EZProxy Prepend at the beginning of the url so the link is accessible from OFF CAMPUS:  http://ezproxy.montclair.edu:2048/login?url=

  • The URL in your address bar is NOT a persistent link.

  • To make persistent links appear, first click Show Static URL on the left side of the screen. Then copy the URL under the name of the track you want to link to.

If you are ON CAMPUS, you will need to add the EZProxy Prepend at the beginning of the url so the link is accessible from OFF CAMPUS: http://ezproxy.montclair.edu:2048/login?url=

  • The URL in your address bar will work as a persistent link.

If you are ON CAMPUS, you will need to add the EZProxy Prepend at the beginning of the url so the link is accessible from OFF CAMPUS: http://ezproxy.montclair.edu:2048/login?url=

  • The URL in your address bar is the persistent link.

If you are ON CAMPUS, you will need to add the EZProxy Prepend at the beginning of the url so the link is accessible from OFF CAMPUS: http://ezproxy.montclair.edu:2048/login?url=

Adapted from BGSU Libraries Libguide http://libguides.bgsu.edu/c.php?g=227271&p=1506400

Don't See Your Database?

If you have questions about finding persistent links in any database, please contact the library! Call us at 973-655-4291, email us at askref@montclair.edu. You can also use the Ask A Librarian chat box on the webpage.

Adding Ebsco eBooks to Your Canvas Course

Off Campus Links

EZProxy Prepend for Montclair State University: 

http://ezproxy.montclair.edu:2048/login?url=

When you save links in Canvas, they have to be both persistent and proxied in order to take you back to the same place again from on or off campus.

Not all persistent URLs are proxied URLs. Proxying a URL prompts off-campus users for a login.

For example:

Persistent URL from JSTOR
(will only work from on campus):
http://www.jstor.org/stable/3556958

Proxied persistent url from JSTOR
(will work from on or off campus):
http://ezproxy.montclair.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.jstor.org/stable/3556958

Some databases automatically format persistent urls as proxied, but if not, you can set them up yourself by adding

 http://ezproxy.montclair.edu:2048/login?url=

to the front of the URL, as in the example above. Having done this, the URL should prompt you for your MSU Netid login if you are off campus.

Friend, follow and subscribe to Sprague library!